We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved my stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Cantera Boutique Hotel
Ranked #18 of 70 Hotels in El Calafate
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
“Loved my stay here”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I really enjoyed this hotel and thought it provided great value. As others have said, the location is up a hill from El Calafate. But there are great views of the lake from the hotel, and they provide a free shuttle service to town after 8pm. I was also on full-day excursions 2 of my 3 days in town, so it wasn't a big deal to be out of the town center. I really enjoyed the town of El Calafate - to me, it felt part ski town, part throw back town (dogs roaming, ancient beat up cars, dusty - just what you imagine).

I was upgraded to a lake view room at La Cantera, which was great. The rooms are spacious and clean. There are extra toiletries, like bath salts, and free candy in the rooms. The free breakfast was great as well - scrambled eggs, a yummy fruit salad, bread, cheese, ham and plenty of sweets. The service for the value was also stellar. They organized my transportation to the airport and all of my excursions, and even provided a (good) box lunch for my mini-trek on the glacier. For the money, the service at this hotel is really good.

Only one negative. I did have difficulty with one of the excursions I booked ahead of time through the hotel. I was placed on an all-day excursion to El Chalten that was entirely in Spanish (I don't speak Spanish). Major bummer to discover this once I was already stuck on the bus. The staff had also informed me ahead of time that it was a 45-minute hike in El Chalten, when it was more like 4 hours. This worked out fine, because I actually preferred a longer hike, but it was odd. Also, they told me there would be guides on the hike (I'm sure it was a translation issue), but there were not. As a single female traveler, I probably wouldn't have opted for this excursion if I had known there weren't any guides (for safety reasons). All in all, it worked out fine - I loved the hike and the drive, and felt pretty safe as well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank durhamlaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

951 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    538
    311
    75
    19
    8
See reviews for
134
597
37
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boise
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is reasonably priced, but it offers all the amenities. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, most of them offer a view -ask if yours does. The location is a short walk to the center and the hotel provides a shuttle back in the evening.
We were not crazy about the town, though -not much to do.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spanish2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
113 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Wonderful views from this property, though it is a bit up the hill from the rest of town (mostly around Avenida Libertador). The staff were all fantastic, especially the dinner chef/server. One of the best meals we had in Patagonia if not in all of Argentina was here.
Lots of cakes and pastries at the buffet breakfast in addition to some eggs and other savory items.
The rooms were also well appointed and had a jetted hot tubs, though unfortunately we didn't get a chance to take advantage of that.
Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Upper rooms (next to breakfast room and reception) have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seattle oliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Loved the people and ambience of this unique place. They were very helpful regarding where to eat and arranging activities in the local area. Great breakfasts especially if you have a sweet tooth. The foyer makes this place! The rooms were clean and comfortable. It was great to leave some luggage here while we went trekking for a week. This was no problem to the staff. Thank you!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
62 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This hotel is very cosy with gorgeous stylish rooms, located in small wooden houses that make you feel like being at home. Food is delicious and you can book a trip directly at the reception. The only downside is the location, up on the hill, but it does offer nice views and the hotel sends out a free taxi to pick you up in the town after 8pm.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mila00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Italy
Level Contributor
188 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

A bit uphill with respect to the center of town, but a a reasonable walking distance (the hosts offer a free shuttle service, in any case). Wandering around, you can see quite a number of antique object, which add to the charme of the place, The best part is breakfast, the best we had in Patagonia!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mgialdini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We loved the La Cantera hotel. It sits high on the hill and the views are priceless. Everyone who works there went out of their way to make our stay wonderful. We had dinner there one night after a full day on the Glacier boat and the food was fantastic. We really thought the personal shuttle from 8:00 p.m. till 12:00 was a way out of the box service. We are sorry we only spent two nights at La Cantera and El Calafate. This is a very comfortable place to stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the most upper part of the hotel facing the lake and the mountains. This is the way to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CKL10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Calafate hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Mirador del Lago
Hotel Mirador del Lago
#7 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
2.0 mi away
Design Suites Calafate
Design Suites Calafate
#24 of 70 in El Calafate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
0.6 mi away
Posada Los Alamos
Posada Los Alamos
#13 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Esplendor Hotel El Calafate
Esplendor Hotel El Calafate
#15 of 70 in El Calafate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
1.8 mi away
Alto Calafate Hotel Patagonico
0.6 mi away
Calafate Parque Hotel
Calafate Parque Hotel
#8 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cantera Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cantera Boutique Hotel

Property: La Cantera Boutique Hotel
Address: Calle 306 #173, El Calafate 9405, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in El Calafate
#7 Family Hotel in El Calafate
#8 Romantic Hotel in El Calafate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — La Cantera Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the amazing environment of Argentine Patagonia and its Glaciers, La Cantera Boutique Hotel Calafate is built on the top of the city, ensuring a seamless perspective and having access to both the city's shopping center and any attraction you may want to visit. Inaugurated in 2004, it was the first Patagonian Boutique hotel in the area. The building was thought to provide such a cozy feeling that our guests can intermingle with the environment without isolating themselves from it. Let us guide you along the Hotel, we want to provide you with hospitality and an exclusive service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your La Cantera Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Cantera El Calafate
La Cantera Boutique Hotel El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing