We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, well situated.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Cantera Boutique Hotel
Ranked #18 of 69 Hotels in El Calafate
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Everything was clean and working. Within close walking distance to town. The staff were friendly and th food was good. It's not close to the glacier, but non of the other hotels are either.
The free WiFi in the room works well. The TV has only one English chanel.

Room Tip: All rooms face to the lake. The lower rooms are on street level, but you need to climb steps to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dajoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felisa F, Public Relations Manager at La Cantera Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting your reviews!!
We are very proud to know you enjoyed your stay, we work very hard to give the best services and facilities to our guests!

We hope to see you soon..
Kind Regards
La Cantera Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (997)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

184 - 190 of 997 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

We planned two nights at the Esplendor in El Calafate then three in El Chalten but had to come back to El Calafate for the last night due to one of the many changes in Aerolineas Argentina flights we had. Rooms on sale at the Esplendor had almost doubled (to over £200) from when we first booked so with some trepidation we booked La Cantera at £50 per room instead. What a bargain. The staff could not have been pleasanter and our room and the public area were comfortable with a view of a lake. It may not have had the impressive proportions and designer feel of the Esplendor and breakfast was not quite as good but the people were much nicer and the guest rooms are about the same size. An added bonus was dinner - some of the best food we had in Argentina with lovely snacks with our drinks before, although not as good value as the rooms. Highly recommended. And when you are booking hotels in Argentina watch out for enormous ups and downs in prices (particualrly in Patagonia) and greater differences between booking sites than usual - there seemed to be quite a lot of "trying it on" going on.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MargaretWelwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felisa F, Public Relations Manager at La Cantera Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Dear Guest!

Thank you very much for your opinions! We really apprecciate your time and suggestions!

Hope you can visit us some time,
Best Regards

La Cantera Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We spent 2 nights at this hotel, the receptionist was really helpful and very friendly. The room however was not what I expected given the view from the reception, I was expecting an equally amazing view! The room was dark, curtains drawn to hide the view - a shabby small building and rubbish! All the other rooms overlooked the lake!

Breakfast was equally disappointing, 5 different types of sugar infested cakes, pancakes, scrambled eggs and no fresh fruit! Personally wouldn't recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank r_shah1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felisa F, Public Relations Manager at La Cantera Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review.
Although you do not seem pretty satisfied, we appreciate your time! We are now working with the hotel manager in order to review this window view issue..We apologize for this1

Thank you very much,
Best Regards,
La Cantera Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights while we explored the Patagonia region. Our check in process went smoothly and we were given a room off the main reception hall (the Calafate room). The room was nice - very cozy and had plenty of space for all of our things. We also used the safe. At check in we also set up all of our excursions (horseback riding - was ok, Mini trekking on Perito Moreno glacier - a MUST do, and a day trip to Chile's Torres del Paine - Recommend as well for the amazing views). The front desk staff took care of all tour bookings and the companies they used were all great.

The breakfast, contrary to other reviews on here, was great. They always had eggs, plenty of breads / pastries, and coffee. The location is great as well. It is a short 15 minute walk to town (be warned it is uphill on the way back but it is a nice work out after a big meal in town!). The hotel provides a shuttle to town from 8pm-midnight which is a nice service. The views from the hotel are also great. You can see Lake Argentina clearly from the hotel.

The best thing about the stay was the staff's dedication to customer service. One of the days, during an excursion, I lost a small bolt for my camera. I asked the front desk gentleman where I could get another and he offered/even insisted that he go and get it for me!

Overall, a great hotel and we would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Get one off the main reception for a stronger wifi signal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dput
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felisa F, Public Relations Manager at La Cantera Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your reviews and excellent experience description!
We hope to seen you soon again,

Best Regards,
La Cantera Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Agustin, their amazing chef, cooked my family a three course meal that was beyond delightful! He trained in Spain but is his own man, always inventing new flavors. I especially enjoyed his basil sorbet. He truly made us feel welcome and found the perfect wines to pair with our food. He even showed us his little herb garden, unheard of in Patagonia. Also, we have to mention Celeste, who managed the front desk. She was very sweet and accomodating. The people of La Cantera are what make this hotel such a great find and a delight to come home to after a trek on the glaciers! We are the Bucsan family and visited at the end of December 2012, a beautiful time to visit El Calafate and La Cantera.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatincaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felisa F, Public Relations Manager at La Cantera Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review and the special restaurant and cheff service description!
We hope you can come again some time to enjoy El Calafate and La Cantera Boutique Hotel!

Thank you for your time,

Best Regards,
La Cantera Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

My family and I stayed here three nights recently. Comfortable, clean, adequate, nothing elegant or exceptional or "high end." The room was too hot (because it was unseasonably warm) and we tried to turn off the towel warmer (which contributed to the room heat) but couldn't because it would spray water. So we just made sure to shut the bathroom door. This added to the charm. Breakfast is good. We ate there one evening, Christmas Eve, when the chef, Augustine, knocked himself out and made a fabulous gourmet multi-course meal. He prepared and served it -- a true one-man production. It's a long walk to town (20 mins) for dinner but they do have a free shuttle, which worked well.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PWin512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felisa F, Public Relations Manager at La Cantera Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. We really appreciate your time !

Best regards
La Cantera Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Very good hotel, with a very friendly and helpful staff... they help you setting up the tours, explaning how they works and giving a excellent description of them.

They have a very good chef cooking the dinner menu and its a must do to have dinner there at least one time duringyour stay!

They also have a good selection of dvds to watch, the only let down is that the wifi is not very stable in th Mountain Views rooms...

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joao T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felisa F, Public Relations Manager at La Cantera Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your reviews!
We are very proud you had a good stay and that you re satisfied with facilities and services.

We hope you can visit us again some time!
Best regards
La Cantera Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Calafate hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Mirador del Lago
Hotel Mirador del Lago
#6 of 69 in El Calafate
1,249 reviews
0.6 mi away
Posada Los Alamos
Posada Los Alamos
#7 of 69 in El Calafate
1,248 reviews
0.2 mi away
Esplendor Hotel El Calafate
Esplendor Hotel El Calafate
#8 of 69 in El Calafate
1,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Rochester Hotel Calafate
Rochester Hotel Calafate
#14 of 69 in El Calafate
914 reviews
2 mi away
Design Suites Calafate
Design Suites Calafate
#23 of 69 in El Calafate
1,055 reviews
0.8 mi away
Unique Luxury Patagonia
Unique Luxury Patagonia
#20 of 69 in El Calafate
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cantera Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cantera Boutique Hotel

Address: Calle 306 #173, El Calafate 9405, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in El Calafate
#8 Romantic Hotel in El Calafate
#8 Luxury Hotel in El Calafate
Price Range: $69 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Cantera Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the amazing environment of Argentine Patagonia and its Glaciers, La Cantera Boutique Hotel Calafate is built on the top of the city, ensuring a seamless perspective and having access to both the city's shopping center and any attraction you may want to visit. Inaugurated in 2004, it was the first Patagonian Boutique hotel in the area. The building was thought to provide such a cozy feeling that our guests can intermingle with the environment without isolating themselves from it. Let us guide you along the Hotel, we want to provide you with hospitality and an exclusive service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your La Cantera Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Cantera El Calafate
La Cantera Boutique Hotel El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing