We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel La Cantera in Calafate, Argentina”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
La Cantera Boutique Hotel
Ranked #18 of 70 Hotels in El Calafate
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hotel La Cantera in Calafate, Argentina”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Can’t go wrong with this one: it is excellent if you are looking for a hotel that is quiet, relatively close to the main street with the warmest décor and service. Staff is polite and quick to please. Our room in the main building was well heated but you can ask to lower the heat, in which case it takes about 45 min. for the radiators to cool down. King-size bed was comfortable, the Jacuzzi in the washroom worked wonderfully, especially fine after a day’s excursion, and the basket filled with amenities was really thoughtful. The cable tv worked fine with plenty of films to choose from the front desk. The mini bar was convenient and the corner lounge area had tempting candies.
The view from our room, the "Fitz Roy", was beautiful especially the sunrises and sunsets over the lake. Breakfast surpassed our expectations. Open from 6 to 10 am, you could have anything, even champagne. Honest! They certainly knew how to prep your day for the excursions. Families who opted to stay in the cabins of the hotel had to come to the main building to eat.
Just a note that the major supermarket was a 5 min. walk away, slightly higher up the hill.
We booked our excursions through the hotel and we were very pleased with the service. We did not use the free shuttle to go to the main street, preferring to hike up and down the hill. Do wear good sturdy hiking shoes.
The hotel main lounge offered 2 computers with fast internet and a reading/relaxing area complete with hard-cover books of photographs and articles of the area. Outside on deck, you could admire the lake view on lounge chairs which was especially nice on a sunny day.
We would choose this hotel again because of its excellent service, lovely décor, comfortable rooms, and good location.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main building overlook the lake and are perfect for couples or singles who prefer quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felisa F, Director de Relaciones Públicas at La Cantera Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Google Translation
Estimados Huéspedes,

Muchas Gracias por escribirnos sus comentarios y experiencia acerca de su estadía en La Cantera. Para nosotros es un placer y trabajamos duro para que nuestros huéspedes se sientan a gusto tanto con las facilidades así como también con el servicio del hotel.
Esperamos verlos en otro momento por aquí!

Saludos Cordiales,
La Cantera Hoteles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    539
    312
    75
    19
    8
See reviews for
134
597
37
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

I stayed in a 2 bedroom cabin in April this year with two other friends and it was the perfect accommodation for this cute little town of El Calafate.

Our stay was very comfortable. Facilities in the cabin were great - heating and hot showers! Also there was nothing that the staff couldn't do to help you.

Don't go past the restaurant. The chef, Augustine, is very talented in cooking the best of the Argentinian produce, and... get this - he waits tables and manages the bar as well!

Location-wise it's away from the main street and you have gorgeous views of sunset. It's a 10 minute walk down the hill to the town or a cheap cab fare. The hotel has a shuttle at night but we never used it.

We had a great time here and were sad to say goodbye.

Room Tip: Cabins are a little small so no more than 3 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellergirl32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at La Cantera Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Dear Guest ,

Thank you very much for your reviews!
We are glad you had a good experience and enjoyed your stay at our lodge, this is our goal with each guest.

We hope you can come again and visit us!

Best Regards
La Cantera Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We had a nice stay at La Cantera. It was the beginning of our Patagonian experience and it definitely started off on the right foot. The staff is very friendly and full of information to help you plan out your days/activities. The rooms are decent nothing to exciting but they are clean and well maintained. The views from the hotel are very nice as well. The breakfast in the mornings is really a great spread...all fresh pastries and delightful treats. Definitely try the Dulce del Leche treats they have to offer...amazing!! And if you order the boxed lunches they sure do pack you a LARGE amount of food. Overall we had a great experience here and would recommend the hotel...and the staff.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dots75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at La Cantera Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Dear Guest ,

Thank you very much for your reviews!
We are glad you had a good experience and enjoyed your stay at our lodge, this is our goal with each guest.

We hope you can come again and visit us!

Best Regards
La Cantera Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 9, 2012

La Cantera Boutique Hotel was a nice surprise. A wonderful view, cozy rooms (although we had the back views to the mountains), a good breakfast and a remarkable dinner (a young chef with a lot of talent). We recommend this nice place (El Calafate) and this Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at La Cantera Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Dear Guest ,

Thank you very much for your reviews!
We are glad you had a good experience and enjoyed your stay at our lodge, this is our goal with each guest.

We hope you can come again and visit us!

Best Regards
La Cantera Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaisalmer, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

We are on a worldtrip and we never had sich a fine hotel like this one!
A very friendly staf, a very gopd cook and the feeling that everything is done to make you feel as at hone is wonderful

We will surely advise this hotel to our froends and realtives because we had awonderful time in la Cantera!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globetrottersHenW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at La Cantera Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Dear Guest ,

Thank you very much for your reviews!
We are glad you had a good experience and enjoyed your stay at our lodge, this is our goal with each guest.

We hope you can come again and visit us!

Best Regards
La Cantera Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 8, 2012

What more could I say? Excellent hotel, nice rooms, fabulous view, outstanding chef de cuisine

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pezi76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at La Cantera Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Dear Guest ,

Thank you very much for your reviews!
We are glad you had a good experience and enjoyed your stay at our lodge, this is our goal with each guest.

We hope you can come again and visit us!

Best Regards
La Cantera Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 30, 2012

We stayed at La Cantera for 3 nts earlier this month and had a wonderful stay. The room was very comfortable and the staff couldn't have been more accommodating. Breakfast in the morning was great and very substantial. The hotel is a quick 10minute walk to the town center/shopping/restaurant area and the hotel runs a shuttle in the evenings to take/pick-up which was much appreciated as the temperature dropped.

The images online are slightly misleading in that the deck is fairly small and while the views of the mountains/lake are great, you see parking lots and some less than desirable buildings first. However, overall we had an excellent stay and was a welcomed respite from B.A.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaritaMallinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felisa F, Public Relations Manager at La Cantera Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and felt confortable at La Cantera, this our goal with every guest, a unique experience..

Best Regards,

La Cantera Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Calafate hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Mirador del Lago
Hotel Mirador del Lago
#7 of 70 in El Calafate
1,101 reviews
0.2 mi away
Esplendor Hotel El Calafate
Esplendor Hotel El Calafate
#13 of 70 in El Calafate
1,238 reviews
2.0 mi away
Design Suites Calafate
Design Suites Calafate
#23 of 70 in El Calafate
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Posada Los Alamos
Posada Los Alamos
#11 of 70 in El Calafate
1,128 reviews
1.8 mi away
Xelena Hotel & Suites
Xelena Hotel & Suites
#17 of 70 in El Calafate
969 reviews
1.6 mi away
Solares Del Sur
Solares Del Sur
#6 of 70 in El Calafate
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cantera Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cantera Boutique Hotel

Property: La Cantera Boutique Hotel
Address: Calle 306 #173, El Calafate 9405, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in El Calafate
#7 Luxury Hotel in El Calafate
#8 Romantic Hotel in El Calafate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — La Cantera Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the amazing environment of Argentine Patagonia and its Glaciers, La Cantera Boutique Hotel Calafate is built on the top of the city, ensuring a seamless perspective and having access to both the city's shopping center and any attraction you may want to visit. Inaugurated in 2004, it was the first Patagonian Boutique hotel in the area. The building was thought to provide such a cozy feeling that our guests can intermingle with the environment without isolating themselves from it. Let us guide you along the Hotel, we want to provide you with hospitality and an exclusive service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your La Cantera Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Cantera El Calafate
La Cantera Boutique Hotel El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing