We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay with fantastic views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Cantera Boutique Hotel
Ranked #19 of 70 Hotels in El Calafate
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We had a nice stay at La Cantera. It was the beginning of our Patagonian experience and it definitely started off on the right foot. The staff is very friendly and full of information to help you plan out your days/activities. The rooms are decent nothing to exciting but they are clean and well maintained. The views from the hotel are very nice as well. The breakfast in the mornings is really a great spread...all fresh pastries and delightful treats. Definitely try the Dulce del Leche treats they have to offer...amazing!! And if you order the boxed lunches they sure do pack you a LARGE amount of food. Overall we had a great experience here and would recommend the hotel...and the staff.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dots75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 29, 2012

Dear Guest ,

Thank you very much for your reviews!
We are glad you had a good experience and enjoyed your stay at our lodge, this is our goal with each guest.

We hope you can come again and visit us!

Best Regards
La Cantera Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (959)
There are newer reviews for La Cantera Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

195 - 201 of 959 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2012

La Cantera Boutique Hotel was a nice surprise. A wonderful view, cozy rooms (although we had the back views to the mountains), a good breakfast and a remarkable dinner (a young chef with a lot of talent). We recommend this nice place (El Calafate) and this Hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 29, 2012

Dear Guest ,

Thank you very much for your reviews!
We are glad you had a good experience and enjoyed your stay at our lodge, this is our goal with each guest.

We hope you can come again and visit us!

Best Regards
La Cantera Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

We are on a worldtrip and we never had sich a fine hotel like this one!
A very friendly staf, a very gopd cook and the feeling that everything is done to make you feel as at hone is wonderful

We will surely advise this hotel to our froends and realtives because we had awonderful time in la Cantera!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank globetrottersHenW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 29, 2012

Dear Guest ,

Thank you very much for your reviews!
We are glad you had a good experience and enjoyed your stay at our lodge, this is our goal with each guest.

We hope you can come again and visit us!

Best Regards
La Cantera Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

What more could I say? Excellent hotel, nice rooms, fabulous view, outstanding chef de cuisine

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pezi76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 29, 2012

Dear Guest ,

Thank you very much for your reviews!
We are glad you had a good experience and enjoyed your stay at our lodge, this is our goal with each guest.

We hope you can come again and visit us!

Best Regards
La Cantera Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

We stayed at La Cantera for 3 nts earlier this month and had a wonderful stay. The room was very comfortable and the staff couldn't have been more accommodating. Breakfast in the morning was great and very substantial. The hotel is a quick 10minute walk to the town center/shopping/restaurant area and the hotel runs a shuttle in the evenings to take/pick-up which was much appreciated as the temperature dropped.

The images online are slightly misleading in that the deck is fairly small and while the views of the mountains/lake are great, you see parking lots and some less than desirable buildings first. However, overall we had an excellent stay and was a welcomed respite from B.A.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaritaMallinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felisa F, Public Relations Manager at La Cantera Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and felt confortable at La Cantera, this our goal with every guest, a unique experience..

Best Regards,

La Cantera Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Eccellent hotel with a nice panorama confortable room and a very surprising excellent restaurant

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samegiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felisa F, Public Relations Manager at La Cantera Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2012

Dear Guest!

Thank you very much for your review!!

We hope you can visit us next time!

Kind Regards
La Cantera Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

I would have rated it poor but to be fair I think I had high expectations based on the hotel website and photos and this should be read on that premise.
We stayed in the hotel for 3 nights and we got a room at the main building. The views were pretty impressive but that is all I can compliment so candidly.
The room looked quite tired, with the bathroom with broken tiles, the tub with brown stains and a telly that was modern in 1995. Further the heat was too high and cannot be controlled from the room and reception never got it down for us.
Breakfast was abundant but the first two mornings the milk for the cereals was off so put us off eating the rest (if you cannot get basics as fresh milk right...)
The shuttle did work and was useful as the hotel is quite off the town centre. Runs from 8 to midnight, but be careful as one night we called 11:50 and was not working anymore (though hotel is 5 min ride only)
Staff tried to be friendly but their English, though understandable, was not great. They could have advised the pick up from the airport was cash. Also the way in, charged by hotel is 25% more expensive.
My view is that value for money, this hotel should be cheaper. If it was not because you spend little time at the hotel and the scenery is amazing, these little details would have made a massive difference and ruin the trip entirely!

Stayed: April 2012
Thank Ana_London_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felisa F, Public Relations Manager at La Cantera Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2012

Dear Guest!

Than you very much for your comments.
We regret some items you described, we have already talked with the hotel manager so he can work precisely on those !
We offer our apologies and expect you can come again some day .
Best Regards
La Cantera Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Calafate hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Mirador del Lago
Hotel Mirador del Lago
#6 of 70 in El Calafate
1,142 reviews
0.6 mi away
Posada Los Alamos
Posada Los Alamos
#7 of 70 in El Calafate
1,149 reviews
2.0 mi away
Design Suites Calafate
Design Suites Calafate
#21 of 70 in El Calafate
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Esplendor Hotel El Calafate
Esplendor Hotel El Calafate
#11 of 70 in El Calafate
1,268 reviews
1.8 mi away
Xelena Hotel & Suites
Xelena Hotel & Suites
#13 of 70 in El Calafate
994 reviews
0.6 mi away
Calafate Parque Hotel
Calafate Parque Hotel
#5 of 70 in El Calafate
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cantera Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cantera Boutique Hotel

Address: Calle 306 #173, El Calafate 9405, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in El Calafate
#7 Family Hotel in El Calafate
#8 Romantic Hotel in El Calafate
Price Range: $80 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Cantera Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the amazing environment of Argentine Patagonia and its Glaciers, La Cantera Boutique Hotel Calafate is built on the top of the city, ensuring a seamless perspective and having access to both the city's shopping center and any attraction you may want to visit. Inaugurated in 2004, it was the first Patagonian Boutique hotel in the area. The building was thought to provide such a cozy feeling that our guests can intermingle with the environment without isolating themselves from it. Let us guide you along the Hotel, we want to provide you with hospitality and an exclusive service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Cantera Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Cantera El Calafate
La Cantera Boutique Hotel El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing