We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going to El Calafate? This is the place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Cantera Boutique Hotel
Ranked #18 of 70 Hotels in El Calafate
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Great value, great view, REALLY great breakfast (included with your room) and dinner (reservation required--don't miss it!). Rooms were clean and modern and delightfully decorated. Staff was very friendly and helpful in booking our excursions. The property is above the main street in El Calafate but you don't ever really need to leave your hotel other than for your excursions, most of which will pick you up at the hotel anyway. If you did want to go to the main street, a cab ride is less than $5 US. The computers in the lobby had good internet connections and the WiFi worked great in the rooms.

Room Tip: We paid a little extra for a room with a lake view, and I would probably do it again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dallas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (981)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

260 - 266 of 981 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2011

After arriving at El Calafate airport, we had hoped for a nice relaxing wlecome at our hotel and got it. The hotel staff were very friendly and the facilities were spot on. The staff helped us with booking our trip to the Perito Moreno glacier (which was fantastic!) and were generally very efficient.
The town is only about ten minutes walk away and there is a complimentary cab service put on by the hotel. The town is quite touristy but there are a lot of nice bars and restaurants to chill out in.
The only small criticism I have is that while the hotel promotes its green credentials, it changed the towels every day even though we asked them not to.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kevd112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCanteraHoteles, Public Relations Manager at La Cantera Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2011

Dear Guests,

We appreciate your comments, we are satisfied tou had a great time at our hotel!
In spite of that we are sorry for the towels issue...we have already adviced the hotel manager about it!

We hope you can come some time again!
Best Regards
La Cantera Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

Our dinner experience on our first night was so surprisingly good we ate here the following night as well. If you are staying anywhere in El Calafate I would highly recommend making the effort to go here for the food. I love good food and it truly impressed. Our stay was fine, but nothing to write home about. The room was a good size, but it had a perfume odor that was so strong we didn't want to be in it.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Muninn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCanteraHoteles, Public Relations Manager at La Cantera Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2011

Dear Guest!

Thank you very much for your comments!
We are glad you enjoyed meals at La Cantera. We are sorry for the room perfum smell...

Best regards
La Cantera Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Really loved this hotel, friendly helpful staff, great food, clean comfortable rooms. Stunning views over the lake. Would highly recommend it

Room Tip: The balcony in our room overlooked the lake, stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deirdre K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCanteraHoteles, Public Relations Manager at La Cantera Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2011

Dear Guest!

Thank you very much for your comments! We hope you can come again next time!

Best Regards

La Cantera Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

There is something really special about this place and I'll always remember it. It is not a huge resort but really lovely, quiet and peaceful. You feel like you're in another world. We had a beautiful large room with fabulous king-size bed, including our own bit of the jungle full of animal sounds. The staff were really helpful and full breakfast was very good. English was spoken by several staff. Huge sunken tub and beautiful tile work were memorable in our room. Don't miss dinner in the restaurant-excellent and well-priced. Drawback is it is out of town. It's a mile trek to and from main road. We took several taxi's for $10 USD to and from hotel to town center and bus terminal , which made it much easier but added to price. It was well worth it to us.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank medcruiser08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCanteraHoteles, Public Relations Manager at La Cantera Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2011

Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for your comments!
We are very satisfied to know you had a great time and enjoyed our staff service as well as the restaurant one..a unique experience is our goal with every guest.
We expect you again some day!
Best regards
La Cantera Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Nice large rooms, good interior, superb breakfast and diner (great cook!!). It's located just 10 min. walk from the center, taxi is free or small amount. At the reception they know a lot about tours etc. Againt a small mount, they prepare lunch boxes for the Big Ice tour (a must for every hiker).

ps. Rent a car and go for a couple of days to El Chalten, it's so beautifull!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quee01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCanteraHoteles, Public Relations Manager at La Cantera Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2011

Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for your comments.
We are glad to know you had a great time and enjoyed every meal.
We expect you any time!

Best regards
La Cantera Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

We took airport shuttle which was arranged by our hotel “La Cantera”. Had a warm welcome there and got a really nice corner room called Lago Argentino with great view to the lake. The room was cozy, we drank coffee at the terrace at the entrance and went then to El Calafate city center which took us 10 minutes downhill.
We had dinner in La Cantera with a very nice bottle of Argentinean wine. Overall we can recommend that very nice hotel as well as the restaurant.
Next morning we had excellent breakfast in La Cantera and started a tour to Perito Moreno Glacier.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelbumblebee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCanteraHoteles, Public Relations Manager at La Cantera Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2011

Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for your comments! We really appreciate them..
We are very satisfied to notice you had a great time at our hotel, a unique experience is our goal!
We expect you again any time !
Best Regards
La Cantera Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Calafate hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Mirador del Lago
Hotel Mirador del Lago
#6 of 70 in El Calafate
1,196 reviews
0.6 mi away
Posada Los Alamos
Posada Los Alamos
#8 of 70 in El Calafate
1,204 reviews
0.2 mi away
Esplendor Hotel El Calafate
Esplendor Hotel El Calafate
#11 of 70 in El Calafate
1,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Design Suites Calafate
Design Suites Calafate
#23 of 70 in El Calafate
1,030 reviews
1.9 mi away
Rochester Hotel Calafate
Rochester Hotel Calafate
#9 of 70 in El Calafate
891 reviews
0.8 mi away
Unique Luxury Patagonia
Unique Luxury Patagonia
#20 of 70 in El Calafate
977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cantera Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cantera Boutique Hotel

Address: Calle 306 #173, El Calafate 9405, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in El Calafate
#8 Luxury Hotel in El Calafate
#8 Romantic Hotel in El Calafate
Price Range: $89 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Cantera Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the amazing environment of Argentine Patagonia and its Glaciers, La Cantera Boutique Hotel Calafate is built on the top of the city, ensuring a seamless perspective and having access to both the city's shopping center and any attraction you may want to visit. Inaugurated in 2004, it was the first Patagonian Boutique hotel in the area. The building was thought to provide such a cozy feeling that our guests can intermingle with the environment without isolating themselves from it. Let us guide you along the Hotel, we want to provide you with hospitality and an exclusive service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Cantera Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Cantera El Calafate
La Cantera Boutique Hotel El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing