We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”
Review of Patagonia Queen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Patagonia Queen
Ranked #13 of 70 Hotels in El Calafate
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

We booked through Imagine Latin America, who we would highly recommend for anyone looking to book a trip in Latin America, and we couldn't have asked for a better hotel. The design of the hotel is beautiful, with a very rustic feel. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and the hotel offered a great breakfast. The hotel is very slightly out of town, which added to the relaxed vibe. Very highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    83
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
39
158
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lethbridge
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Calafate has a huge number of places to stay. The Patagonia Queen is located close to the main area, about six blocks or so from the bus terminal. The hotel itself was beautiful. The design unique, pool table, ping pong, gym, and wonderful sitting areas. And the staff were so friendly. Hotel is situated just off the main road so nice and quiet. A great choice.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We had a very pleasant stay at this hotel last September . Hotel helped arrange transport to/from hotel which made arrival easy. Close enough to walk easily into town, but not on the busier Main Street. Comfortable room with great view (including daily sunrise over the lake from the breakfast room). Rafael Lim was VERY helpful in sorting out a problem with our next hotel (in Iguazu) and made calls and faxed paperwork for us. Bus to the glacier stopped right at the hotel.

Room Tip: Facing the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trimatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

I really enjoyed my experience with this hotel and highly recommend it. Before my stay I had some logistical questions regarding the arrangement of boxed lunches and airport transfers, and the manager was very prompt with responding via e-mail. Upon arrival everything I had pre-arranged with the hotel went very smoothly. The price of the hotel was excellent, including a decent breakfast (a bit heavy on the sweets, with lots of cakes/pastries - although the honey croissants were amazing. There was also bread/toast, some meats/cheeses, and they would make you scrambled eggs if you requested).

I came with a group and I cannot say enough about how helpful and friendly the front desk staff was - some of the best staff I've ever interacted with at a hotel. The hotel was very clean, quiet, and comfortable. It has a cozy, rustic vibe to it, which works well in El Calafate as it's a low-key town. Also, the location of the hotel is perfect - just off the main pedestrian road filled with cute shops and many restaurants. You can walk to see the lake from the hotel too. I also enjoyed the many common spaces the hotel had to offer. Highly, highly recommended if you find yourself in this part of the world!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EWVA1512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

GREAT LOCATION, STAFF, ACCOMMODATIONS! Our group of 8 thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Patagonia Queen. The staff was so helpful and friendly. They always went above-and-beyond to help us, even with our silly requests. Great breakfast - try the honey croissants! Comfortable beds, big bathrooms. Nice view of lake, esp when nice weather with windows fully open. Great game room, sitting area, etc. - many large common spaces. Minor annoyance - wifi does not reach rooms, only available in common spaces.

Location was amazing. We walked into town (5 minutes or less) both nights and found great restaurants and fun shopping. Also close to mini-grocery for bottled water, medicines, etc.

Must dine at Pura Vida (local hotspot), if you stay here! 7 minute walk opposite direction of town shops.

Room Tip: Request non-street-view room. 1 of our 4 couples was awoken repeatedly by a barking dog across the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kmiet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ypsilanti, Michigan
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We arrived around 10pm, hot and tired after walking from the bus station (about 1 mile), The man at the reception was welcoming and gracious. Everything was polished and clean and very lovely. We had to travel on early the next morning. This was the type of place that I would have liked to linger at.

Room Tip: Our room looked out on the front yard of the hotel and the street. It was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quiltlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

My husband and I stayed here three times en route to El Chalten, Torres del Paine, and Buenos Aires. The rooms are lovely, luxurious, quiet and comfortable. The location is within an easy walk to restaurants, and off the noisy main street. The breakfast buffet is extensive and has something for everyone. Pedro, the manager, helped us with the language making several phone calls on our behalf, when bus tickets were not delivered to the hotel as promised. Our luggage was stored at no charge, when we took only daypacks for trekking in TdP, and in our room waiting upon our return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyhiker10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Calafate hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mirador del Lago
Hotel Mirador del Lago
#6 of 70 in El Calafate
1,102 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel A.C.A.
Hotel A.C.A.
#3 of 70 in El Calafate
466 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kosten Aike
Hotel Kosten Aike
#4 of 70 in El Calafate
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Calafate Parque Hotel
Calafate Parque Hotel
#8 of 70 in El Calafate
484 reviews
0.3 mi away
Posada Los Alamos
Posada Los Alamos
#10 of 70 in El Calafate
1,128 reviews
1.2 mi away
Solares Del Sur
Solares Del Sur
#5 of 70 in El Calafate
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patagonia Queen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patagonia Queen

Property: Patagonia Queen
Address: Av Padre Agostini 49, El Calafate 9405, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in El Calafate
#16 Family Hotel in El Calafate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Patagonia Queen 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capacity: 20 rooms in total. 16 double Lux rooms, 4 double Queen rooms (modifiable bedding double or triple). Location: Downtown. Services: Rooms with fine wood and porphyry Patagonia stone finishes, Patagonia Queen gives a feeling of comfort and warmth. All rooms are "non-smoking", and have heating, cable TV, Telephone, minibar, electronic safe, and a private bathroom equipped with a Jacuzzi. Services included: buffet breakfast, Internet/Wi-Fi, gym, game room (pool, table tennis and board games) and a reading corner. Additional services: massages, laundry service and wine bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Patagonia Queen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Patagonia Queen El Calafate, Argentina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing