We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay anywhere else” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Patagonia Queen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Patagonia Queen
Ranked #17 of 70 Hotels in El Calafate
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Don't stay anywhere else”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

After a 4 hour delay with Aerolineas Argentinas, arriving at Patagonia Queen was bliss. The welcome we received from the desk was so friendly. We hadn't booked the mini ice trek that we wanted to do the next day and when we discovered our delay we emailed the hotel and when we arrived they had called the tour company to reserve our spots and we managed to quickly run to the office to pay. As we only had 2 days in El Calafate, this was a massive help. The service in this hotel was really superb and you could tell they really want you to have a good time and make sure you are happy with everything.

The hotel is very quiet with great relaxation areas, free wifi in the common parts only, a good breakfast and the laundry service was excellent. It's a 5-10 minute walk into the main area of town but a welcome stroll after dinner and we felt completely safe at all times.

The hotel gets a 10% discount at some of the local restaurants as well - every peso counts!

Stay here, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelfish1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    71
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
34
131
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

Lovely comfortable homely hotel, very close to the main street, we really appreciated coming back here and the reception staff were very polite and helpful. We actually stayed here twice with a visit to chile I'm between and it was nice to ce back to

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed for three nights here and found this to be an excellent choice. The hotel staff were most welcoming and helpful and the hotel was comfortable and accommodating. This hotel is located just 5- 10 minutes walk away from the centre and so benefits from a quieter feel, while at the same time being really close to restaurants and shops. This is a hotel that fits its environment exactly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeatriceKelowna_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This was such a nice place to come home to after a day of hiking. The hotel was very homey. There was lots of open space to hang out in the hotel aside from your room. The rooms were clean and quiet. The morning breakfast was a nice buffet and with more than the croissants and hot chocolate we found at our other hotels in Argentina. The staff was incredibly helpful. They were able to arrange to go lunches for us for our days of hiking. We also used the hotel's laundry service and had clean clothes ready for us same day. The hotel was also located about a ten minute walk from the downtown restaurants and shops. This was a great hotel and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer60661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We wanted somewhere to stay in Calafate that was clean and comfortable and the Patagonai Queen fitted the bill. It is a rustic, alpine style hotel that is an easy walk to the main street and restaurants. The staff are all helpful and friendly. If visitng Calafate again I would certainly use this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KingsFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Starting with a very warm welcome and description of the facilities over a complementary drink the proprietor then provided excellent service in his very well appointed and maintained hotel.
The rooms were fresh and comfortable, the food at breakfast varied and delicious.
The hotel is located just away from the main street and is therefore quiet as well as comfortable.

Highly recommended

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucks
Level Contributor
205 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Very friendly and helpful staff. Hotel in good location for shops and restaurants. We had a nice big room also very clean. Breakfast was very good continental style, with a nice fruit salad, cereals etc.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loobyBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Calafate hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mirador del Lago
Hotel Mirador del Lago
#8 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 stars 867 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Cantera Boutique Hotel
La Cantera Boutique Hotel
#9 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 stars 832 reviews
0.3 mi away
Posada Los Alamos
Posada Los Alamos
#11 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 stars 922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Linda Vista Apart Hotel
Linda Vista Apart Hotel
#7 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 stars 474 reviews
0.2 mi away
Calafate Parque Hotel
Calafate Parque Hotel
#12 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 stars 326 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kosten Aike
Hotel Kosten Aike
#6 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 stars 1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patagonia Queen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patagonia Queen

Property: Patagonia Queen
Address: Av Padre Agostini 49, El Calafate 9405, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in El Calafate
#16 Family Hotel in El Calafate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Patagonia Queen 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capacity: 20 rooms in total. 16 double Lux rooms, 4 double Queen rooms (modifiable bedding double or triple). Location: Downtown. Services: Rooms with fine wood and porphyry Patagonia stone finishes, Patagonia Queen gives a feeling of comfort and warmth. All rooms are "non-smoking", and have heating, cable TV, Telephone, minibar, electronic safe, and a private bathroom equipped with a Jacuzzi. Services included: buffet breakfast, Internet/Wi-Fi, gym, game room (pool, table tennis and board games) and a reading corner. Additional services: massages, laundry service and wine bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Patagonia Queen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Patagonia Queen El Calafate, Argentina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing