We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent El Calafate Choice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Patagonia Queen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Patagonia Queen
Ranked #8 of 70 Hotels in El Calafate
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent El Calafate Choice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

Both my wife and I really loved this hotel for a few reasons. Location was absolutely ideal, if you dont want to deal with a cab to access the primary downtown attractions. Also, the staff could not have been more helpful. We had an issue (caused by us) with our safe and the manager drove over in his car at 11pm to resolve. Hotel was very well maintained and beautiful. Stay here and you wont wont be sorry.

-Steve

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    83
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
39
158
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arvada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

We would like to thank the gentleman at P.Q. for their outstanding service. We left our passports and a great deal of cash in the safe in the room. We realized the mistake on a bus to El Chalten an hour after we left and called them immediately. The manager assured us that our belongings would be safe. Three days later when we returned to collect our belongings, I was led to the room where we stayed, clean but not rented since. I used my code to open the safe and retrieved my items! Thank you for such great service and honesty!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott2320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2011

The hotel is located about 2 minutes walk from the town centre. The hotel is not fancy with a spa, 5 star restaurant etc but for my girlfriend & I this added to the rustic charm of this nice little town. We have travelled a lot & stayed in a wide range of hotels & I can say that the staff are some of the most welcoming staff we have encountered. The rooms are quite basic but give you everything you need and everything is clean & tidy. Stay here!

Room Tip: Some rooms look forwards onto the road & some to the countryside at the back. Ask for second flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravellerGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2011

The Patagonia Queen is located less than five minutes' walk from the small commercial district of El Calafate, which means it's quieter and has less traffic outside. I thought the location was just great. Some hotels in El Calafate are actually several kilometres out of town, and thus necessitate long walks or taxi rides after visiting the town.

The staff, Pablo and Rafael, are extremely helpful, attentive and polite. Pablo responded very promptly and in detail to several email queries for information about tours prior to the trip. Hotel service in Argentina can be somewhat off-hand, so it was great to have such pleasant service.

The rooms are large, the beds are extremely comfortable, as other reviewers have mentioned, and feature wardrobe, fridge, small sitting table and TV. The bathroom floor is heated, which is probably a necessity in these parts.

Given that the typical Argentinian breakfast is a coffee and a couple of small croissants (facturas), the breakfast included is not a US-style buffet spread. It comprises juices, hot beverages, a range of sweet pastries (including facturas), toast, fruit salad, cheese and a couple of cold cuts. It's certainly more than enough to prepare for a trip to the Perito Moreno glacier. Sitting in the breakfast room affords a nice view of the mountains (see photo).

The hotel does not have a restaurant for dinner, but you will receive a map which lists four nearby restaurants on the main street (Av Libertador) in which guests receive a 10% discount (three offer this discount regardless of method of payment; one requires cash to qualify for the discount).

There's fast and free internet in the common areas. The common areas are pretty spacious, and there's also a lounge on the first floor as well as the large lounge on the ground floor.

I chose this place based on the Tripadvisor reviews (it doesn't appear in the most recent Lonely Planet guide) and am very pleased that I did. This place is really great, and I'll be highly recommending it to friends!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HardieBoys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2011

The hotel has an excellent location, you can walk to all the stores/restaurants and it’s beautiful! In Calafate there are a lot of nice hotels but they are far from downtown and trust me, when you come back from the excursions all you want is to have a nice warm meal, not to walk 20 extra minutes or pay for a cab to take you downtown.

Rooms are very clean and comfortable and the breakfast was plenty and varied (particularly compared with the rest of the Argentinean buffets we had).

The best part of Patagonia Queen is the service, the staff was extremely helpful and friendly. They recommended us the best tours (which I double checked later, and indeed they recommended the best companies), they assisted us booking activities (that maybe tricky if you are out exploring all day and don’t have time to do it yourself) and gave us lot of helpful tips.

This place combines a great service (similar to an owner-attended-hostel) with the facilities of a nice place. We enjoyed ourselves a lot. I usually don't rate hotels so high, but we loved this place.

Internet access is only available on the common areas (not in the rooms). I wouldn’t recommend paying extra for the rooms with view to the lake, chances are you are going to be out all day long.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Everab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2011

We slept so well at the Patagonia Queen - the beds were very comfy, no light coming in through the curtains at night, and no noise whatsoever. We had a lovely view of the gardens and lake from our room. The reception staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The location is absolutely perfect - on a side street at the end of the main street - everything you want to visit is within easy walking distance (restaurants, shops and tour operators), without any of the main street noise. A bonus to the location - for most of our tours we tended to be one of the first dropped off at the hotel - nice not having to wait for other tourists getting dropped off.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SBE_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2011

We stayed in the hotel for 3 nights 4 days. Its a small hotel. We got an upgrade to a luxury room. Nice and clean!! Good facilities, free internet, ping pong. The most important thing, great staff, very helpful.

About a block from the start of the 8 block downtown, really near to the restaurants and all the 15 stores in town ;)

The hotel staff helped us with recommendations on what and where to do.

We did the perito moreno, great. The estamcia nibepo Aike, great. Chalten was ok.

Would recommend to all my friends to visit calafate and stay at this great hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DTA80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Calafate hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mirador del Lago
Hotel Mirador del Lago
#10 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,077 reviews
0.1 mi away
Calafate Parque Hotel
Calafate Parque Hotel
#11 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
0.3 mi away
Posada Los Alamos
Posada Los Alamos
#12 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kosten Aike
Hotel Kosten Aike
#4 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,223 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel A.C.A.
Hotel A.C.A.
#3 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
0.6 mi away
Santa Monica Aparts
Santa Monica Aparts
#2 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patagonia Queen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patagonia Queen

Property: Patagonia Queen
Address: Av Padre Agostini 49, El Calafate 9405, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in El Calafate
#7 Best Value Hotel in El Calafate
#16 Family Hotel in El Calafate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Patagonia Queen 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capacity: 20 rooms in total. 16 double Lux rooms, 4 double Queen rooms (modifiable bedding double or triple). Location: Downtown. Services: Rooms with fine wood and porphyry Patagonia stone finishes, Patagonia Queen gives a feeling of comfort and warmth. All rooms are "non-smoking", and have heating, cable TV, Telephone, minibar, electronic safe, and a private bathroom equipped with a Jacuzzi. Services included: buffet breakfast, Internet/Wi-Fi, gym, game room (pool, table tennis and board games) and a reading corner. Additional services: massages, laundry service and wine bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Patagonia Queen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Patagonia Queen El Calafate, Argentina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing