We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rochester Hotel Calafate
Ranked #8 of 70 Hotels in El Calafate
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We stayed 3 nights. Strange that we had to pay our stay upon arrival (with a final balance for extras) but the price is convenient. The hotel is very nice and the view of the lake is great. The heating was a bit too high and there was no way to reduce it. The personnel was very nice but somebody was not very familiar with English. We also bought some souvenirs that were shown in the hall, at convenient prices, that we could charge to the hotel bill. The free transfer to the center, that takes 5 minutes, is good and timing is accurate.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paolo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (884)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

28 - 34 of 884 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2014

The hotel was great, clean with a good view to Lago Argentino. Pamela was very helpfull especially because she speaks English :) It's quite far from the central of the city, but they have the free hotel transfer. Pay attention on the timeline of the car. The problem was they accidently made me pay double for the hotel room and the feedback was a bit slow. I had to email them back and forth to make sure everything settled correctly.
I would recommend everybody to stay at RH Rochester whenever you go to visit El Calafate.

Room Tip: choose the room with the Lake view, astonishing view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rany_budi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We stayed 3 nights in February of 2014 in a triple room. The hotel is away from downtown, but they run a shuttle during the evening that was very convenient. We hopped it a couple times to visit restaurants and shop to avoid the drive. The lobby of the hotel is really nice with a bar area and adjacent restaurant/breakfast area. Our room was a little dated and could have used some updating but is served the purpose of a jumping off point for exploring the glaciers of the region. From a price value perspective it really was a good fit. The breakfast buffet was fantastic and included with our room. The pastries were to die for. If you want to be in the mix downtown it is probably not a good choice.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MNSailors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Very nice hotel by the Argentino Lake, it is far from downtown El Calafate so it is very quiet at night, during the day it has a very nice view from almost all common areas.

Rooms are not very well sound proofed and this can be a problem in the morning when other guests are getting ready to go out on tour.

Rooms are neat and clean, but we had some trouble with the heating radiators which were set to a minimum and still the room felt too warm, special at night.

The restaurant offers a nice and different menu everyday for dinner and buffet for breakfast.

Since we spent most of the day out we didn't have lunch there, but a day before you can order one of three lunch to-go options at the front desk.

If you are going to be picked up there by an operator expect some delay since this is one of the last stops.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Luis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Very good hotel and nice staff. The rooms are large and comfortable, especially the ones with the lake view. Daily transfer to the town center organized in the afternoon. Excellent service n the reception desk and in the restaurant as well.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silviya L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

This is a hotel away from town and seems to be rebuild. The breakfast is almost nothing, internet goes very bad lake many other things. Also is good to take special care if you decide to make your reservation with the hotel. In my case was a chaos. Our first reservation was not confirmed and the second one made in a hurry comes with one more day and after explain this to the hotel manager nothing was done. By the time we arrive they charge us one more extra day in our credit card so we got 2 extra days but even having one refunded was sad to see that they can make mistakes but we don't. The result: we leave the hotel 2 days earlier loosing 2 days in each apartment (2)..... another complain is the checking out time: 10 am.

Room Tip: rooms in another hotel would be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FirstCommander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Stayed 5 nights. The interior is quite simple and beautiful. It's comfortable and clean. The staff is kind and warm. I just loved the breakfast, it was excellent. Free transfers to the city centre (frm eveing till midnight). I had great time there!!!! Would recommend it!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kavishfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GestiondeCalidad, Gerente at Rochester Hotel Calafate, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Every day we listen to our guests' needs in order to improve our services and to achieve our most important goal: exceeding guests' expectations.
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your positive comments on our daily work. They let us know we are successfully achieving our goals.

Yours sincerely,

Quality Control Manager
Rochester Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Calafate hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Mirador del Lago
Hotel Mirador del Lago
#6 of 70 in El Calafate
1,184 reviews
1.7 mi away
Posada Los Alamos
Posada Los Alamos
#9 of 70 in El Calafate
1,186 reviews
1.6 mi away
Calafate Parque Hotel
Calafate Parque Hotel
#5 of 70 in El Calafate
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Esplendor Hotel El Calafate
Esplendor Hotel El Calafate
#11 of 70 in El Calafate
1,343 reviews
2.8 mi away
Design Suites Calafate
Design Suites Calafate
#21 of 70 in El Calafate
1,025 reviews
0.4 mi away
Solares Del Sur
Solares Del Sur
#15 of 70 in El Calafate
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rochester Hotel Calafate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rochester Hotel Calafate

Address: Av del Libertador General San Martin 3614, El Calafate 9405, Argentina (Formerly Elan Hotel)
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in El Calafate
#15 Family Hotel in El Calafate
Price Range: $77 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rochester Hotel Calafate 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rochester Hotel Calafate is the most southern Hotel of the RH chain. Over the 11th Road which leads to the National Park of Glaciers, three floors, 50 rooms with great views to the argentine Lake and to the Patagonian hills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rochester Hotel Calafate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rh Rochester Calafate Hotel El Calafate
Elan Hotel El Calafate
Rochester Hotel Calafate El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing