We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Los Sauces Casa Patagonica
Nearby Hotels
Posada Los Alamos(El Calafate)
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Cantera Boutique Hotel(El Calafate)(Great Value!)
$76
$58
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$112
$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$59
$56
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $63/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$95
$92
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rochester Hotel Calafate(El Calafate)(Great Value!)
$65
$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Kosten Aike(El Calafate)
$109
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Patagonia Queen(El Calafate)
$445
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (227)
Filter reviews
227 results
Traveler rating
143
53
20
7
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
143
53
20
7
4
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 227 reviews
Reviewed February 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two of our nine nights in Argentina (we also visited Bariloche and BA). This was our least favorite hotel of the trip and we left El Calafate really regretting our stay at Los Sauces. There were some positive points, but in the end we just felt like we paid way too much. The positives: service in the club house (one of the two restaurants) was excellent, I liked my massage in the spa, the grounds were well maintained, walking distance to downtown. What we didn't like: our room and the other areas of the building reeked of perfume and when we asked to move, we were told the other rooms would likely be the same. The place was deserted, the beds, linens and decor were fine, but not five star, and the front desk seemed generally indifferent, certainly not invested in our experience. It all added up to an impersonal, mediocre and very overpriced experience. Two things we highly recommend in El Calafate are the "Big Ice" tour of Perito Moreno and Patagonia lamb (we had ours at Casimoro Bigua).

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

One of the best options in Calafate. It has an excellent location as it combines the best of two worlds. The tranquility in the middle of nowhere, but in fact this hotel is very close to the town center (only 3 blocks). You can walk there.
The rooms are spacious and are in different houses, each with a particular style. Breakfast is served at the Club House, where you can also dine or lunch. (but prices are too high)
The SPA is nice, but could improve the quality of the place.
The staff is very helpful and golf carts available for shipment to any part of the property.

Room Tip: Nothing better to get a day of trekking on the glacier and take the swimming pool. And if you stay still with energy, there is one (only one) water bike that can be used to continue exercising. A very cute and funny detail!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripbsas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Los Sauces is three blocks from the main street of El Calafate. The service at the resort is very good and the breakfast buffet is abundant. Our room was spacious. The rooms are grouped in buildings of ten units each with a lovely common gathering area in each. The one downside was that the spa pool didn't open until 2 p.m.

Room Tip: We were in building #5 which was close to the "grill" and breakfast room.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rms11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights. As another reviewer stated, the rooms are designed poorly. It was very hot when we were there and there was no cross ventilation in the room. The rooms would have been much nicer with a balcony or terrace. We asked for a fan, which helped. The furniture is not functional. There is no closet, only an armoire that had to be closed with a key. The wooden chest of drawers stuck so much that we never used it. The bathroom shower was great as were the toiletries. The breakfast at the clubhouse was excellent as was dinner at the gourmet restaurant. We did not eat dinner at the clubhouse. The bicycles provided for guests were terrible. Another guest warned us that there were no brakes on the bike he took out and, as a result, he almost collided with a truck. The brake pads were non-existent. When we asked for assistance with the bikes, the maintenance personnel were sent, but it was obvious they did not know how to fix bicycles. The next day, all but 2 of the bicycles had been removed for "repair." If the hotel is going to advertise free bicycles for guest use, they should hire a bike shop to maintain them. We rented fantastic bikes from HLS in town. The hotel is very convenient to town and the grounds are pretty. Some of the staff is helpful while others are not. The wait staff in the gourmet restaurant was excellent.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TAHES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

A nice option in El Calafate BUT the normal rooms are somewhat poorly designed as they are large but provide no decent sitting space. The lack of a/c is a problem during the summer for west facing rooms. The breakfast services is quite nice. The dinner, at least in the front restaurant (we never tried dinner at the clubhouse), was just ok and quite pricey. There are far better options in town. The clubhouse is a nice space (though doesn't take as good of an advantage - except a few chairs - of the view that it has) and the service is outstanding. But beware some of the most off the wall drink prices I have ever run into ($20 for a gin and tonic and $50 for a 12 year average scotch - and yes that dollars, not pesos). The scotch price was reduced at check out after we raised a stink. The hotel is aligned with a tour company that arranged good excursions with good guides. All in all, a well-located and decent option in El Calafate. If you aren't doing a high-end estancia, this is probably the best option though seasoned, discriminating travelers will certainly not be blown away by it.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
Thank Sean285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews