We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good place excellent service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Imago Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Imago Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Imago Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   669 No40, El Calafate 9405, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 70 Hotels in El Calafate
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“good place excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

The hotel is very nice, and the location is just 5 minutes by bus from de downtown but the is shuttle every 30 minutes. The restaurant and the food is very good y they have celiac's food too.

Room Tip: Excellent rooms, very big, and the rooms in the corner are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alfredoaugusto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imagospa, Departamento de Reservas at Imago Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you sharing your experience at our hotel.
It was a pleasure to serve you and it is most rewarding to learn you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you among our guests in the near future.
Best regards,

Marina Prudhomme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    136
    51
    18
    12
See reviews for
65
193
15
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Granada, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

This is a nice hotel with a few frills like a pool and spa, professional staff, a great breakfast, and the rooms are spacious and comfortable.
A few things to note; this hotel is outside of town/ on the outskirts so the location isn't great. They offer a shuttle into town which is nice however in hindsight we would have chosen something more central so that we could stroll about at our own convenience. Also, it's a bit pricey once you account for the VAT and this hotel lacks character in my opinion. Lastly, the rooms were set at temperatures that were way too hot and we coildn't seem to adjust the heater ie. turn it off.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imagospa, Departamento de Reservas at Imago Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your perspective about your stay at Imago Hotel & Spa in El Calafate.
We understand your concerns regarding some aspects of the services offered, and we regret not having fully met all expectations.
We will consider your assessments to improve our work. It is important for us to keep a close relationship with our customers, which is why we appreciate your remarks.
We hope to welcome you again in our Hotel.
Best Regards

Marina Prudhomme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

We were there at the end if the seas on. It is probably the most expensive hotel in el calafate but the service was the worse I experienced in many years of traveling all over the globe. The staff just didn't care and although we spoke no Spanish they were not very friendly and unsmiling. Messages were taken with the wrong time, causing us to be extra early for a pickup. We should have stayed at a more modest accommodation closer to centro!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AdventureBoundNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imagospa, Departamento de Reservas at Imago Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thanks you for visiting Imago Hotel & Spa in El Calafate, and for taking the time to write your kind comments.
We understand your concerns regarding several aspects of the services offered, and we regret the unfortunate impression that you currently own of our establishment.
Imago Hotel & Spa works, day by day, to reach excellence in service quality, so all the suggestions help us make the necessary adjustments to achieve our goal.
We will consider your assessments to improve our work.
Best Regards

Marina Prudhomme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
76 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012 via mobile

We stayed just one night in the imago but wish it could have been longer... It is a beautiful hotel, great pool, lovely breakfast and the staff were great - Natalia was amazing in helping us sort out trips, restaurants etc.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jackster79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imagospa, Departamento de Reservas at Imago Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for sharing your experience at our hotel.
It was a pleasure to serve you and it is most rewarding to learn you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you among our guests in the near future.
Sincerly yours,

Marina Prudhomme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Stay at the imago hotel and spa. Florencia, who works at the front desk was extremely helpful. If you book tours though the property, they only take cash...if you want to pay by credit card..you can take the free shuttle to town and pay with the tour companies there.
The only downsides of the imago property are: the rooms are hot, I was fine but my husband was complaining about how hot it was and the shower door is short and when you shower-- the entire bathroom gets wet. Other than that, my husband and I enjoyed our stay there. You can take a cab for 120 ars from the airport to the hotel or the shuttle ves Patagonia at 36 ars per person. A cab is better if you are staying at imago, bc you will be the last one dropped off. So if you care about time, a cab is the way to go. The cab back to the airport is 85ars. Also you are the last one picked up on the tours so ask the hotel staff what time you should be ready by for your tour (not the time quoted by the tour company). Finall, breakfast was included and delicious at the hotel. Free wifi in lobby and if you have a first floor room- you might be able to get free wifi signal from the lobby. 2 computers in lobby for shared use.

Room Tip: Ask for 1st floor room- bc maybe be able to reach free wifi there (from lobby).
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank westvillagechic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imagospa, Departamento de Reservas at Imago Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing Imago Hotel & Spa for your recent stay in El Calafate.
Your comments encourage us to continue working on improving the quality of our accommodations and services. We will share them with our staff.
We look forward to welcoming you among our guests in the near future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

The Imago is modern hotel with extremely friendly and helpful staff.
The rooms are clean and spacious with huge and comfortable beds. However, our room got quite hot even though the heating was off and the outside temperature wasn't too high (we didn't complain so I don't know if this is a general problem). On Saturday night, there was loud music (probably from some nearby pub) to be heard but the windows are pretty soundproof so this should not affect one's sleep quality.
The view on Lago Argentino from our room was fantastic even though we couldn't enjoy it too often since all our excursions started early and ended rather late.
The hotel is a 10 minute drive from the city centre but the hotel offers an hourly shuttle service. Otherwise, a taxi into town will cost you around 7 US$. Most excursions (e.g. to Perito Moreno, Estancia Cristina, Navigations on Lago Argentino) will pick up passengers from the Imago last in the morning and drop them off first in the evening, so the location has also its advantages.
Breakfast was just average and didn't offer too much choice.
Internet access was free with WiFi in the lobby and cable in the rooms.
Overall it was a pleasant stay and for the reasonable price of 160 US$ per night I can definitely recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MDMC_3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imagospa, Departamento de Reservas at Imago Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear Guest,
I greatly appreciate the time you have taken to share your thoughts about your experience at Imago Hotel & Spa.
Your comments will help us to improve our standards of service.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards,

Marina Prudhomme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
49 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in March 2012. We had just finished a 5 day trek in Torres del Paine national park, so we were delighted to check in at the Imago. We had a room with a great view of the lake, which made this a very relaxing stay.

The swimming pool is nice, with Jacuzzi seats and water jets.

The staff were very friendly and helpful and there is a shuttle bus every hour to get into town - about 4km away. Also, if you go to Perrito Moreno Glacier, you'll be last pick up/first drop off as this hotel is on the road between town and the Glacier.

Only wierd thing is the energy saving lighting in the corridors - it's all motion sensing switches, which is ok - however, it was too dark on the stairs and I missed the bottom step and fell over once - so hopefully they keep the lights switched on on the stairs from now.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidTravelGuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imagospa, Gerente at Imago Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Dear Guest,
I greatly appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience with TripAdvisor. Your comments encourage us to continue working on improving the quality of our accommodations and services. I will definitively share them with my staff. I look forward to the opportunity of hosting your next visit to El Calafate.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Calafate hotels
0.5 mi away
Los Ponchos Apart Boutique
Los Ponchos Apart Boutique
#2 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 stars 300 reviews
0.4 mi away
Xelena Hotel & Suites
Xelena Hotel & Suites
#14 of 70 in El Calafate
4.0 of 5 stars 790 reviews
3.0 mi away
Design Suites Calafate
Design Suites Calafate
#19 of 70 in El Calafate
4.0 of 5 stars 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Esplendor El Calafate
Esplendor El Calafate
#16 of 70 in El Calafate
4.0 of 5 stars 956 reviews
2.0 mi away
La Cantera Boutique Hotel
La Cantera Boutique Hotel
#9 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 stars 830 reviews
1.9 mi away
Posada Los Alamos
Posada Los Alamos
#11 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 stars 914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imago Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imago Hotel & Spa

Property: Imago Hotel & Spa
Address: 669 No40, El Calafate 9405, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in El Calafate
#27 Romantic Hotel in El Calafate
#29 Family Hotel in El Calafate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Imago Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotwire, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Imago Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imago Hotel And Spa
Imago Hotel El Calafate
Imago Hotel & Spa El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing