We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Xelena Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Xelena Hotel & Suites
Ranked #17 of 70 Hotels in El Calafate
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Very good.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

The hotel is very comfortable and has a very nice heated swimming pool overlooking the lake. The rooms are quite comfortable and the breakfast is generous. With good weather, its location allows for a great 15-20 minute walk by the lake. The service is good, for local standards.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JGTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    436
    318
    122
    40
    17
See reviews for
254
479
25
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
136 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

The Xelena has very comfortable beds, is very clean, and is decorated in the best of taste. The breakfast is quite good. Our room had a view of the Lake-the sunsets could not be beat! We ate several light meals in the bar, and found it also to be quite good. The only negative is that you can't walk into town, but, they have a shuttle that is very convenient, we had no problem with it at all. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Definitely get a room with a view of the lake! Floor 4 is at "lobby level" because it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kyoto5301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernet-Les-Bains, France
Level Contributor
90 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

A really good place to be. Luxurious bedrooms, a nice pool and sauna, good communal areas, friendly and efficient staff.
The star though was the food.
The buffet breakfast is fairly standard: cold meats and cheese, fruits, cereals, juices, breads, cakes and yogurts.
The dining room is vast with nice views. The menu is small - always a good sign for me, as is the wine list but it is all quality.
My octopus with fried egg on cilantro mash was inventive and delicious. The lamb was generous. The taster pudding plate was interesting. The seafood risotto was small but full of fishy morsels and saffron.
The prices of both wine and food were very reasonable.
All was served by a delightful young lady who had clearly been very well trained.
Thoroughly recommended in every way!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdgvag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

The hotel is situated 15 minutes distant from El Calafate downtown, Guess this is the only negative point. Explaining: The very small city (one road basically) is the only place to go besides the tours that will pick you up at the hotel. So I felt kind of enclausurated with my grand son that travelled with me. The upside is the cleanliness, rooms, fantastic swimming pool where you can enjoy inside and diving go to the outside area.where temperatures in winter go below zero. There is a shuttle thal leaves every hour but in winter time you just can´t stand outside the pick-up área and wait for them to take you back to the hotel. Service is great and dinning is ok. I recomend it for couples that want to go easy and enjoy the magnificent view of the lake and all that the hotel offers you

Room Tip: Guess all the rooms are the same size. Spacious , comfortable and with a fantastic view. I would pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sergio99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

My wife and I stayed here during our stay in El Calafate and were very impressed with the hotel itself. Very clean with nice amenities. The pool was incredibly warm, which was fantastic given that it was the middle of the Patagonian Winter. Beautiful views of Lago Argentina. The hotel is outside of town, so you do have to either take a taxi or the free shuttle into Calafate if you want to see the town. The reason I think the location was fantastic is that you are the last stop to be picked up for any of the excursions. This means that you are on the bus the least amount of time in the morning and you are the first to be dropped off in the evening. This alone makes the hotel worth it in my opinion. The room was nice, spacious and clean, though hot water was a little iffy. The breakfast room was incredibly hot, so dress down to eat, and then pile the clothes on for the excursions. Reasonable rates (though it was the off season). The food at the restaurant was good, but not anything incredible. The packed lunch for the excursion was overpriced and not a very good value at all. Highly recommend the hotel purely because it minimizes your time of transport to and from the excursions.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashish B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

Really cheap as off season, love, love, love infinity pool. Not big enough to do laps and swimming in but perfect for relaxing in after a day at Perito Moreno. The "Scottish Bath" is boiling hot. Lord knows why they don't cool it down to normal jacuzzi temperatures. Doubt anyone uses the "gym" but it looked like three/four cross-trainer/bike etc next to the pool edge. Big room, lovely bathroom. Clean. Chocolates on the pillow. Note that we were there in winter but we could feel that the room could get quite stuffy in summer. Shuttle to town was fine. Staff at desk did not speak English well at all. Complementary fanta/sprite/champagne welcome drink. Wi-fi works. We walked onto the frozen lake when we were there. Accept the fact you are the last drop off from the Airport and the last pick up (about 50minutes later than 9am start?) when the coach takes you for Perito Moreno.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SucroseObsession
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012 via mobile

Room was good, packed lunch was fine, breakfast room was a sauna, breakfast itself did not have enough variety, especially if you are not argentinian! However, loved the area, loved the town and will definitely go back to el calafate! Highlight of our honeymoon!

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Asheya P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Calafate hotels
2.6 mi away
Design Suites Calafate
Design Suites Calafate
#23 of 70 in El Calafate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
1.5 mi away
Posada Los Alamos
Posada Los Alamos
#12 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Mirador del Lago
Hotel Mirador del Lago
#7 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
La Cantera Boutique Hotel
La Cantera Boutique Hotel
#20 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
3.2 mi away
Alto Calafate Hotel Patagonico
1.8 mi away
Esplendor Hotel El Calafate
Esplendor Hotel El Calafate
#16 of 70 in El Calafate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xelena Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xelena Hotel & Suites

Property: Xelena Hotel & Suites
Address: Rene Favaloro 3548, El Calafate 9405, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in El Calafate
#5 Business Hotel in El Calafate
#6 Luxury Hotel in El Calafate
#11 Family Hotel in El Calafate
#22 Romantic Hotel in El Calafate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Xelena Hotel & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet and majestic, Argentine Lake grants Xelena Hotel & Suites Hotel that peculiar elegance and beauty conveyed by the Patagonian spirit. A high caliber proposal designed for guests to enjoy the best landscapes of Argentine Patagonia, at all times of the year. Confort and warmth define the Hotel`s personality and make the perfect match with the personalized attention and services that it offers its guests. The hotel counts on a Spa, boutique, gourmet areas and function rooms for social and business events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Xelena Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xelena Deluxe Hotel El Calafate
Xelena Hotel & Suites El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing