We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Xelena Hotel & Suites
Nearby Hotels
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$68
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Miyazato Inn(El Calafate)(Great Value!)
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Kosten Aike(El Calafate)
$112
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$74
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Santa Monica Aparts(El Calafate)
$140
$98
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$116
$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,086)
Filter reviews
1,086 results
Traveler rating
518
363
140
43
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
518
363
140
43
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsevery hourinfinity poolin townremote controlfree shuttlelake viewnice hotellago argentinasmall citythe hotel offersfour seasonsbreakfast roomwelcome drinkshuttle servicehotel is locatedfront desk staffcab ride
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
163 - 168 of 1,086 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2012

My wife and I stayed here during our stay in El Calafate and were very impressed with the hotel itself. Very clean with nice amenities. The pool was incredibly warm, which was fantastic given that it was the middle of the Patagonian Winter. Beautiful views of Lago Argentina. The hotel is outside of town, so you do have to either take a taxi or the free shuttle into Calafate if you want to see the town. The reason I think the location was fantastic is that you are the last stop to be picked up for any of the excursions. This means that you are on the bus the least amount of time in the morning and you are the first to be dropped off in the evening. This alone makes the hotel worth it in my opinion. The room was nice, spacious and clean, though hot water was a little iffy. The breakfast room was incredibly hot, so dress down to eat, and then pile the clothes on for the excursions. Reasonable rates (though it was the off season). The food at the restaurant was good, but not anything incredible. The packed lunch for the excursion was overpriced and not a very good value at all. Highly recommend the hotel purely because it minimizes your time of transport to and from the excursions.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashish B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Really cheap as off season, love, love, love infinity pool. Not big enough to do laps and swimming in but perfect for relaxing in after a day at Perito Moreno. The "Scottish Bath" is boiling hot. Lord knows why they don't cool it down to normal jacuzzi temperatures. Doubt anyone uses the "gym" but it looked like three/four cross-trainer/bike etc next to the pool edge. Big room, lovely bathroom. Clean. Chocolates on the pillow. Note that we were there in winter but we could feel that the room could get quite stuffy in summer. Shuttle to town was fine. Staff at desk did not speak English well at all. Complementary fanta/sprite/champagne welcome drink. Wi-fi works. We walked onto the frozen lake when we were there. Accept the fact you are the last drop off from the Airport and the last pick up (about 50minutes later than 9am start?) when the coach takes you for Perito Moreno.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SucroseObsession
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Room was good, packed lunch was fine, breakfast room was a sauna, breakfast itself did not have enough variety, especially if you are not argentinian! However, loved the area, loved the town and will definitely go back to el calafate! Highlight of our honeymoon!

Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Asheya P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2012

We stayed in Xelena only one night and we have no claims. Excellent room with excellent view to the Argentino Lake, very good bathroom, excellent restaurant, very good breakfast and excellent service.We think the Xelena deserves more than to be at the 21st place in TripAdvisor. However we had been at the Alto Calafate Hotel 4 years ago and we have the same impression about the Alto Calafate Hotel that is at the 18th place and received a prize for luxury hotels.
I beleive El Calate has several excellent hotels and this is the reason for the bad positions or these two hotels can have prices a litle expensives and for this reason they are not very popular

Room Tip: All the rooms have excellent views.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elica49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for three nights in February 2012. The main reason for our stay here was to visit the Perito Moreno Glacier, which is about 50 minutes drive away. All the rooms have great views of Largo Argentina. The town is 25 minutes walk away along the lake shore promenade or 5 mins in the hourly hotel shuttle bus. To be fair most of the hotels are out of town, and a shuttle bus is very handy in the evening. Our room was spacious, nice kingsize bed, clean bath/shower. Staff were pleasant without being exceptional. The only meals we had in the hotel were breakfast which was buffet style and adequate. There is a full service restaurant.
The hotel has a small pool and Spa

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grinders13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews