We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rincon del Calafate
Ranked #35 of 69 Hotels in El Calafate
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed at this hotel at the beginning of our Patagonia trip. When the car pulled up at the hotel, we were a bit disappointed as it seemed to be in a residential area far away from the main streets. The road was also not the best. However, as soon as we went inside, we were impressed. The reception/lobby/common areas have been done up to a high standard. The reception is warm and the staff were welcoming. There are two common areas with sofas, one with a large LCD TV screen and one with a log fire. We preferred the area with the log fire as it was nice and warm and cosy.

The room itself was fine, and had the usual amenities including safe and hairdryer. We had lots of hot water in the bathroom and a decent size tub.

Breakfast was also adequate, with cereals, bread, rolls, pastries, yoghurt and fruit.

The location was not as remote as we first thought. It was a 10 minute walk to the main street where all the restaurants and shops were and it was good to have a walk back to the hotel after stuffing ourselves at dinner!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tiny13_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (224)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 18 of 224 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2013

Good basic but clean and quiet Hotel 8 minutes walk into El Calafate main street and away from the frenzy of the centre of the town.Staff were very helpful and friendly.Free WIFI was good and it had a good TV .The breakfast could have included some scrambled eggs etc(more European ) however it was adequate.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RossCSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinergia S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Rincon del Calafate, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Thanks for your opinion here hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

Rincon del Calafate is outside the main downtown strip of El Calafate -- about a five-minute walk from downtown. The hotel is part of a three-unit group in El Calafate and its newest unit, that is new to the group. (I believe they acquired it from another group.) That said, it's in great shape with a beautiful breakfast room, very nice group seating in the front, and rooms that are a tad small but well furnished. Nice beds, too. The price is right, too. Since the hotel is outside the main area, you get a 30% discount off the downtown price. The area around the hotel is unfinished -- the asphalt stops down the street and the front and rear of the hotel are undeveloped, so don't count on ambiance. It's just a good deal.

Room Tip: Get a corner unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nail56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinergia S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Rincon del Calafate, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2012

Hi Nail, please leave your opinion it makes us very happy, grateful and hope your stay at your convenience on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

I stayed at this hotel at the start and finish of a tour of Patagonia. I liked it a lot. The rooms are pretty basic, but have a TV, safe and decent bathroom (with hair dryer). There is free wifi with a good signal in the rooms. The breakfast was basic, but perfectly fine.

The common areas are lovely - with big lounges, games, tvs, computers and fire places.

The staff were very helpful and there was always someone on reception that spoke English.

The only (slight) drawback is that it is about 10-15 minute walk away from the main street with restaurants/shops etc. The walk didn't really bother us though and I felt safe even when I walked alone at night.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jj1837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

This hotel feels just like a ski lodge.... And that's s good thing. There's s large lobby with a big fireplace and a comfy couches. The staff are friendly and helpful, the breakfast is decent. The rooms are spacious and clean. They don't sell lunch boxes for day excursions but there are plenty of places nearby that do. My only complaint is that it is about a fifteen minute walk from the main street but to be honest, it only bothered me because I was traveling alone and didn't like walking back and forth by myself. Other than that it is absolutely wonderful and I would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MinnieTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2008

This was a fine hotel, serving mainly groups, including mine. The twin beds were extremely close together, not a problem except I didn't know my assigned roommate. The TV didn't work, but shouldn't be a major issue. There is a nice lounge area with a fireplace, 2 free computers for checking emails. Breakfast was buffet, with mainly cereals, pastries, cheese, meats, juice and coffee. It takes 15 minutes to walk into the main part of town....not far, but could seem farther if the weather is bad, or if you're tired from the day's activities. On the other hand, it was certainly quiet. I suspect you could find better value accomodation in Calafate, but would have no problems recommending this hotel

  • Stayed: November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank YVRGRLTRAVELLER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank scerasad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Calafate hotels
0.3 mi away
Konke Hotel & Sabores
Konke Hotel & Sabores
#38 of 69 in El Calafate
81 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kau Yatun Hotel & Estancia
Kau Yatun Hotel & Estancia
#23 of 69 in El Calafate
287 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quijote Hotel
Quijote Hotel
#28 of 69 in El Calafate
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hosteria Hainen
Hosteria Hainen
#30 of 69 in El Calafate
332 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cyan Calafate Hotel
Cyan Calafate Hotel
#19 of 69 in El Calafate
251 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hosteria Meulen
Hosteria Meulen
#43 of 69 in El Calafate
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rincon del Calafate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rincon del Calafate

Address: Calle 700 No 273, El Calafate 9405, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in El Calafate
Price Range: $59 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rincon del Calafate 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rincon del Calafate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rincon Del Calafate El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing