We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, clean and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Santa Monica Aparts
Ranked #4 of 70 Hotels in El Calafate
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 4, 2013

This was our second trip to El Calafate and our second time staying at The Santa Monica Aparts. The kitchens are spotless, windows all around the house with cute garden views and separate bedroom allows for guests to share your space for a light bite. TV is in bedroom; would prefer it in living room.
Very quiet at night and yet in the heart of town.

Room Tip: We were in cabin 5, well off the road and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sinwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KAPESBUE, Propietario at Santa Monica Aparts, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Dear Guest!
Thank you very much for your review!! We hope you can visit us next time!
Kind Regards
SANTA MONICA APARTS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (478)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

69 - 75 of 478 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a wonderful cabin (actually 3 of them since we travelled back and forth from calafate)- and enjoyed every minute.
Everything you read about the cabin suites the expectations and even more. Also Argentinian Breakfast was great.

You'r gonna love it!

Another special word about wonderful Yenifer Gonzales from the reception, who helped us book some excursion reservation, bus tickets, took care for our special needs and a big thank for her lovely smile- she is an asset to Santa Monica.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Didi2511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KAPESBUE, Propietario at Santa Monica Aparts, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comments.
We are glad you had a pleasant stay with us
Best regards
SANTA MONICA APARTS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the cabin. The cabins are well appointed, and spotless clean. The kitchen is a bonus, and has every thing you need if you desire to cook. Very short walk to the main street and supermarket. No complaints at all. Staff are very helpful. Will stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenton K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KAPESBUE, Propietario at Santa Monica Aparts, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

DEAR GUEST
Thank you for choosing Santa Monica Aparts for your visit to our town.
We really appreciate your comments and we are glad you had a pleasant stay with us
We hope you can visit us next time!
Kind Regards –SANTA MONICA APARTS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We loved the Santa Monica, where we spent 4 nights. Very well located, just half block from the main street. Our cabin had two bedrooms, one bathroom, a living room and a small kitchen, everything very clean and practical. All the staff is really nice and helpful, be with restaurant reservations or just to send us sugarfree orange juice in the morning. By the way, having breakfast at the chalet is very useful, especially in a place where things start very early, like going to the glaciers and leaving the hotel at 7 am. Also making your own tea or coffe or just heat an empanada anytime is very convenient. The only complain is the floor. Made of wood, makes noices all the time, even walking barefoot.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nora2012_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KAPESBUE, Propietario at Santa Monica Aparts, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

DEAR GUEST:
Thank you for choosing Santa Monica Aparts for your visit to our town.
We really appreciate your comments and we are glad you had a pleasant stay with us
We hope you can visit us next time!
Kind Regards –SANTA MONICA APARTS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We were in El Calafate for almost a week, and, stayed at these apartments.
They are very comfortable. The apartment size is good, the furniture is tasteful and convenient. Our apt was a self contained cottage with a living room, a kitchenet and a bedroom. It was great. You were on your own and didn´t have to worry about the TV being on late at night, specially, when it was the U.S. election night and we were up till 2 a.m.
The security is good. They lock the gates at night.
The kitchenet had everything I needed to cook our meals from scratch, which, I did, because, it was so convenient to walk across the street and buy the groceries.
The location was marvelous. You didn´t have to walk more than 3 blocks to reach anything including the supermarket, ATM, cybercafe, restaurants, stores, in short, anything you need.
But, the best part was the staff. They were really keen to make your stay comfortable and often went out of their way to help you.
If we ever spend time in El Calafate again, we´ll look no further than these apartments. We highly recommend them to anyone who is looking for a comfortable and classy place to stay.

Room Tip: Perhaps the individual cottages that come in 1 and 2 bedrooms are best because they give you more qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kalpna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KAPESBUE, Propietario at Santa Monica Aparts, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Dear Guest! Thank you very much for your review!! We hope you can visit us next time! Kind Regards
SANTA MONICA APARTS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Excellent location, charming aparts, very clean, well kept, has perfect heating system.

Very caring staff, especially Yenifer guides you rigthly, she is extremely knowledgable about not only El Calafate, but also Patagonia, in terms of nature and history.

Aparts have very good cooking facilities, if you are tired of having meat in Argentina, you can cook light meals, varieties of tea and coffee is stocked in the apart.

I strongly recommend Santa Monica

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Akiloz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KAPESBUE, Propietario at Santa Monica Aparts, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

DEAR GUEST:
Thank you for choosing Santa Monica Aparts for your visit to our town.
We really appreciate your comments and we are glad you had a pleasant stay with us
We hope you can visit us next time!
Kind Regards –SANTA MONICA APARTS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

The hotel is very well located, just in the main street of the city. However, the hotel appears to be old. The bathroom have a litle bit of mold. The staff is nice, change towers and sheets every day.
The breakfast is very poor, they leave a basket with some bread, orange juice and some jam, only this. The location is the strenght of the hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JuGondim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KAPESBUE, Propietario at Santa Monica Aparts, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comments.
Best regards
SANTA MONICA APARTS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Calafate hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Mirador del Lago
Hotel Mirador del Lago
#6 of 70 in El Calafate
1,159 reviews
0.4 mi away
Posada Los Alamos
Posada Los Alamos
#8 of 70 in El Calafate
1,160 reviews
0.5 mi away
Calafate Parque Hotel
Calafate Parque Hotel
#5 of 70 in El Calafate
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel A.C.A.
Hotel A.C.A.
#1 of 70 in El Calafate
480 reviews
0.6 mi away
Linda Vista Apart Hotel
Linda Vista Apart Hotel
#7 of 70 in El Calafate
531 reviews
0.4 mi away
Esplendor Hotel El Calafate
Esplendor Hotel El Calafate
#10 of 70 in El Calafate
1,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Monica Aparts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Monica Aparts

Address: Josefa Freile 42, El Calafate, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in El Calafate
#3 Romantic Hotel in El Calafate
Price Range: $142 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Santa Monica Aparts 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is made up of ten cozy aparts suites, parking park and Reception. They are built in wood, with a cypress log exterior. Lavenders, lupines and calafates make our park one of the most beautiful green spots in town.Service, comfort and caring attention, we offer you the best from hotels in a fairy tale setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Santa Monica Aparts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Monica Aparts El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing