We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most helpful hostel we stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Buenos Aires
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Most helpful hostel we stayed in”
Reviewed May 4, 2011

Carlos the owner was the most helpful man we came across in South America. We went to El Chalten for 2days and we came back and he had booked the cheapest and most convenient way to Bariloche for us. He had our laundry in our room and the morning we left at 5am he had our breakfast waiting for us! The beds were comfy and we couldnt fault the breakfasts. Thank you Carlos!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gdeaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    27
    22
    13
    6
See reviews for
2
28
29
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2011

We stayed here a few nights in a room with private bathroom. Positives are, comfortable hard bed, helpful friendly staff, the location, the hostel is located less than five minutes from the long distance bus station, the kitchen is good for cooking your own meals, pans, oil, salt etc.. available, which is useful as it’s expensive to eat out all the time in El Calafate. (more expensive than Bariloche and Buenos Aires).
The negatives, the breakfast is very basic, which is two slices of not very nice bread, jam, juice made from powder and water and margarine but for the price it’s acceptable. The bathroom is the shower room type, where the shower water goes over the toilet, but they provide a rubber sweeper to clean the floor afterwards. And also when it rains water leaks from the roof onto the bathroom floor, we were given towels for the problem though. Also the rooms are not cleaned daily.

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mandarinuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2011

Our room smelled like paint thinner (room 6) and gave me a big headace. Further more the bathroom was not something I wanted to shower in. And then the breakfast was below every level.. Only toastbread with jam... And you have to wash the dishes yourself. I did not expect a fancy hotel, we sleep in hostels all the time, but this one I did not like. Personal is nice btw! Very friendly. We can advise hostel patagonia when you are in el Calafate.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sdewildt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these El Calafate hotels

Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2010

Stayed here for a couple of nights in November 2010 and liked it a lot. This was mainly because of the owners which are very friendly, providing you a warm welcome and taking the time to answer all the questions you might have. The place itself is very well managed and secure. Rooms, kitchen and bathrooms are very clean. I stayed in an 8 bed dorm which was not extremely spacious (had a nice balcony though!), but big enough as they provide big lockers just outside the dorm. The hostel is located 2min from the main bus station and 4min from the main street, which is perfect.

As much as I overall liked the place, I have two points of criticism: Firstly, noise. The dorm is located right above the kitchen and walls and ceilings are super thin, so it gets pretty noisy from 6.30 am onwards when they start serving breakfast. The kitchen is also the main communal area, so people might sit there and talk or watch TV until late in the evening. Probably no problem at all if you stay in a private double, but if you intend to stay in the dorm, make sure you bring some ear plugs. Maybe starting breakfast at 7.30 am and declaring the kitchen a no-noise-zone (no cooking) after 10pm would help a little.

Secondly, sleeping comfort. Although the bunk beds are comfortable and linen/sheets are fresh, the metal frame of the bunk is quite instable, making the bed shake and squeak every time one climbs up on the top bed or even when turning around during sleep. Some top beds don’t have a ladder to climb up/down, so most people jump of the top bed, making the entire place shake like an earthquake. I’m not particularly a light sleeper, but these sounds/shakings will definitely wake you up unless you haven’t had at least a bottle of wine before going to bed.

Although I did not have the most relaxing nights in this hostel due to the above mentioned problems, the hospitality of the owners made up for most of it. Sleep comfort in the dorm is below average, but everything else is perfect!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Inn2TheWild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2010

I needed a place to stay for one night in El Calafate in transit and chose Hostel Buenos Aires because of its central but very quiet location (2 blocks from the bus station) and positive reviews I'd read. I was basically just there to sleep and I did so very soundly. It's a fairly basic hostel, but everything was clean and in good condition (particularly the bathrooms) and the free interent was extremely fast (unfortunately in South America I've often found it to be slow but not here). While my stay was brief (literally hours rather than days), it's worth mentioning that Carlos and his staff went out of their way to be helpful in every possible way, for service I'd give them 6 out of 5.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mreogh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
2 reviews
Reviewed December 22, 2009

We've stayed in Hostel Buenos Aires for two three-night periods in Nov. 2009. Important to say, we were a bit underwhelmed upon arrival: although it's very well-located within El Calafate, it looked a bit cramped and small, specially if you compare it to other places we would see on our way there.

This changed from the minute we've checked in. Carlos, the main staff member is one of the most helpful guys we've ever met. He made and changed reservations for our next stays in other cities, made sure we were on time for the activities and made us feel as welcome as we could.

The hotel itself is simple. Kitchen is big enough to cook and eat meals even in peak hours, and was always clean. The only thing we didn't like about the room (a suite) was the bathroom, which didn't have much space, hence no boundary between shower and the rest, leading to a wet floor after using it. Heating (very important in El Calafate, even in Spring) was excellent though, which made the wet floor a minor issue.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank venetiglio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2007

There are plenty of worse places to stay in Argentina, but few of them charge as much and make as little effort to make you feel comfortable as this hostel. From the surly reception to the wafer thin walls to the laughable absence of breakfast, nothing would persuade me to return to this place. We ended up walking around the corner and finding somewhere twice as nice for margnally more but including breakfast. Unfortunately we didn't take any pics!

  • Liked — It provided a roof over our heads
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HughSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Calafate hotels
1.0 mi away
Glaciar Perito Moreno Hostel
Glaciar Perito Moreno Hostel
#10 of 69 in El Calafate
82 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostel del Glaciar Libertador
Hostel del Glaciar Libertador
#8 of 69 in El Calafate
284 reviews
0.2 mi away
Schilling Hostal Patagonico
Schilling Hostal Patagonico
#2 of 35 in El Calafate
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Albergue y Hostal Lago Argentino
0.6 mi away
America del Sur Hostel
America del Sur Hostel
#1 of 69 in El Calafate
942 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aparts Casas del Centro
Aparts Casas del Centro
#28 of 69 in El Calafate
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Buenos Aires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Buenos Aires

Property: Hostel Buenos Aires
Address: Calle Cdad de Buenos Aires 296, El Calafate Z9405BVD, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 69 Specialty Lodging in El Calafate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Buenos Aires reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Buenos Aires El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing