We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cancelled reservation and had to stay way outside town”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hosteria Posta Sur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hosteria Posta Sur
Ranked #48 of 70 Hotels in El Calafate
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cancelled reservation and had to stay way outside town”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2012

Was very disappointed with this hotel. They cancelled our reservation and made us stay in a different sister which was located far outside of town,not within walking distance of anything and required a 30 peso taxi ride to get into the town centre. The hotel was not willing to compensate for the inconvenience or cost. As it was the high season there were few other options available in town. I would recommend trying another hotel that is a bit more honest to deal with.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miikel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    45
    30
    6
    5
See reviews for
19
46
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2012

I had stayed in this hotel for one night before going to El Chalten. The hotel is below average. Very disappointing breakfast, that consisted of corn flakes, yogurt, and very sweet pastries. I also had a confirmed reservation on my way back from El Chalten. Posta Sur cancelled it without any apologies. They own another property, Tehuel Plaza, in the middle of nowhere, very far from town. They deliberately overbook and send people to this remote hotel. Now I'm sitting in a room filled with cigaret smoke with a view of a dumpster and trying to figure out how to get to Calafate to get something to eat.

If it happened in my home country, I'd sue this hotel and their arrogant manager. I suggest to stay somewhere else and give your money to honest, hardworking businesses.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aycdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these El Calafate hotels

Netherlands
Level Contributor
161 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2011

Well located on a quiet gravel road close to the centre. Nice view on the Andes Mountains.
Spacious rooms and cosy lounge and garden.

Luggage storage is available, usefull if you intent to go to El Chalten for a few days and don't want or cannot take all your luggage with you.

The possibly best restaurant of town (La Tablita) is almost next door.

Only disadvantage is that you have to clomb a fairly steep hill to reach the hotel (appx. 100 m)

REMARK: if you intent to go by private car to El Chalten, be warned that there may be no gas in that village. If the Chalten gas station is out of gas, the nearest supply is in El Calafate (appx. 220 km away)

Room Tip: Rooms on the front have best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dutchman-nl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2011

I read the last couple of reviews after I was booked to stay at Hosteria Posta Sur and I got really worried! But my experience really wasn't bad. The hotel was situated 10 minutes from the main street so the location was pretty good. (Its actually very near a recommended restaurant La Tablita). The loo in our room was decent too. Nothing to shout about but no complaints either. Sand does get through the cracks in the bathroom window when the wind was high but it wasnt a big problem. Reuben the guy at reception was helpful and spoke good English, so maybe I was lucky that the few times we needed assistance, he was on duty.
El Calafate was cold and windy so I was really glad that the room was warm!! But I'm from the tropics so perhaps that's why.
Breakfast was good and plentiful. And guests can fill up their thermos at the cafe.
All in all I would rate my stay a good one. It's a basic three star hotel and I would stay there again if I return to El Calafate.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissusHenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Calafate, Argentina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2011

We booked a double room with the Posta Sur and was confirmed. When we got here, we were told that there are no more double rooms, so they had to charge us an extra 100 pesos for a triple room. We refused to pay, and so the manager threatened to pull the extra bed out, which we were fine with, but 11:30 at night! The manager went out of his way to be difficult. I also mentioned that the wifi did not reach my room and asked if there was a way to fix it. He said that me and my two devices were the only ones not able to pick up the signal (end of the hall). The last thing is that the remote control did not work for the 12" TV in our room, which I did not even bother contesting at this point. I just wanted to leave the hotel. I do not recommend staying here. Hosteria Hainen was much better 100 yards away, and the same price.

Room Tip: If possible stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robert b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POSTASUR, Manager at Hosteria Posta Sur, responded to this review, November 15, 2011
We deliver this response given that what Mr. ............... is not accurate. Actually, this man show up in the hotel the night before his accomodation and booked a room for three people (himself, his wife and his daughter). The next day hi shows up again and tha staff delivers the triple room that he had book the day before.

After he accomodates he goes to the front desk with his computer saying he was not going to pay the rate, because he had made another reservation through a web site because it was cheaper than the rate accorded with him previously.

The mistake that he makes is that he books a double room, that obviously was cheaper and he pretended us to charge him that rate: they were three people, not two, and the room we asigned him had three beds, not two.

What the hotel offers is to charge him that extra bed, given that the man couldn't deny that they were three people, and his daughter wasn't under 3 years old.

We also want to specify that the whole hotel has Wi Fi connection: that's why he could made the booking through his own computer! If he could not reach the connection at other times is simply because there are constant general disconnections in El Calafate, responsibility of the comunications company, not of our establishment.

It's hard to please people that want to take advantage. Even so, this person stayed in a triple room and never payed the AR$100 difference for the extra bed. He got out with it: not paying for the third bed he occupied.

This kind of passenger that try to take advantage of these situations, bring into disrepute this establishment and its staff that at all times was looking for the best way to solve his problems, finding impossible the task of pleasing him.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

Four of us stayed in Hosteria Posta Sur for two nights in October 2011. The staff generally tried their best to be unhelpful and made no attempt at all to speak English or speak Spanish lowly for foreigners. We were assigned two rooms. One had a view of another building, was boiling hot, and the toilet seat had deteriorated due to a bad flushing mechanism resulting in damp, green sponge cracking through all over it (revolting - did not risk sitting down the entire time). The other room had not been cleaned at all (the bathroom was disgusting), so they found a replacement room. This was cooler and had a good view, but looked like the toilet seat was going the same way.
The hotel is on a hill outside of town. The walk is not bad at all, but it would be far more convenient to be in town closer to the shops and restaurants.
The breakfast was quite good, but again, staff were very unfriendly when serving it.
Overall I am sure there is a better value, more friendly option in El Calafate.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrekkerJHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2011

It is nice hotel in a quiet and convenient location and pretty cheap.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank springcincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Calafate hotels
0.7 mi away
Hosteria Alto Verde
Hosteria Alto Verde
#39 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
1.0 mi away
Las Avutardas Hosteria
Las Avutardas Hosteria
#51 of 70 in El Calafate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lupama
Lupama
#55 of 70 in El Calafate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Picos Del Sur
Picos Del Sur
#44 of 70 in El Calafate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
1.5 mi away
Aikendor hotel
Aikendor hotel
#47 of 70 in El Calafate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hosteria Kelta
Hosteria Kelta
#58 of 70 in El Calafate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosteria Posta Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria Posta Sur

Property: Hosteria Posta Sur
Address: Puerto San Julian 190, El Calafate CP9405, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 70 Hotels in El Calafate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hosteria Posta Sur 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hosteria Posta Sur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hosteria Posta Sur Hotel El Calafate
Hosteria Posta Sur El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing