We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hosteria Kau Kaleshen
Ranked #50 of 70 Hotels in El Calafate
New York, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“So wonderful”
Reviewed April 1, 2010

A cozy and beautiful place! Food is delicious, staff is friendly and atmosphere is perfect. I would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank love2travelworld01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    73
    25
    10
    6
See reviews for
28
117
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2010

We stayed in El Calafate in February and found it quite hard to find a nice affordable place to stay. Kau Kaleshen offered a nicely spaced room for a reasonable price. It included a common room and free WIFI, which is nice. As Kau Kaleshen is situated just one block from the main street, it is both very central and quiet. The friendly staff made sure that we enjoyed our stay. Recommended!

Maribelle and Otto

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maribelle_and_Otto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson,AZ
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights while touring/hiking Perito Moreno. The english-speaking staff were friendly and helpful. The beds were comfortable. The breakfast was mediocre but filling. And the location just off the main street is very convenient as many others have said. The free wi-fi is only available in the common lounge, which is only a minor inconvenience but annoying when others are smoking in there. The staff, location, and overall value make this a great option for a Calafate stay.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler62577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2010

This was a great place to stay in El Califate. I booked it because of all the great reviews it got on Tripadvisor and it didn't dissapoint. The staff at the front desk are very helpful and the location is great (just one street back from the main street with all the shops/restaurants/cafes/supermarket etc) and the garden is a lovely oasis to come home to. The room was reasonable for price but the only let down was the breakfast. I know that Argentino's aren't big on breakfast but the Kau Kaleshen breakfasts are a very stingy offering and they use the smallest cereal bowls and glasses and plates I have ever seen! If they only improved the breakfast offering then I would have given it top marks.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigs67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaukaleshen, Gerente at Hosteria Kau Kaleshen, responded to this review, October 8, 2011
Dear Nigs67

Thank you for take your time and leave to us your kind reply.
We greatly value feedback from our passengers.

We use your reply as example and it help us to improve our breakfast.
As you say, Argentinos aren't big on breakfast .

If you come back you will enjoy a diferent and improved breakfast.
A warm greeting from the Patagonia Argentina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 8, 2010

We went to El Calafate to see the glaciars, and spent there four days. As usual, we didn´t make reservations, and we found this quiet and lovely place close to down town.
They gave us good information and tips about the places to visit.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PotoloBuenosAires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2009

Stayed 3 nights at Hosteria Kau Kaleshen while exploring the beauties of Patagonia.
The location was very good and the room was basic but clean although a bit dark.
The big minus was the noise. We stayed next to the reception and kitchen and two night in a row we were waken by loud music. It was not tourist partying but the staff (the receptionist with friends, I believe) having their own little party. The first night (Friday) they turned the music up at 4 am and only turned it down after my girlfriend got up and asked them to. The night after more or less the same thing happened although they played music all evening and night. We managed to fall a sleep but woke up at 2 am because they kept turning up the music. I tried to call the reception but nobody answered (probably because nobody was there and they could not hear the phone because of the music) so I had to call again in between songs. I asked them if they could turn down the music which they did - for about 15 minutes! Then the same thing happened; the music just kept getting louder and louder. Once again I called them and once again nobody picked up the phone until I tried in between songs again. When I told it at the reception the day after, they did not really seem to care.
In summary the rooms per se are basic but fine and the location is very good, but I would not stay there again because of the noise. I have stayed at noisy hotels before, but this is probably the first time that the noise and partying was made by the staff and that it happened two nights in a row and that nobody at the hosteria cared to do anything about it, only makes it even more disappointing.
Other minor minuses are that you cannot pay with credit card (which can be a problem in a city that is known for running out of cash in the ATMs during weekends in the high season) and a below average breakfast - even for Argentina where you tend only to get croissants and white bread.
On the plus side is free wifi but if you want to use the old computer at the hotel you have to pay.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sisyfos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaukaleshen, Gerente at Hosteria Kau Kaleshen, responded to this review, October 8, 2011
Dear Sisyfos

Thank you for take your time and leave us your helpful review.
We greatly value feedback from our passengers.

We are completely sorry about what you suffered here at the hosteria.

There was never any knowledge of what happened the night until we received your review.
With this we took action on the matter and the person who caused this problem no longer belongs to kaukaleshen staff.
We know that this does not change how bad it happened, so we ask our most humble apologies.
We would love to have a new opportunity to rebuild your experience at our hosteria.

A warm greeting from the Patagonia Argentina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2009

This place is really cute and in a great location. All the staff were extremely nice and helpful, rooms were modern and clean, and it was a great value. They were very accommodating to our needs and it became our home away from home. I would definitely return to this place and recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maexpl0rer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Calafate hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel A.C.A.
Hotel A.C.A.
#3 of 70 in El Calafate
466 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quijote Hotel
Quijote Hotel
#29 of 70 in El Calafate
387 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Kosten Aike
Hotel Kosten Aike
#4 of 70 in El Calafate
1,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Michelangelo
Hotel Michelangelo
#28 of 70 in El Calafate
222 reviews
0.3 mi away
Miyazato Inn
Miyazato Inn
#30 of 70 in El Calafate
357 reviews
0.4 mi away
Santa Monica Aparts
Santa Monica Aparts
#2 of 70 in El Calafate
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosteria Kau Kaleshen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria Kau Kaleshen

Property: Hosteria Kau Kaleshen
Address: Gobernador Gregores 1256 | (entre Bustillo y 25 de Mayo), El Calafate, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in El Calafate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hosteria Kau Kaleshen 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel and Te house, located in downtown El Calafate, has unique construction and decor details, and is surrounded by beauty of old poplars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hosteria Kau Kaleshen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hosteria Kau Kaleshen El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia
Hosteria Kau Kaleshen Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing