We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Design Suites Calafate
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Las Dunas(El Calafate)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hosteria Meulen(El Calafate)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hosteria Hainen(El Calafate)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Picos Del Sur(El Calafate)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Miyazato Inn(El Calafate)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hosteria Posta Sur(El Calafate)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cauquenes de Nimez(El Calafate)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,077)
Filter reviews
1,077 results
Traveler rating
361
423
177
76
40
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
361
423
177
76
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake viewin townlago argentinofloor to ceiling windowsamazing viewsindoor poolhotel is fantasticjacuzzi tubsmall gymshuttle servicetravel agentcalafatedowntownargentinatoursflawslandscape
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
223 - 228 of 1,077 reviews
Reviewed December 2, 2012

I arrived at the hotel to be greeted with a glass of champagne-a great way to start off my stay. It's a few miles from downtown EC, but that's ok as most tour busses will pick you up right in front of the hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the food and drinks weren't bad, the rooms were comfortable and clean. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edrobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milogeraghty, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Design Suites Calafate, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Dear edrobbie,
Thank you so much for your review! We love to hear from our guests and it helps us to improve the quality of our service. We are glad to know that you had a nice stay with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely,

The Staff from Design Suites Calafate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

A friend who'd been there suggested this hotel and it was great. They gave us a room with a view on the lake and the scenery was just spectacular. To wake up each morning with such a view and so up close was so unique and just one of the best memories of our Patagonia trip. The hotel itself is very alpine in the wooden look and feel, wooden beams etc, and at the lobby there is a great fireplace where u can sit and read a book or just njoy the view of the lake. The decoration is also quite arty...instead of paintings on the walls you get bathtowel-made creations. The indoor swimming pool is great (especially after a windy walk outside) and again with great bay windows overlooking the lake. Breakfast was great too.
Regarding the location, it is the one hotel that is far from the town centre, but that said, it was an easy and quick walk (in the nature) to and back from the town centre, and there was always the option of the free hotel shuttle service. Personally, i liked being in the middle of nowhere but still at walking distance from the town.
At the reception they offer various deals with local agencies for tours and excursions which we found very helpful and who accepted payment both in USD and/or card payment. As these excursions start very early in the am, you are better off dealing with the hotel reception the night before rather than waiting for the agencies to open the following morning. This way u make sure you have an activity/excursion plan for the next day.
Would definitely stay there again and would highly recommend it to anyone visiting Calafate.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a lake view.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blanqui_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milogeraghty, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Design Suites Calafate, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Dear blanqui_2,
Thank you so much for your review! We are happy to know that you had a great stay with us and that you enjoyed the wonders of Calafate. Reviews like yours encourage us to work harder everyday to keep improving the quality of our service. Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely,
The Staff from Design Suites Calafate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

After a day at the glaciers in cold and windy weather, we arrived at Design Suites for a three night stay. The hotel is a modern wood structure that fits right into its high desert terrain. The staff could not have been more welcoming as we were shown our room facing the lake. The contemporary room was handsomly appointed - both bed and bath exceeded expectations. The spa was spotless and inviting. The hotel is not in the center of town so the hotel has arranged for a van to make a round trip to town each hour after 6:00 pm. This hotel is a great place to relax and/or take day trips sightseeing. My one complaint is that many of the staff did not know a single word of English so that my four-minute egg arrived as a scrambled one. A minor inconvenience given the beauty of this venue.

Room Tip: Ask for a lakeside room.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barb1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milogeraghty, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Design Suites Calafate, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Dear Barb1942,
We would like to thank you for your review. Knowing the opinions of our guests helps us improve the quality of our service. We were very glad to discover that you had a nice stay with us and we are very sorry for the language problems. We are going to take your suggestion in consideration. We hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely,

The Staff of Design Suites Calafate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed one night at this hotel with the aim of visiting the Perito Marino Glacier. The airport bus transfer made this the first stop on the trip to town.The helpful front desk staff organised a taxi to drive us to the glacier within 20 minutes of our arrival. This was well worth the cost. When we returned that afternoon we were given our very cosy room. Very comfortable bed and large bathroom. All warm and snug despite the evil wind outside. Don't worry about booking a lake and mountain view room - the views from the public areas are stunning. A regular free transfer service operates hourly each evening so you can dine in town. The taxi fare is very cheap if you miss the bus home as we did. I really enjoyed this hotel and recommend it if you want to visit El Calafate.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisH_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milogeraghty, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Design Suites Calafate, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Dear LisH_11,
Thank you for your review! We were glad to find out that you enjoyed your stay with us. It's very important for us that you took the time to write a review and we really thank you for it. We hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely,

The staff from Design Suites Calafate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Wonderful Hotel, modern design, friendly attendants, wonderful view of Lake Argentina. A very nice and elegant hotel. It has the most beautiful view of Argentine Lake. It offers heating throughout the hotel, the rooms are spacious and feature jetted tubs. Pool very nice, and very good breakfast tomorrow. Excellent choices on the menu.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcellus A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews