We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing! Lake view!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Design Suites Calafate
Ranked #21 of 70 Hotels in El Calafate
Reviewed November 17, 2012

A friend who'd been there suggested this hotel and it was great. They gave us a room with a view on the lake and the scenery was just spectacular. To wake up each morning with such a view and so up close was so unique and just one of the best memories of our Patagonia trip. The hotel itself is very alpine in the wooden look and feel, wooden beams etc, and at the lobby there is a great fireplace where u can sit and read a book or just njoy the view of the lake. The decoration is also quite arty...instead of paintings on the walls you get bathtowel-made creations. The indoor swimming pool is great (especially after a windy walk outside) and again with great bay windows overlooking the lake. Breakfast was great too.
Regarding the location, it is the one hotel that is far from the town centre, but that said, it was an easy and quick walk (in the nature) to and back from the town centre, and there was always the option of the free hotel shuttle service. Personally, i liked being in the middle of nowhere but still at walking distance from the town.
At the reception they offer various deals with local agencies for tours and excursions which we found very helpful and who accepted payment both in USD and/or card payment. As these excursions start very early in the am, you are better off dealing with the hotel reception the night before rather than waiting for the agencies to open the following morning. This way u make sure you have an activity/excursion plan for the next day.
Would definitely stay there again and would highly recommend it to anyone visiting Calafate.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a lake view.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blanqui_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milogeraghty, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Design Suites Calafate, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Dear blanqui_2,
Thank you so much for your review! We are happy to know that you had a great stay with us and that you enjoyed the wonders of Calafate. Reviews like yours encourage us to work harder everyday to keep improving the quality of our service. Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely,
The Staff from Design Suites Calafate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,003)
There are newer reviews for Design Suites Calafate
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

207 - 213 of 1,003 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2012

After a day at the glaciers in cold and windy weather, we arrived at Design Suites for a three night stay. The hotel is a modern wood structure that fits right into its high desert terrain. The staff could not have been more welcoming as we were shown our room facing the lake. The contemporary room was handsomly appointed - both bed and bath exceeded expectations. The spa was spotless and inviting. The hotel is not in the center of town so the hotel has arranged for a van to make a round trip to town each hour after 6:00 pm. This hotel is a great place to relax and/or take day trips sightseeing. My one complaint is that many of the staff did not know a single word of English so that my four-minute egg arrived as a scrambled one. A minor inconvenience given the beauty of this venue.

Room Tip: Ask for a lakeside room.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barb1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milogeraghty, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Design Suites Calafate, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Dear Barb1942,
We would like to thank you for your review. Knowing the opinions of our guests helps us improve the quality of our service. We were very glad to discover that you had a nice stay with us and we are very sorry for the language problems. We are going to take your suggestion in consideration. We hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely,

The Staff of Design Suites Calafate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed one night at this hotel with the aim of visiting the Perito Marino Glacier. The airport bus transfer made this the first stop on the trip to town.The helpful front desk staff organised a taxi to drive us to the glacier within 20 minutes of our arrival. This was well worth the cost. When we returned that afternoon we were given our very cosy room. Very comfortable bed and large bathroom. All warm and snug despite the evil wind outside. Don't worry about booking a lake and mountain view room - the views from the public areas are stunning. A regular free transfer service operates hourly each evening so you can dine in town. The taxi fare is very cheap if you miss the bus home as we did. I really enjoyed this hotel and recommend it if you want to visit El Calafate.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisH_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milogeraghty, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Design Suites Calafate, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Dear LisH_11,
Thank you for your review! We were glad to find out that you enjoyed your stay with us. It's very important for us that you took the time to write a review and we really thank you for it. We hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely,

The staff from Design Suites Calafate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Wonderful Hotel, modern design, friendly attendants, wonderful view of Lake Argentina. A very nice and elegant hotel. It has the most beautiful view of Argentine Lake. It offers heating throughout the hotel, the rooms are spacious and feature jetted tubs. Pool very nice, and very good breakfast tomorrow. Excellent choices on the menu.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcellus A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

This place is probably one of the worst managed hotels. Our stay was comfortable, the staff was friendly, but you can feel the absence of some one in charge, someone that cares about this place everywhere. Starting at the breakfast - low quality, canned fruits, horrible coffee, little variation and on top a 'decorative' bowl with rotten (!) fruits. How could you care less. The building itself is already kind of worn off, or better: you can see that everything is built to show and shine - but with little quality. Knobs are falling of everywhere, etc. it's still in an ok condition and seems to be pretty new, but its so sad to see that someone lets a place go down like this. If you come here for the spa, you will be very disappointed. So don't. It's only worth if you have room with lake view. We stayed in a suite with lake view that was very spacious and really has a view that is magnificent..
So after all, I wouldn't recommend this place. It is too 'wanna be' and not keeping up with the design hotel promise at all. (But the view...)

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank mi3824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed in the Junior Double Suite room for 2 nights in Dec-11. The view from the room was second to none of the lake. Despite the added inconvenience of needing to travel onto town, i must say the view was well worth the trouble.

However, we were rather disappointed at the less than satisfactory quality of the food and cocktails. It is such a shame that the aesthetics of the building and the view of the lake were about the only memorable parts of the stay.

Also, the hotel has a lovely swimming pool, but was beyond any practical use as it was a heated pool in the middle of the day under a glass roof!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarileneC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

This hotel has the potential to earn a 5/5 but unforunately there were some service issues which let it down.

Firstly the location is almost unbeatable! The hotel has uninterupted views of Lago Argentino which means it's a little bit out of town but for sure is worth it! We were lucky enough to be upgraded to a larger room with a great view of the lake. The room facalities were excellent.

The hotel has a really nice eating area where you have breakfast overlooking the lake. The buffet breakfast was average and not as good as the sister hotel in Bariloche (which we also stayed in - see our review).

Unfortunately during our stay there were a few downsides:

1) We booked a massage at the hotel for the following day but received a call from reception to say they could not get hold of the therapist and would try again in the morning. We had to ask the next morning and eventually it transpired that she was on holiday for the week so they could not offer any treatments!

2) When we arrived at El Calafate the taxi driver who brought us from the airport to the hotel offered us a discount for the return trip a few days later. This was a good deal so we asked the hotel to book our transfer with this same company to get the discount. Our agreed collection time came and went with no taxi turning up. Obviously we started to get a bit concerned as we had a flight to catch so enquired with reception. Eventually a driver turned up but it was the wrong company so of course we didn't get the deal. Most importantly we got to the airport on time but it was unclear what went wrong with the booking!

3) One evening after visiting the glacier for the day (amazing!) we wanted to have dinner at the hotel however it was only possible to have room service due to a corporate event they were hosting that evening. We had the room service and the food was ok but not worth what we paid.

Overall we would recomend this hotel however there is room for improvement.

Tip -take the complimentary shuttle bus to town for dinner as to walk takes at least 45 minutes!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordi1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesignSuitesBUE, Director Comercial at Design Suites Calafate, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2012

Dear Guest,
We appreciate very much your comments, which help us to improve our standards of service.
We want to express our most sincere apologies for the mentioned disadvantages and regret that you have a bad impression of our hotel.
In this regard, we will act accordingly to your comments, and want to let you know that the necessary adjustments will be made.
It is important for us to keep a close relationship with our customers, which is why we appreciate your remarks.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Calafate hotels
1.5 mi away
Posada Los Alamos
Posada Los Alamos
#8 of 70 in El Calafate
1,149 reviews
2.6 mi away
Xelena Hotel & Suites
Xelena Hotel & Suites
#13 of 70 in El Calafate
996 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Mirador del Lago
Hotel Mirador del Lago
#6 of 70 in El Calafate
1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Esplendor Hotel El Calafate
Esplendor Hotel El Calafate
#11 of 70 in El Calafate
1,271 reviews
2.0 mi away
La Cantera Boutique Hotel
La Cantera Boutique Hotel
#19 of 70 in El Calafate
960 reviews
1.8 mi away
Unique Luxury Patagonia
Unique Luxury Patagonia
#20 of 70 in El Calafate
931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Design Suites Calafate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Design Suites Calafate

Address: Calle 598 Numero 190 | Playa Lago Argentino, El Calafate, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in El Calafate
#9 Luxury Hotel in El Calafate
#31 Romantic Hotel in El Calafate
Price Range: $87 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Design Suites Calafate 4.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated about one mile from El Calafate downtown, the Design Suites Calafate is an excellent choice for guests who seek tranquility during their holidays.This boutique hotel is located in the upper area of the Nimes Peninsula, where you can admire the low vegetation, hills and lake invite during a pleasant walk. If you want to visit the city, the hotel offers a shuttle to downtown on a regular basis.As a guest of the Design Suites Calafate, you will have free access to the heated pool, sauna and gym. In addition, the hotel provides a health club and spa treatments in order to optimize your relaxation during your stay.A restaurant and a bar provide meals and drinks from the morning until late at night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Design Suites Calafate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Design Suites Calafate Hotel El Calafate
Design Hotel El Calafate
Design Hotel Calafate
Design Suites Calafate El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing