We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“It's people that count, not stars.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Patagonia Rebelde

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Patagonia Rebelde
Ranked #15 of 38 El Calafate B&B and Inns
SW Herts
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“It's people that count, not stars.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We spent 3 nights here after 9 weeks of touring around Indochina and S America. We have stayed in Raffles, Sofitel and Orient Express hotels, but in none have we been made to feel more welcome than in this little shack up a dirt track road in the middle of what looks like an industrial estate. The 2 ladies who seem to rotate duties in managing the hostal were delightful and as helpful as they could be. One of them, on finding out that we we diabetic, brought in some sugar free jam from her home for our breakfast.

Access to the town takes 5-10 minutes by foot with a slight incline on return. Prepare to get dusty.

We stayed in the quaintly named Matrimonial Suite, which wasn't a suite at all but was about 20% bigger than the other rooms. The bathroom was a cupboard and there was no room safe but we wouldn't have been better looked after in any other hotel and are so pleased that our tour operator booked us in there despite its lack of stars.

Room Tip: Choose the Matrimonial Suite. It's not much more expensive and provides much more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom_Traveller_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    54
    20
    10
    3
See reviews for
17
88
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed for two nights on our arrival in Patagonia and one leaving and were absolutely delighted! From the kind and helpful welcome to the cosy warmth of the interior design we can recommend this guest house to the discerning traveller.
The location is perfect away from the noisy main street and yet within easy reach of excellent restaurants.
The rooms are compact but very comfortable - designed with great imagination. The huge lounge, dining and reception area is extraordinary full of bits and pieces from the past - tastefully arranged to give a flavour of the region's fascinating history.
We loved it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peterwilson47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

My wife and I and another couple spent 3 nights in January in this delightful hotel, which is close to the center of town - a real oasis !

Very comfortable rooms designed to match the environment. Nicely decorated reception area with good WI FI access and main bar area with lounge facilities. Good breakfast.

Excellent staff, all very helpful and wishing to please. We would have no hesitation in returning here - a real gem in the Patagonian desert.

The day tour to the Perito Moreno glacier was one of the highlights of our Argentina trip - highly recommended !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timeCostaRica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We loved Patagonia Rebelde though it may not be to everyone's taste! We had such a wonderful reception, totally agree with claude020 that the staff were super friendly and always at hand. Location is great, just 5 mins walk down into Calafate. It is true that the rooms are small and it is a quirky place but if you want an anodyne experience staying in a chain hotel then don't go for this one! If, on the other hand, you love things which are characterful and different, you will love this place! Wifi was patchy. Breakfast was lovely. Would DEFINITELY go again if I was ever lucky enough to be in that region again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scafb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

Entering Patagonia Rebelde there is a large room used as breakfast room, bar, lounge and TV area. Many artefacts on show which to me was a collection of old junk. Our room was very small and very hot despite radiator being turned off. If the window or window shutter was open it was impossible to get around the bed. There was no wardrobe, only 4 hooks on the wall. All the floors were wooden which means that you hear every footstep outside, in the adjoining room, and the room above. The bathroom was compact. Shower was powerful and hot, but not easy to control. Bed comfortable. Had hoped for a good breakfast, but disappointed . OJ was horrible. Fresh fruit was not of best quality, often bruised and difficult to eat politely as knife blunt. The croissants were very sweet and for me inedible. The toasting bread was tasteless. Sliced ham and cheese available and lots of different cakes. The coffee was OK, but the 1st morning when the thermos jug was empty it took ages to get it re-filled. The staff were willing and pleasant. A strong box was available at reception. One redeeming feature was that it was close to the town for restaurants, however the first 350m walk is on a dirt road which is very dusty and has no street lights.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Elaine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanremo, Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Although from the outside it looks a little shabby, the interior is cosily furnished. Rooms nice and clean. Staff super friendly and always at hand when needed. Well located and at a stone's throw from El Calafate high street.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claude020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This hotel is on the outskirt of the city but still very much walking distance. The outside is really not inviting but inside is a totally different story. The living room is very comfortable, with lots of local decoration, the bar is very large and the personnel is extremely friendly. Rooms are small but comfortable and just big enough. We had a very good time there and i would recommend it for a family traveling in El Calafate

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichelR_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Calafate hotels
0.4 mi away
Santa Monica Aparts
Santa Monica Aparts
#1 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 stars 416 reviews
0.8 mi away
Posada Los Alamos
Posada Los Alamos
#11 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 stars 936 reviews
2.3 mi away
Los Ponchos Apart Boutique
Los Ponchos Apart Boutique
#2 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 stars 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Solares Del Sur
Solares Del Sur
#4 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 stars 573 reviews
1.0 mi away
Linda Vista Apart Hotel
Linda Vista Apart Hotel
#7 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 stars 480 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Mirador del Lago
Hotel Mirador del Lago
#8 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 stars 878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patagonia Rebelde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patagonia Rebelde

Property: Patagonia Rebelde
Address: Jose R. Haro 442, El Calafate 9405, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in El Calafate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Patagonia Rebelde 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Patagonia Rebelde, Posada + Historia, is the ideal option for tourists who want to discover the true essence of the old Patagonia. Constructed and decorated with recycled materials and traditional Patagonian design, this magical building will enchant guests by taking them back 100 years in time to experience the spirit of the pioneers of Patagonia. Twelve rooms with modern comforts create a cozy backdrop which is true to the authentic design and the original experience of these lands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Patagonia Rebelde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Patagonia Rebelde Hotel El Calafate
Patagonia Rebelde El Calafate, Argentina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing