We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth staying although not in town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alto Calafate Hotel Patagonico
Ranked #14 of 69 Hotels in El Calafate
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a great vhoice regardles of not being located downtown. To compensate for it they offer a free shuttle to the town. The latest bus back to the hotel is at 11 pm.

Rooms are very clean and beds very confortable. The staff is very helpful. I highly recommend it.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Belyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AltoCalafate, Depto.e-commerce at Alto Calafate Hotel Patagonico, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear traveler,
thank you very much for your nice comments. Hope to receive you again soon!

Have a nice day
Alto Calafate Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,137)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

122 - 128 of 1,137 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2013

This hotel is on top of a hill looking over the town of El Calafate with views over the lake to the snow capped mountains. The hotel is set out very nice with comfortable rooms. A free shuttle bus from the hotel down to the township operates from early afternoon till late at night. During the morning most people would be away sight seeing. If you want to walk to town it take about half an hour. We had dinner at the hotel which was first class. Note the meals are very large you may wish to share a meal with your partner. The same cannot be said about the breakfast which is very sub standard. Apart from this the hotel was of high quality with helpful and friendly staff we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Our rooms were on the ground floor which means no waiting for lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank murarrielen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AltoCalafate, Depto.e-commerce at Alto Calafate Hotel Patagonico, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear traveler,
thank you very much for your nice comments. Hope to receive you again soon!

Have a nice day
Alto Calafate Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Hotel is located on the hill above El Calafate about 3 Km from town. The views are gorgeous looking out over the town and the lake and surrounding mountains. The lobby and exterior are well appointed. The inside of our room was sparse with 2 small photographs, off white walls, brown carpet and coverlet and non-descript furniture. There were tears in our carpet near the window. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The room decoration and feel of the interior of the room did not match the metal, stone, wood mountain lodge feel of the rest of the hotel. There is sufficient heat, but no AC, so we were glad that the windows opened and allowed for a cool breeze in the room. When it is quite windy, a wind tunnel is created between the windows and the door and you can hear the whistle of the wind.

You can easily walk into town (it is 3 Km - so not too close) and it is downhill the entire way there. Part of the time on a dirt road and part of the time on a paved road. Walking felt very safe at all times of day. There is a shuttle to town which leaves every hour (schedule available at the front desk) starting at 2 pm. It drops you off in the center of town. If you choose to walk earlier, make sure that you know the specific pick-up place in town, because it is in a parking lot just off the main street. The shuttle is extremely easy and very comfortable.

Due to the location of the hotel and the main attractions (glaciers) you will be picked up first and returned last to the hotel for all excursions. Some of the excursion companies will drop you off in the center if you request that.

The hotel has a small spa and indoor pool. The pool is heated with jets that cycle from being extremely hot to warm. The pool is very small but on one side is very deep. The pool furniture is white and as a result, the cushions are looking tired.

Breakfast is included and offers scrambled eggs, bacon, rolls, one type of cheese and meat, fruits, cereals, and a small selection of pastries. It is a suitable breakfast, but not spectacular compared to other places we stayed in Argentina. For boxed lunches (required on many excursions) they offer tuna, ham/cheese, vegetarian with an apple and bottle of water for approx $80 AR. Pretty basic meal without many options. Ask for a plastic bag, the paper bag that they provided for the lunch got wet and broke in the misty rain.

Overall a very nice stay in a simple room at a nice hotel. We loved our stay at the Alto Calafate. If we were to return to El Calafate, we would likely try a different property to be closer to town and make it easier to get a quick bite to eat or do some shopping. There are other beautiful properties with nice views (different than Alto Calafate). If you are only there for the excursions, then the hotel is lovely, simple and comfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TriangleTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AltoCalafate, Depto.e-commerce at Alto Calafate Hotel Patagonico, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear traveler,
thank you very much for your nice comments. Hope to receive you again soon!

Have a nice day
Alto Calafate Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I stayed there on May 2013 as I was travelling alone I felt really safe at the Alto Calafate Hotel. The view from my room to the lake Argentino was spectacular, rooms are good size, hot water, clean and comfortable. The food at the restaurant was amazing I had the "Ojo de Bife" for dinner the first night and the meat was so tender and the vegetables extraordinary cooked I even repeated for the next night after the minitrekking at the Perito Moreno. I absolutely recommend this hotel as the best choice at the Calafate. Even when other complain about the hour of the shuttle to town the shops there do not open until 4:00 pm so the 2:30pm shuttle is too early as you don't find so many options in town open at that time, the town really starts going to life at about 5:00pm when everybody returns from the Glaciers so the shuttle worked just fine for me. I'm looking forward to return soon.

Room Tip: ask for a room in the second floor with a view to the lake, they are totally worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gabymgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AltoCalafate, Depto.e-commerce at Alto Calafate Hotel Patagonico, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear traveler,
thank you very much for your nice comments. Hope to receive you again soon!

Have a nice day
Alto Calafate Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Really Good Hotel, really nice breakfast, free shuttle service to city hourly, wi fi all over the hotel and really good conection! The rooms are spacious and the shower are perfect! They have a nice spa and nice pool with cool
view! We had a mini trekking in Perito Moreno and the hotel has a picnic sub to take out! Kind of expensive ham and cheese sub with water bottle and apple! 80 pesos!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 11BAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AltoCalafate, Depto.e-commerce at Alto Calafate Hotel Patagonico, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear traveler,
thank you very much for your nice comments. Hope to receive you again soon!

Have a nice day
Alto Calafate Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Rooms are kind of small. However this is my only complain. Other than that, location and views are amazing, on the top of the hill overlooking the Argentino lake. Service at front desk, travel agency ( a must in El Calafate) and restaurant are excellent. Clean rooms and overall hotel. I would say that restaurant is the best in El Calafate, a little pricey but up to high standards. Much better than many high end restaurants you may find even in Buenos Aires or other big cities. Without any doubt, the best hotel in El Calafate. Please note that the hotel is not at walking distance from town and you need transportation which is provided free by the hotel at very convenient schedules. Wireless Internet access is good and complementary.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the lake are a must!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elbrujo_ve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AltoCalafate, Depto.e-commerce at Alto Calafate Hotel Patagonico, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear traveler,
thank you very much for your nice comments. Hope to receive you again soon!

Have a nice day
Alto Calafate Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The hostel was very friendly and the staff helped me with all the information I needed.

They have a good atmosphere and I wish they throwed some parties to incentivate the people getting along.

Nevertheless, I would definitely recommend it and would come back again!

Clean towels every day for private rooms was awesome.

The only downside is that the street is not fully finished, so you may have to walk on dirth to get to the hostel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeBeDeJota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AltoCalafate, Depto.e-commerce at Alto Calafate Hotel Patagonico, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear traveler,
thank you very much for your nice comments. Hope to receive you again soon!

Have a nice day
Alto Calafate Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Calafate hotels
1.7 mi away
Posada Los Alamos
Posada Los Alamos
#7 of 69 in El Calafate
1,226 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Mirador del Lago
Hotel Mirador del Lago
#6 of 69 in El Calafate
1,220 reviews
1.6 mi away
Esplendor Hotel El Calafate
Esplendor Hotel El Calafate
#10 of 69 in El Calafate
1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Unique Luxury Patagonia
Unique Luxury Patagonia
#20 of 69 in El Calafate
994 reviews
3.4 mi away
Rochester Hotel Calafate
Rochester Hotel Calafate
#13 of 69 in El Calafate
908 reviews
3.2 mi away
Xelena Hotel & Suites
Xelena Hotel & Suites
#12 of 69 in El Calafate
1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alto Calafate Hotel Patagonico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alto Calafate Hotel Patagonico

Address: Calle 2000, #141 | Villa Parque Los Glaciares, El Calafate, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in El Calafate
#7 Family Hotel in El Calafate
#7 Luxury Hotel in El Calafate
#10 Romantic Hotel in El Calafate
Price Range: $130 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Alto Calafate Hotel Patagonico 4.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Alto Calafate Hotel, where the beauty of the landscape is combined with the functionality of the ambiances, achieving the perfect combination of elegance, comfort, service and the most impressive views of Lago Argentino and Cerro Calafate.Alto Calafate Hotel is strategically located at the entrance to the city on the way to the airport and 3.5 kilometers from downtown. Placed on a hillside, you will be able to please yourself admiring the wonderful panoramic view of the lush landscapes of Patagonia.Among the distinguished services offered by Alto Calafate Hotel its restaurant highlights, with international and regional cuisine that includes traditional dishes from Patagonia Argentina. Once there you will be able to observe the beauty of Lake Argentino while sipping exotic delicacies.You will have at your disposal the services of Transfer to the city center, Multipurpose Room, Laundry, Room Service, Business Center and Wireless Internet Access in the whole building.Alto Calafate Patagonico Hotel is the perfect complement to make your experience in Patagonia, a sanctuary of peace, warmth and comfort with high quality standards and are the perfect contrast to the untamed land of dreams. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Alto Calafate Hotel Patagonico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alto Calafate El
Alto Calafate Hotel Patagonico El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing