We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Best place to stay in El Calafate” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alto Calafate Hotel Patagonico

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alto Calafate Hotel Patagonico
Ranked #12 of 70 Hotels in El Calafate
Certificate of Excellence
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
104 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in El Calafate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I spent the night here recently when in El Calafate to visit the Perito Moreno Glacier. This hotel is an amazing oasis. El Calafate itself is a bit small, and kind of rough and tumble. This property, on the other hand, is quite plush-looking/feeling. The lobby is beautifully decorated and the restaurant is fantastic. Great service by everyone and amazing views.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LBOskiBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AltoCalafate, Depto.e-commerce at Alto Calafate Hotel Patagonico, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear traveler,
thank you very much for your nice comments. Hope to receive you again soon!

Have a nice day
Alto Calafate Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    475
    371
    80
    20
    9
See reviews for
234
487
38
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I just recently stayed here at Alto Calafate. We were very pleased with our room, and the level of service provided by the staff. They went out of their way to accommodate any request we had for them. The food at the restaurant was excellent for breakfast and lunch. The views from this hotel are an amazing. Our room was located on the 2nd floor and we could see Lake Argentino, the Andes, and El Calafate. There were only two things I would have like to have changed. The first is that shuttle does not run to the town until 2:30 PM, and there is not hot tub. There is a beautiful little indoor pool, but we found the water to be cold, even with the jets running. Overall I do not think there is anywhere nicer to stay in this region.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank reclined992016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AltoCalafate, Depto.e-commerce at Alto Calafate Hotel Patagonico, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. We hope to receive you again in the future in our Hotel .
warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We had an end of corridor room so no problems with noise as reported by others.
The bedroom was good but nothing special. Breakfast was ok if you arrived early [ 06.30] but at 7.30 the following day it appears nothing gets replenished or kept warm as the hot food was nearly cold.
We had ordered a packed lunch for the glacier trip.We would not recommend as food is basic and the only fruit I had [ apple] was completely rotten.The restaurant was very good but surprisingly almost empty .We had the lamb and it was very good.
We still enjoyed our stay and highly recommend the mini -trekking.Also we were surprised to see two people on this trip who were clearly in their late 60`s and one fell over and the other had to be held by the guide.It did not spoil our day as it slowed the walk down to enable us to relax but it must be annoying to some who did not book because of their age.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RowePCCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AltoCalafate, Depto.e-commerce at Alto Calafate Hotel Patagonico, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review, it helps us to improve our services, your complaints are being given our fullest attention and we apologise for any issues that you may have had during your stay in the Alto Calafate Hotel.

Have a nice day
Alto Calafate Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Situated 3km from El Calafate in a raised position, the views of the lake and mountains are amazing. The rooms are comfortable and clean but the highest accolade goes to the reception, lounge and dining room areas which are very modern with sumptuous sofas and a fire in the lounge/reception. There was a good and tasty selection of breakfast foods and the dinner we had was excellent. The staff are wonderfully helpful with nothing too much trouble. A courtesy bus runs regularly into town.

Room Tip: All have lake views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tigger-5177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AltoCalafate, Depto.e-commerce at Alto Calafate Hotel Patagonico, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear traveler,

Thank you very much for your kindly comments about our hotel.
We hope to receive you again in the next time in Calafate!!

Regards
Alto Calafate Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Briarcliff Manor, NY
Level Contributor
190 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Situated up on a hill on the outskirts of town, this is a modern and very well run hotel. Rooms are spacious and the buffet breakfast is very good. Attentive and helpful staff make this a top choice. The hotel runs a shuttle service from mid afternoon until around midnight which can take you to and from the town - we used it constantly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeteZebra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AltoCalafate, Depto.e-commerce at Alto Calafate Hotel Patagonico, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear traveler,

Thank you very much for your kindly comments about our hotel.
We hope to receive you again in the next time in Calafate!!

Reagards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
215 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

What a great location with superb views overlooking the lakes and hills. Out of town but that is an advantage and there is a regular shuttle bus or easy to find cheap taxis. Rooms clean and fine for a short stay. Friendly staff. Good restaurants better than most in town. None of the other hotels in Calafate looked as good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AltoCalafate, Depto.e-commerce at Alto Calafate Hotel Patagonico, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear traveler,
thank you very much for your nice comments. Hope to receive you again soon!

Have a nice day
Alto Calafate Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
92 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Arriving at the lobby you would have thought you are in a regular city hotel
and quite an elegant one.

It has good restaurant, lobby, front desk and very friendly and helpful staff.
They were great and speaks English fluently.

The rooms are very small and simple buy clean and funcional.
Wi-Fi is ok and free. The shower is strong and hot. The soaps etc are simple.

The view is great so nothing to complain.

The hotel also offer free regular shuttle to town but taxi ride is only 30 pesos or less and
they also have a post next to the shuttle in town so no need to panic if you miss or tired of waiting.

There is even a service for PICNIC lunch box which is necessary for most outings
(but also trash must be return). This facilitate greatly for day trips to the Glaciers.

If I am to look for room to improve, this will be it. LUNCH BOX itself.

The food were quite awful :
the Vegetarian sandwiches were bad, the Chicken Milanesa was awful.
I was scared to try the big salmon on my third day.
Small mini brownie was OK for dessert.

More over, there is a long line to order and to pick up and the bag is paper bag that was very fragile and easily rip consider one had to carry around all day!

The plastic containers and tupperware were of high quality.

The Staff of the kitchen handling lunch boxes were quite moody unlike the rest of the hotel staff.

Otherwise, it is a great place.

Room Tip: Bring eye patch / sleeping mask during summer when sun sets at 11 pm and the hotel curtain only sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TWWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AltoCalafate, at Alto Calafate Hotel Patagonico, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear traveler, thank you very much for your kindly comments about our hotel.
We hope to receive you again soon!!!
Have a nice day!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Calafate hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel Mirador del Lago
Hotel Mirador del Lago
#8 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 stars 900 reviews
1.7 mi away
Posada Los Alamos
Posada Los Alamos
#11 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 stars 965 reviews
3.2 mi away
Xelena Hotel & Suites
Xelena Hotel & Suites
#14 of 70 in El Calafate
4.0 of 5 stars 822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Design Suites Calafate
Design Suites Calafate
#18 of 70 in El Calafate
4.0 of 5 stars 869 reviews
1.8 mi away
La Cantera Boutique Hotel
La Cantera Boutique Hotel
#9 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 stars 852 reviews
1.6 mi away
Esplendor El Calafate
Esplendor El Calafate
#15 of 70 in El Calafate
4.0 of 5 stars 991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alto Calafate Hotel Patagonico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alto Calafate Hotel Patagonico

Property: Alto Calafate Hotel Patagonico
Address: Calle 2000, #141 | Villa Parque Los Glaciares, El Calafate, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in El Calafate
#6 Luxury Hotel in El Calafate
#9 Family Hotel in El Calafate
#10 Romantic Hotel in El Calafate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Alto Calafate Hotel Patagonico 4.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Alto Calafate Hotel, where the beauty of the landscape is combined with the functionality of the ambiances, achieving the perfect combination of elegance, comfort, service and the most impressive views of Lago Argentino and Cerro Calafate.Alto Calafate Hotel is strategically located at the entrance to the city on the way to the airport and 3.5 kilometers from downtown. Placed on a hillside, you will be able to please yourself admiring the wonderful panoramic view of the lush landscapes of Patagonia.Among the distinguished services offered by Alto Calafate Hotel its restaurant highlights, with international and regional cuisine that includes traditional dishes from Patagonia Argentina. Once there you will be able to observe the beauty of Lake Argentino while sipping exotic delicacies.You will have at your disposal the services of Transfer to the city center, Multipurpose Room, Laundry, Room Service, Business Center and Wireless Internet Access in the whole building.Alto Calafate Patagonico Hotel is the perfect complement to make your experience in Patagonia, a sanctuary of peace, warmth and comfort with high quality standards and are the perfect contrast to the untamed land of dreams. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Alto Calafate Hotel Patagonico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alto Calafate El
Alto Calafate Hotel Patagonico El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing