We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Alto Calafate Hotel Patagonico
Ranked #13 of 70 Hotels in El Calafate
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Situated up on a hill on the outskirts of town, this is a modern and very well run hotel. Rooms are spacious and the buffet breakfast is very good. Attentive and helpful staff make this a top choice. The hotel runs a shuttle service from mid afternoon until around midnight which can take you to and from the town - we used it constantly.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeteZebra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AltoCalafate, Depto.e-commerce at Alto Calafate Hotel Patagonico, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear traveler,

Thank you very much for your kindly comments about our hotel.
We hope to receive you again in the next time in Calafate!!

Reagards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,125)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

132 - 138 of 1,125 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2013

What a great location with superb views overlooking the lakes and hills. Out of town but that is an advantage and there is a regular shuttle bus or easy to find cheap taxis. Rooms clean and fine for a short stay. Friendly staff. Good restaurants better than most in town. None of the other hotels in Calafate looked as good.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AltoCalafate, Depto.e-commerce at Alto Calafate Hotel Patagonico, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Dear traveler,
thank you very much for your nice comments. Hope to receive you again soon!

Have a nice day
Alto Calafate Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Arriving at the lobby you would have thought you are in a regular city hotel
and quite an elegant one.

It has good restaurant, lobby, front desk and very friendly and helpful staff.
They were great and speaks English fluently.

The rooms are very small and simple buy clean and funcional.
Wi-Fi is ok and free. The shower is strong and hot. The soaps etc are simple.

The view is great so nothing to complain.

The hotel also offer free regular shuttle to town but taxi ride is only 30 pesos or less and
they also have a post next to the shuttle in town so no need to panic if you miss or tired of waiting.

There is even a service for PICNIC lunch box which is necessary for most outings
(but also trash must be return). This facilitate greatly for day trips to the Glaciers.

If I am to look for room to improve, this will be it. LUNCH BOX itself.

The food were quite awful :
the Vegetarian sandwiches were bad, the Chicken Milanesa was awful.
I was scared to try the big salmon on my third day.
Small mini brownie was OK for dessert.

More over, there is a long line to order and to pick up and the bag is paper bag that was very fragile and easily rip consider one had to carry around all day!

The plastic containers and tupperware were of high quality.

The Staff of the kitchen handling lunch boxes were quite moody unlike the rest of the hotel staff.

Otherwise, it is a great place.

Room Tip: Bring eye patch / sleeping mask during summer when sun sets at 11 pm and the hotel curtain only sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TWWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded January 29, 2013

Dear traveler, thank you very much for your kindly comments about our hotel.
We hope to receive you again soon!!!
Have a nice day!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

After completing the W Trek in Torres del Paine, my wife and I planned on spending time in El Calafate and doing the Perito Moreno Glacier Big Ice hike. Could have not asked for a better property to unwind after both. Overall facility, service and food was commendable. Only minor complaint would be the noise from adjacent rooms which might be an issue for some.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reggiec10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AltoCalafate, e-commerce department at Alto Calafate Hotel Patagonico, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Dear traveler, thank you very much for your kindly comments about our hotel.
We hope to receive you again soon!!!
Have a nice day!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

While the hotel is set back from the lake, it's hard to deny the spectacular views. Rooms are everything you need and nothing more. Wifi was atrocious, but this is Patagonia, what do you expect? Shuttle service is free to and from the town and the staff is very accommodating, they're willing to help arrange any activities or restaurant reservations as well. Restaurant was hit or miss and the included breakfast buffet was a serious carbo load.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Egmaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AltoCalafate, e-commerce department at Alto Calafate Hotel Patagonico, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear traveler
Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. We hope to receive you again in the future in our Hotel .

Have a nice day!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Very attractive lobby, pool and bathroom. Rooms were ok, overheated, as everything seems to be in the area... do you really need the A/C on at the same time as the heating (in the restaurant - we just left the window open as it was 6 degrees centigrade outside - about 40 F). Great view!
Excellent service at the restaurant, very good wines, and the food truly impressed us - tasted 3 different dishes, all imaginative, flavorful, and perfectly cooked).
Finding out you do not pay to use the pool, but do pay to use the sauna, was sort of a downer, especially as the cost was really quite low, so why bother?

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelpats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

There are many good hotels of every kind in El Calafate, which is a great little town. It's like a ski town. Views from everywhere, lots of restaurants, bars, shops, excursions, hotels, hostels, inns, and all new and clean. This was the cleanest and tidiest town we saw in Argentina. We thought we were settling for Alto Calafate when our other choices didn't work, but it turned out to be a perfect choice because we were close to town (walking distance or via free shuttle service) and we had stunning views from the hotel, nice facilities, excellent service, a big, comfortable, and very clean room. There was a small fitness area (typical in Argentina, not much equipment). The indoor pool was really a large and delightful hot tub. The front desk staff took very good care of us and most had very good English. The people at the tour desk seemed aloof, but when we pursued their assistance, they were very helpful. The breakfast (included) was big but almost all sweets, more like a dessert bar than a breakfast buffet. Dinner, however, was quite good. The staff brought to the room a surprise huge chocolate cake to celebrate my birthday. I am now 60 and this was the best chocolate cake I have ever had anywhere. We highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask to face the lake and the mountains. You definitely do not want to look at the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank X-NYr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Calafate hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel Mirador del Lago
Hotel Mirador del Lago
#6 of 70 in El Calafate
1,196 reviews
1.7 mi away
Posada Los Alamos
Posada Los Alamos
#7 of 70 in El Calafate
1,202 reviews
1.6 mi away
Esplendor Hotel El Calafate
Esplendor Hotel El Calafate
#11 of 70 in El Calafate
1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Unique Luxury Patagonia
Unique Luxury Patagonia
#20 of 70 in El Calafate
976 reviews
1.5 mi away
Design Suites Calafate
Design Suites Calafate
#22 of 70 in El Calafate
1,029 reviews
3.2 mi away
Xelena Hotel & Suites
Xelena Hotel & Suites
#12 of 70 in El Calafate
1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alto Calafate Hotel Patagonico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alto Calafate Hotel Patagonico

Address: Calle 2000, #141 | Villa Parque Los Glaciares, El Calafate, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in El Calafate
#7 Luxury Hotel in El Calafate
#9 Family Hotel in El Calafate
#10 Romantic Hotel in El Calafate
Price Range: $132 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Alto Calafate Hotel Patagonico 4.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Alto Calafate Hotel, where the beauty of the landscape is combined with the functionality of the ambiances, achieving the perfect combination of elegance, comfort, service and the most impressive views of Lago Argentino and Cerro Calafate.Alto Calafate Hotel is strategically located at the entrance to the city on the way to the airport and 3.5 kilometers from downtown. Placed on a hillside, you will be able to please yourself admiring the wonderful panoramic view of the lush landscapes of Patagonia.Among the distinguished services offered by Alto Calafate Hotel its restaurant highlights, with international and regional cuisine that includes traditional dishes from Patagonia Argentina. Once there you will be able to observe the beauty of Lake Argentino while sipping exotic delicacies.You will have at your disposal the services of Transfer to the city center, Multipurpose Room, Laundry, Room Service, Business Center and Wireless Internet Access in the whole building.Alto Calafate Patagonico Hotel is the perfect complement to make your experience in Patagonia, a sanctuary of peace, warmth and comfort with high quality standards and are the perfect contrast to the untamed land of dreams. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Alto Calafate Hotel Patagonico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alto Calafate El
Alto Calafate Hotel Patagonico El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing