We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hotel in El Calafate...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alto Calafate Hotel Patagonico
Ranked #15 of 70 Hotels in El Calafate
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A good hotel in El Calafate...”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

After completing the W Trek in Torres del Paine, my wife and I planned on spending time in El Calafate and doing the Perito Moreno Glacier Big Ice hike. Could have not asked for a better property to unwind after both. Overall facility, service and food was commendable. Only minor complaint would be the noise from adjacent rooms which might be an issue for some.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reggiec10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AltoCalafate, e-commerce department at Alto Calafate Hotel Patagonico, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear traveler, thank you very much for your kindly comments about our hotel.
We hope to receive you again soon!!!
Have a nice day!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    530
    411
    98
    32
    12
See reviews for
266
552
42
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

While the hotel is set back from the lake, it's hard to deny the spectacular views. Rooms are everything you need and nothing more. Wifi was atrocious, but this is Patagonia, what do you expect? Shuttle service is free to and from the town and the staff is very accommodating, they're willing to help arrange any activities or restaurant reservations as well. Restaurant was hit or miss and the included breakfast buffet was a serious carbo load.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Egmaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AltoCalafate, e-commerce department at Alto Calafate Hotel Patagonico, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear traveler
Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. We hope to receive you again in the future in our Hotel .

Have a nice day!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Very attractive lobby, pool and bathroom. Rooms were ok, overheated, as everything seems to be in the area... do you really need the A/C on at the same time as the heating (in the restaurant - we just left the window open as it was 6 degrees centigrade outside - about 40 F). Great view!
Excellent service at the restaurant, very good wines, and the food truly impressed us - tasted 3 different dishes, all imaginative, flavorful, and perfectly cooked).
Finding out you do not pay to use the pool, but do pay to use the sauna, was sort of a downer, especially as the cost was really quite low, so why bother?

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelpats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
666 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

There are many good hotels of every kind in El Calafate, which is a great little town. It's like a ski town. Views from everywhere, lots of restaurants, bars, shops, excursions, hotels, hostels, inns, and all new and clean. This was the cleanest and tidiest town we saw in Argentina. We thought we were settling for Alto Calafate when our other choices didn't work, but it turned out to be a perfect choice because we were close to town (walking distance or via free shuttle service) and we had stunning views from the hotel, nice facilities, excellent service, a big, comfortable, and very clean room. There was a small fitness area (typical in Argentina, not much equipment). The indoor pool was really a large and delightful hot tub. The front desk staff took very good care of us and most had very good English. The people at the tour desk seemed aloof, but when we pursued their assistance, they were very helpful. The breakfast (included) was big but almost all sweets, more like a dessert bar than a breakfast buffet. Dinner, however, was quite good. The staff brought to the room a surprise huge chocolate cake to celebrate my birthday. I am now 60 and this was the best chocolate cake I have ever had anywhere. We highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask to face the lake and the mountains. You definitely do not want to look at the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank X-NYr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
73 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

This stunning hotel lies a couple of miles outside of town but is served by a very regular and free hotel shuttle bus. Excellent rooms and friendly and helpful staff made our stay very enjoyable. Very good breakfast buffet served from early morning which allowed us time to enjoy it before leaving on the many excursions which are available in this area, in particular the Perito Moreno Glacier which is unmissable!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnroGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We spent 2 nights at the Alto Calafate and they were great. Food was great at the restaurant, the breakfast buffet was nicely appointed and we had a dinner there as well. Staff was helpful and helped us coordinate a half day at an Estancia with very little notice. The swimming pool, though small, was perfect to relax in after a long hike on the glacier. It was perfect for the size of hotel.

Overall we were very happy with our stay and our room and couldn't have asked for more.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bariloche, Argentina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Due to problems with our flight, we had to spend an extra night in El Calafate. Aerolineas booked us in a room in the Alto Calafate hotel, one of the hotels owned by Cristina Fernandez de Kirchner, the current president of the country (if that´s a plus or not I´ll leave up to you, for me it wasn´t).

The entrance looks very nice, warm and comfortable. A good start. But the rooms are so-so, not very interesting and worst of all: Very noisy! The doors don´t stop any sound, so if you´re close to the elevators, you will be hearing people passing by and talking all night (like they are at your feet!). We asked for a change and got a room further along the corridor, which was better, but still very noisy (and yes, I am allready acostumed to that in Argentina, but this was really bad).

On the positive side: the restaurant was very nice, we had dinner there and the starter and desert were excellen. But how the chef was able to ruin a Argentinian steak, I still don´t understand. It was allmost unedible.

The spa and (small!) swimmingpool area are ok, but 10 points for the massage!!

Room Tip: Stay far far away from the elevators!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tipica_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Calafate hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel Mirador del Lago
Hotel Mirador del Lago
#6 of 70 in El Calafate
1,102 reviews
1.7 mi away
Posada Los Alamos
Posada Los Alamos
#10 of 70 in El Calafate
1,128 reviews
3.2 mi away
Xelena Hotel & Suites
Xelena Hotel & Suites
#17 of 70 in El Calafate
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Design Suites Calafate
Design Suites Calafate
#23 of 70 in El Calafate
985 reviews
1.6 mi away
Esplendor Hotel El Calafate
Esplendor Hotel El Calafate
#14 of 70 in El Calafate
1,239 reviews
1.8 mi away
La Cantera Boutique Hotel
La Cantera Boutique Hotel
#18 of 70 in El Calafate
953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alto Calafate Hotel Patagonico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alto Calafate Hotel Patagonico

Property: Alto Calafate Hotel Patagonico
Address: Calle 2000, #141 | Villa Parque Los Glaciares, El Calafate, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in El Calafate
#5 Luxury Hotel in El Calafate
#9 Family Hotel in El Calafate
#10 Romantic Hotel in El Calafate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Alto Calafate Hotel Patagonico 4.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Alto Calafate Hotel, where the beauty of the landscape is combined with the functionality of the ambiances, achieving the perfect combination of elegance, comfort, service and the most impressive views of Lago Argentino and Cerro Calafate.Alto Calafate Hotel is strategically located at the entrance to the city on the way to the airport and 3.5 kilometers from downtown. Placed on a hillside, you will be able to please yourself admiring the wonderful panoramic view of the lush landscapes of Patagonia.Among the distinguished services offered by Alto Calafate Hotel its restaurant highlights, with international and regional cuisine that includes traditional dishes from Patagonia Argentina. Once there you will be able to observe the beauty of Lake Argentino while sipping exotic delicacies.You will have at your disposal the services of Transfer to the city center, Multipurpose Room, Laundry, Room Service, Business Center and Wireless Internet Access in the whole building.Alto Calafate Patagonico Hotel is the perfect complement to make your experience in Patagonia, a sanctuary of peace, warmth and comfort with high quality standards and are the perfect contrast to the untamed land of dreams. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alto Calafate Hotel Patagonico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alto Calafate El
Alto Calafate Hotel Patagonico El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing