We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like I was at home”
Review of Cauquenes de Nimez

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cauquenes de Nimez
Ranked #25 of 69 Hotels in El Calafate
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 8, 2012

The staff were so helpful, friendly & attentive.
Loved the views over the Laguna Nimez, & lake it made it seem so tranquil & peaceful.
Breakfast was a decent range of food & fresh baked cakes/muffins.
Loved the afternoon tea sitting watching the view out over the Laguna & Lake.
Thoroughly enjoyed my stay & felt so homely & welcoming.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peneweir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (353)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 353 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2012

Initial impressions were that it was a bit far out of town but this was down to the obscure route taken by the driver. The hosteria is about 100m from the shore of the lake and a couple of minutes from the Nimez bird sanctuary. There is a comfortable sitting area on the ground floor just off reception. The dining area is on the first floor directly above the sitting area. Although I didn't eat there, the evening meal smelt delicious. Breakfast was pretty standard for the region with optional extras. The rooms were small but comfortable; well maintained and very clean. Friendly helpful staff. Free wifi and use of a laptop. About ten minutes walk from the centre of town where there are loads of shops, bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PashWagMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

This hotel was not where we expected it to be and although we weren't as close to town as expected (10 min walk) it was great, had lovely view across the lake. The room itself was reasonably small as was the bathroom. However, this didn't matter at all. They have the friendliest staff I have ever come across in a hotel. They sorted all our tours for us and advised on ones in other areas. We had a meal one evening which was lovely and their tea and cake at 5pm was a welcomed treat after excursions. Even though a little more expensive than others in the area I would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

My mother and I stayed at Cauquenes de Nimez for 3 nights when we were visiting the Perito Moreno glacier. The building is very quaint and rooms, although very small, have everything you need. There are comfortable communal areas downstairs, and also the upstairs restaurant, which has a nice view over the lake and the lagoon nature reserve. As a consequence of being small and homely there can be some noise, but the benefits of being known by name and welcomed as part of the family outweigh this. I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrequentTravellerKV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I've not had such caring and attentive service in many years of travelling. The owners and all the staff really wanted to look after me and make sure I had a great time (I did)! The home-cooked food in the evening was an unexpected treat. If I ever get back to this part of the world I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
Thank Russell N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gpiotto, Director General at Cauquenes de Nimez, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Thanks for such good words. This makes us very happy and motivates us to continue growing towards the satisfaction of our guests.
We hope you can visit us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed here as part of our 6 day tour of patagonia. It is an excellent hotel with very friendly staff and very attentive service. The rooms were small but clean. The view from the dining room is amazing. It is a little out of the way, but the view is worth it. Their breakfast in the morning is nice. I would highly recommend this place to any visitor to El Calafate.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that faces the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ABNYC23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gpiotto, Director General at Cauquenes de Nimez, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Thanks for such good words. This makes us very happy and motivates us to continue growing towards the satisfaction of our guests.
We hope you can visit us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Excellent hotel in El Calafate. My real had an excellente time in Cauquenes de Nimez! We are from Argentina and we booked a room in this place. José & his wife are excellent hostess there. They really make us felt like in our home. So familiar! Really nice and cute place. You have near the hotel the "Nimez Lagoon" and I suuggest to visit it cause you´ll see a lot of wild birds. The room that we had was a little small for us but we didn´t care about that cause the service and the people in the hotel are excellent! Try the little deck near the breakfast room. Feels so good having tea time at dawn with an Argentinian "mate".

Feel free if you have any doubts about it!

Roman!

Room Tip: Try to book a bungalow or a room not so close to the breakfast room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roman P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Calafate hotels
1.1 mi away
La Cantera Boutique Hotel
La Cantera Boutique Hotel
#18 of 69 in El Calafate
997 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kau Yatun Hotel & Estancia
Kau Yatun Hotel & Estancia
#21 of 69 in El Calafate
300 reviews
1.6 mi away
Rochester Hotel Calafate
Rochester Hotel Calafate
#14 of 69 in El Calafate
915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Cyan Calafate Hotel
Cyan Calafate Hotel
#19 of 69 in El Calafate
260 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel A.C.A.
Hotel A.C.A.
#1 of 69 in El Calafate
509 reviews
2.2 mi away
Edenia Punta Soberana Hotel
Edenia Punta Soberana Hotel
#24 of 69 in El Calafate
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cauquenes de Nimez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cauquenes de Nimez

Address: 303 n.79 Zona de Chacras, El Calafate 9405, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in El Calafate
Price Range: $68 - $500 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cauquenes de Nimez 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated by Nimez Lake, in el Calafate ecological Reserve, surrounded by cauquenes, swans and flamingos, we find Cauquenes de Nimez, Hostería Patagónica. Personally run by its owners, with 12 rooms, a quiet living room and a warm dining room, it is the perfect environment for enjoying a typical southern meal and reviving the traditional Patagonian spirit that during the beginning of the past century captivated so many pioneers and travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cauquenes de Nimez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cauquenes De Nimez El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing