We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hosteria with a homely feel in El Calafate”
Review of Cauquenes de Nimez

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cauquenes de Nimez
Ranked #25 of 70 Hotels in El Calafate
Certificate of Excellence
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Charming hosteria with a homely feel in El Calafate”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

My mother and I stayed at Cauquenes de Nimez for 3 nights when we were visiting the Perito Moreno glacier. The building is very quaint and rooms, although very small, have everything you need. There are comfortable communal areas downstairs, and also the upstairs restaurant, which has a nice view over the lake and the lagoon nature reserve. As a consequence of being small and homely there can be some noise, but the benefits of being known by name and welcomed as part of the family outweigh this. I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrequentTravellerKV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    135
    24
    7
    7
See reviews for
56
173
28
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I've not had such caring and attentive service in many years of travelling. The owners and all the staff really wanted to look after me and make sure I had a great time (I did)! The home-cooked food in the evening was an unexpected treat. If I ever get back to this part of the world I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Russell N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gpiotto, Director General at Cauquenes de Nimez, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thanks for such good words. This makes us very happy and motivates us to continue growing towards the satisfaction of our guests.
We hope you can visit us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed here as part of our 6 day tour of patagonia. It is an excellent hotel with very friendly staff and very attentive service. The rooms were small but clean. The view from the dining room is amazing. It is a little out of the way, but the view is worth it. Their breakfast in the morning is nice. I would highly recommend this place to any visitor to El Calafate.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that faces the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABNYC23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gpiotto, Director General at Cauquenes de Nimez, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thanks for such good words. This makes us very happy and motivates us to continue growing towards the satisfaction of our guests.
We hope you can visit us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Distrito Federal, Argentina
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Excellent hotel in El Calafate. My real had an excellente time in Cauquenes de Nimez! We are from Argentina and we booked a room in this place. José & his wife are excellent hostess there. They really make us felt like in our home. So familiar! Really nice and cute place. You have near the hotel the "Nimez Lagoon" and I suuggest to visit it cause you´ll see a lot of wild birds. The room that we had was a little small for us but we didn´t care about that cause the service and the people in the hotel are excellent! Try the little deck near the breakfast room. Feels so good having tea time at dawn with an Argentinian "mate".

Feel free if you have any doubts about it!

Roman!

Room Tip: Try to book a bungalow or a room not so close to the breakfast room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roman P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 4, 2012

This is an incredible lodge, due mainly to the unfaltering attentiveness the owners and staff provide. I'm not sure what previous people were talking about with cleanliness as we stayed in 2 rooms over the duration of our stay and both were extremely clean (and I am amazingly picky with this-I can smell a musty sheet a mile away). If you want the Sheraton, book the Sheraton. If you want gorgeous lodge-style accomodation with an amazing view and ultra friendly owners and staff that look after your every need book Cauquenes. All the food is home-made from scratch, including the muffins served for breakfast. You receive free afternoon tea on the day you arrive. Again, I am confused about a previous reviewer commenting that you need to request this- they are obviously not going to make copious amounts of afternoon tea and then waste half of it due to it being unwanted. There is an issue with wifi access in the few farther away rooms, however the communal areas are so inviting and peaceful that it is completely enjoyable to be in these areas to access the wifi. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Britta798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I stayed in Calafate in March 2012 whilst visiting the Glaciers and El Chalten. Gabriel doesn't seem to sleep and is always present to give you friendly advice to make the most of your stay. The view is stunning and the lodge is perfectly located just outside the touristy centre and 5mins to the Laguna Nimez which is a must if you have a spare hour or 2.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acastle2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Excellent hotel with comfortable rooms and friendly staff. We loved the relaxed atmosphere and tranquil location. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Calafate hotels
0.8 mi away
Hosteria Meulen
Hosteria Meulen
#45 of 70 in El Calafate
186 reviews
1.5 mi away
Solares Del Sur
Solares Del Sur
#11 of 70 in El Calafate
632 reviews
0.5 mi away
Linda Vista Apart Hotel
Linda Vista Apart Hotel
#10 of 70 in El Calafate
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Cyan Calafate Hotel
Cyan Calafate Hotel
#13 of 70 in El Calafate
221 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kau Yatun Hotel & Estancia
Kau Yatun Hotel & Estancia
#22 of 70 in El Calafate
269 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quijote Hotel
Quijote Hotel
#32 of 70 in El Calafate
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cauquenes de Nimez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cauquenes de Nimez

Property: Cauquenes de Nimez
Address: 303 n.79 Zona de Chacras, El Calafate 9405, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in El Calafate
#22 Family Hotel in El Calafate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cauquenes de Nimez 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated by Nimez Lake, in el Calafate ecological Reserve, surrounded by cauquenes, swans and flamingos, we find Cauquenes de Nimez, Hostería Patagónica. Personally run by its owners, with 12 rooms, a quiet living room and a warm dining room, it is the perfect environment for enjoying a typical southern meal and reviving the traditional Patagonian spirit that during the beginning of the past century captivated so many pioneers and travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Cauquenes de Nimez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cauquenes De Nimez El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing