We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An amazing room, an excellent location and a very good price!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Esplendor Hotel El Calafate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Esplendor Hotel El Calafate
Ranked #16 of 70 Hotels in El Calafate
Certificate of Excellence
Brasilia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An amazing room, an excellent location and a very good price!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2009

First of all: I don´t really know what was the reason (luck, maybe?), but our room - Suite - was AMAZING! An apartment, almost. And for a very reasonable price! Excellent location, very good staff. A tip: find the restaurant "De Antaño" and you will know what is a perfect meat.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FLVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    459
    452
    158
    40
    19
See reviews for
193
675
45
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2009

The Esplendor hotel is beautiful, high on a (walkable) hill above town overlooking Lago Argentino. The rooms are small (cramped almost -- furnished like a fancy rustic lodge). There is an extensive breakfast buffet. Another reviewer wrote that the services at the hotel are not the best - this is true. It IS less expensive took a trip directly through a center in town and about the only thing organized for us by the hotel was a shuttle to the airport. But, there is free internet access in the stunning and airy lobby. El Calafate is basically a tourist trap and a jumping off point to see the Perito Moreno glacier or the Fitz Roy Massif -- if you want a nice hotel to stay in at the end of the day, this place is great -- but if you don't care very much, you could do better with a less expensive place.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingCatLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2009

Very, very nice boutique hotel. A lovely room with a beautiful lakeview.With a balcony it was perfect.
A minus for the staff services.You cant make reservation fot the trips by credit card. You must have cash. You must go to the center to do that. And it's cheapper.
An advice .Try Posadas los alamos. It"s the best/

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank axxxaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2009

The hotel with an extraordinary interior design is located on the hill of El Calafate, approx. 10 minutes by foot to the main street resp. centre. There is no shuttle or bus to the centre on daytime, only in the evening to the casino. My nice room had a lake view, it was very warm in there that I had to open the windows at night but it didn't get colder... Longtime barking dogs and awful loud cars did their best to keep me awake at night. There was no air condition or fan in the room. The service and also the restaurant was not as good as I expected for that high price category! Some employers didn't speak English. They do their job, but nothing more. If you need any special help - forget it! Please have enough cash when you go to El Calafate, because sometimes the seven ATM-machines in this village don't work (empty!) and you won't get cash from anywhere!! The quality of the rooms and the cleanness was very good. According to the halfway insufficient service and deficiencies like no WiFi and aircondition or fan in the room and the missing shuttle-service on daytime the price is definitively too high!

  • Liked — Interior Design and its atmosphere, cleanness, chillout-music
  • Disliked — Price, Service, Food, missing WiFi + Fan/Aircondition + Shuttle/Bus to the centre
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank upic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2009

We stayed there for 3 nights and it was indeed incredible.
About 10 minutes walk to the main street in El Calafate. V nice staff and great views over the town.
We opted for the suite which cost only a bit more and it was for sure worth it.
The hotel is clean and extremely stylish. I can def recommend staying.

  • Liked — Stylish, clean and very individual. They also had apple PCs free of charge for Internet
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Happy_Peony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2008

We just returned from a great trip to Argentina - and loved our stay at Esplendor in El Calafate. We thought the location outside of town was perfect - our room had a nice view of the lake and it was a quick 12-15 min walk into town which was perfect and not difficult. We liked having the view of the lake and having some quiet on the top of the hill. Plus, it was light there until almost 11pm at night so we always felt very safe! We had no problems with the nightclub and we stayed Sunday - Wednesday. The only issue is there are a lot of dogs that bark at night and if we slept with the window open (which we did one night) they were very loud - but then we closed the window the following two nights and we were ok. The breakfasts at the hotel were always super yummy and had lots of choices of what to eat. We loved all the sitting areas in the lobby and the bar and spent many hours just sitting and reading in the open spaces. The hotel staff was very helpful and gave us all our messages promptly etc... We liked our room - it was very simple, but clean and the bed was comfy. I saw pics of some of the suites with tubs which would have been great after all our treks, but we didn't get one of those - but I would recommend it if you are going to be hiking alot. We had a great stay at the Esplendor and def would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Liked — The location, the breakfast, the comfortable beds, the room size
  • Disliked — The dinners were fancy, but could have used more flavor
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JodiCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
60 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2008

I thought the Esplendor was a great choice for El Calafate (and was trying to decide between it and the Design Suites). The Esplendor has great decoration and a very comfortable atmosphere. The rooms were pretty, well-decorated, comfortable and well-kept. The only thing that would have been nice is 1 free bottle of water (which is common in hotels where the management advises people not to drink the water as this one did with a sign in the room). The hotel sits up on a hill a few blocks from the center of town and has great views of the Lago Argentino. The staff was very helpful when it came to booking excursions in the area (Big Ice, 4 wheel tours of the hills, etc.). The box lunches they provide for the all-day tours are great as well. The breakfast is excellent - among the best we had in Argentina- and served in a beautiful room looking out on the lake. The room was very modern and clean, the bathroom perfectly kept, etc. I had no complaints at all about this hotel and would definitely choose it again.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NYC304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Calafate hotels
1.8 mi away
Design Suites Calafate
Design Suites Calafate
#23 of 70 in El Calafate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
0.5 mi away
Posada Los Alamos
Posada Los Alamos
#11 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Mirador del Lago
Hotel Mirador del Lago
#7 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Cantera Boutique Hotel
La Cantera Boutique Hotel
#20 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
1.6 mi away
Alto Calafate Hotel Patagonico
0.5 mi away
Calafate Parque Hotel
Calafate Parque Hotel
#10 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esplendor Hotel El Calafate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplendor Hotel El Calafate

Property: Esplendor Hotel El Calafate
Address: Juan Domingo Peron 1143, El Calafate 9405, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in El Calafate
#5 Luxury Hotel in El Calafate
#13 Family Hotel in El Calafate
#15 Romantic Hotel in El Calafate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Esplendor Hotel El Calafate 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Esplendor Hotel El Calafate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplendor El Calafate Hotel El Calafate
Esplendor Del Calafate El
Esplendor Hotel El Calafate Argentina - Patagonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing