We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Esplendor Hotel El Calafate
Ranked #11 of 70 Hotels in El Calafate
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 29, 2013

From the moment we entered the stylish reception, we were impressed. The staff is very courteous and helpful, the rooms are beautifully decorated and very comfortable, and we enjoyed the spa after a day's outing to the glaciers. Thank you to Gabriel in the bar for making our stay special.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake-facing room
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liora B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fën H, Gerente at Esplendor Hotel El Calafate, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear Liora,
It´s a big pleasure to talk with you again!
I greatly appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience with TripAdvisor.
Your nice comments encourage us to continue working on providing high quality accommodations and services.
I will definitively share them with my staff!!.
I look forward to the opportunity of hosting your next visit to El Calafate.

Sincerely,
Mauro Pestoni
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,271)
There are newer reviews for Esplendor Hotel El Calafate
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

174 - 180 of 1,271 reviews

Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

This is a nice hotel with cool decor, a great view over town and comfortable beds.
It's only a ten minute stroll into town and a good base for Patagonian activities.
Downsides; The pool is small, is frequented by screamy children and really smells of sulphur. Also, there's a bullet hole in one of the window panes but suspect that's just El Calafate. N.b. Be prepared for the number of friendly stray & abused puppies in town as it's quite distressing. Please feed them scraps as they mostly die in the cold winters, once tourists leave. There's apparently an underfunded 1 person dog rescue charity, if you want to make a donation.
All in all, good value for money hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wilson121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fën H, Gerente at Esplendor Hotel El Calafate, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Dear Wilson,
I greatly appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience with TripAdvisor.
Your comments encourage us to continue working on improving the quality of our accommodations and services.

I will definitively share them with my staff!!
I look forward to the opportunity of hosting your next visit to El Calafate.

Sincerely,
Mauro Pestoni
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights and was impressed by the staff. They were helpful, spoke great English and nothing was too much trouble. In general I am not 100% the hotel is a genuine 4star but it is in a decent location and the rooms were large and clean and furnished in a funky way. There was a penchant for crocheted covers and antlers. The rooms were very warm but on the plus side the wifi was good. Breakfast is pretty basic and there were signs indicating they did not appreciate you taking food away, presumably so they can sell you a lunchbox. The other negative they could do something about easily was the toilet paper - very poor quality! However, overall I would recommend this hotel.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank LisaandPete2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fën H, Gerente at Esplendor Hotel El Calafate, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Dear Lissand!
I greatly appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience with TripAdvisor.
Your comments encourage us to continue working on improving the quality of our accommodations and services.
I will definitively share them with my staff!!!!
I look forward to the opportunity of hosting your next visit to El Calafate.

Sincerely,
Mauro Pestoni
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Hotel Esplendor is not a bad hotel, I enjoyed my stay there. My room overlooked the lake and was modern and clean. Internet was free and even though a little slow at times, I was still able to make skype calls and write emails. The breakfast was very decent, with fresh croissants, cheeses, scrambled eggs and fruits.
The location worked for me, within 10 min walk from Ave Libertador, the city's main street. You can possibly find similarly good hotels closer to the city center but there will be a 30% price premium, so the location was good for the price paid.
There are however some areas for future improvement: the 3rd floor rooms are very hot, the SPA shower has a weird sewage smell, the night personnel at the reception doesn’t pick up the phone when somebody tries to call you. Therefore, I give 4* instead of 5.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fën H, Gerente at Esplendor Hotel El Calafate, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Dear Marina!
I greatly appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience with TripAdvisor.
Your comments encourage us to continue working on improving the quality of our accommodations and services.
I will definitively share them with my staff.
I look forward to the opportunity of hosting your next visit to El Calafate.

Sincerely,
Mauro Pestoni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Gravel driveway, grand decor and entrance, super slow elevators, comfortable huge rooms and amazing bed. The furnishings are very unique and modern. The pool smelled funky and felt slimy. Breakfast was great, with lots of pastries, eggs, juice, cereal, breads. We wanted to sleep in on our last day but they wouldn't budge on the 10am check-out. The location is really far from the main street, uphill- best only with a car.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank occasionaltravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fën H, Gerente at Esplendor Hotel El Calafate, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Dear Occasional Travels:
I greatly appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience with TripAdvisor.
Your nice comments encourage us to continue working on providing high quality accommodations and services.
I will definitively share them with my staff!!.
I look forward to the opportunity of hosting your next visit to El Calafate.

Sincerely,

Mauro Pestoni
Manager


Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

This is a spacious, modern hotel with views across to the lake and mountain. It's just a 5 min walk into town, up a (small) hill. Rooms are spacious and very comfortable! Slept very well during our stay.

Decent breakfast selection and large dining area. We liked the bar area too. The staff were very helpful during our stay, particularly when we had to return after checking out when our flight was cancelled!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraC012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fën H, Gerente at Esplendor Hotel El Calafate, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear Laura,
I greatly appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience with TripAdvisor.
Your comments encourage us to continue working on improving the quality of our accommodations and services.

I will definitively share them with my staff!!
I look forward to the opportunity of hosting your next visit to El Calafate.

Sincerely,
Mauro Pestoni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

I stayed 2 nights at Esplendor El Calafate in November. The location to the town was perfect as it was just a short walk down a hill. The views from the front entrance were great as you have a nice view of Lake Argentina. The rooms were very clean, large, and modern. Our room was much larger than expected, which made for a comfortable stay. I didn't use the spa, but the indoor heated pool was a perfect way to end a day. Everyone at the front desk spoke English and was very accommodating. I would stay here again next time in El Calafate.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fën H, Gerente at Esplendor Hotel El Calafate, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear David,

It´s a big pleasure to talk with you again!
I greatly appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience with TripAdvisor.
Your nice comments encourage us to continue working on providing high quality accommodations and services.
I will definitively share them with my staff!!.
I look forward to the opportunity of hosting your next visit to El Calafate.

Sincerely,

Mauro Pestoni
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Calafate hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Mirador del Lago
Hotel Mirador del Lago
#6 of 70 in El Calafate
1,145 reviews
0.5 mi away
Posada Los Alamos
Posada Los Alamos
#8 of 70 in El Calafate
1,149 reviews
1.8 mi away
Design Suites Calafate
Design Suites Calafate
#21 of 70 in El Calafate
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Cantera Boutique Hotel
La Cantera Boutique Hotel
#19 of 70 in El Calafate
960 reviews
1.8 mi away
Xelena Hotel & Suites
Xelena Hotel & Suites
#13 of 70 in El Calafate
995 reviews
0.6 mi away
Unique Luxury Patagonia
Unique Luxury Patagonia
#20 of 70 in El Calafate
931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esplendor Hotel El Calafate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplendor Hotel El Calafate

Address: Juan Domingo Peron 1143, El Calafate 9405, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in El Calafate
#4 Luxury Hotel in El Calafate
#13 Family Hotel in El Calafate
#15 Romantic Hotel in El Calafate
Price Range: $88 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Esplendor Hotel El Calafate 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Esplendor Hotel El Calafate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplendor El Calafate Hotel El Calafate
Esplendor Del Calafate El
Esplendor Hotel El Calafate Argentina - Patagonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing