We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hosteria Meulen
Nearby Hotels
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Miyazato Inn(El Calafate)(Great Value!)
$60
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Posada Los Alamos(El Calafate)
$80
$72
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$76
$58
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$62
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rochester Hotel Calafate(El Calafate)(Great Value!)
$65
$56
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$94
$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$93
$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$184
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (193)
Filter reviews
193 results
Traveler rating
73
72
31
12
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
73
72
31
12
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspesoslaketownhikecereal
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 193 reviews
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Firstly I would like to say that we booked this Hotel because of the lovely reviews I read. Unfortunately the rooms do not look like anything in their website and also most of the comments. The Hotel did not offer free shuttle service but service against payment. There was no desk with electrical outlet as stated in their website and the rooms are small and dark contrary to the picture they provided. Our 4 rooms had showers and no bath tubs either. When I wrote and booked the hotel I was promised an upgrade as I told them that I was there to celebrate my 60th birthday. Not only did I not get the upgrade as the Manager said the hotel was full but we were given two terrible rooms on the first floor. We spoke to his wife the following morning and on seeing that we were very upset managed to change our rooms to the first floor and the rooms were slightly better. The TV did not work and nobody told us about the in house move channel. Breakfast was not so good. The orange juice was no juice at all but a cheap orange tasting drink, the bread we didnt like and although the cheese and ham were good the coffee was also terrible. The croissants were acceptable and the fruit salad was canned fruit. All in all it was a disastrous breakfast. The wardrobes in our rooms (4) were smelling of mould and we could not put out clothes in them. The wife of the Manager is very friendly and made sure to change our rooms after our first night as she could see we were all very upset. The dinner on our first night was good and I must say very well priced. I would not recommend this hotel as its too far from the centre and not worth the money we paid.

Room Tip: Maybe one of the ones advertised on their website. Definitely not the ones on the first floor overlooking the street as you will be awaken when the other clients leave for their day trip
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VickiHamburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meulen-Hotel, Director de Recepción at Hosteria Meulen, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

We really regret that your stay wasn’t good,



The price that you paid was for an standard room, and we correspondingly assign,

and the next day we gave you an upgrade of a superior room (courtesy only) not because you was upset,

actually you didn’t pay the difference.



Unlike the rest of people who come to Calafate, and previously reserve the tours, I would like to remind you

that we made our best to organize the tour to Perito Moreno, in a privet 4x4 car, guide with Italian language,

and it was at 23.00 in the evening the day before! Otherwise you lost the day, and your comment was “US$22 per person is expensive”.



The hotel has a courtesy service, is a shuttle you can use if you want to go to the downtown two times per day,

and you requested for it the day you left the hotel. By the way, a taxi from the hotel to the city costs US$1,5 per person if you are 4!



Superior and standard rooms have the same windows (1.8mts x 1.2mts) and are too lightly, maybe you are confussing hotels?



I must thank your good comment about our restaurant being very good and not expensive.



As always we consider the comments of all our dear guests to keep learning and getting better,

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Although a little far from town (30 min), that is the reason to be there. During tourist season city streets can be busy late into the night. This place is peaceful. The scenery is beautiful. The mountains that feed Perito Moreno are visible. Lake Nimez, bird preserve, seen out the window. The staff is so friendly and helpful you feel like family. A definite recommendation.

Although no fitness center or pool, evaluatiion of 5 given for each as website has no place for 'does not apply'

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the lake.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meulen-Hotel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hosteria Meulen, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Dear Robert!

Thank you for your very kind comment, it was a pleasure for us to have had them as guests
Our warm regards to you, Lis and George

Mariela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Although it is a little far away from the town, it has a great view, and part of its charm is the quiet enviroment surround it. Friendly staff, good food and nice and clean rooms. They help you hiring the excursions, advicing about what is the best to do while you're staying.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paulamvt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

If you arrive in El Calafate by airplane, you may want to arrange transport from FTE to the Hosteria Meulen. The owners of the hotel can send a taxi, but they want ARS 240 (US$50). If you take the taxi directly at the airport, you are going to pay a fixed fare of ARS 140 to any hotel in the city. Additionally, you may get a voucher for the return trip, which will cost you just ARS 100.

The hotel is clean and simple. We didn't want any luxuries - just a bed and a shower, so it was perfect for our needs and met our expectations fully. There is a safe in the hotel room, which will cost you one dollar per day should you use it.

The free breakfast is simple and does not change. There is coffee, warm and cold milk, and water if you want to make a cup of tea. You will also find fruit salad, croissants, wafers, cake, ham and cheese and calafate jelly.

The menu for the restaurant did not change the whole week of our stay. It is not bad, but you can find better dishes for the same price in El Calafate's restaurants.

If you can, try to get a room upstairs or toward the end of the corridor. People often arrive late in the evening, and make no attempt in keeping their voice down while staying near the reception desk. Not nice if you want to want to get up early in the next morning for a trip.

The staff is very friendly, sympathetic and helpful.

As in most of the places in El Calafate, you can pay in ARS, US$ or Euros, although their conversion rate may not be the greatest. Just know that you don't need to have pesos if you hadn't the time to exchange them at a bank.

Room Tip: They offer rooms with a view to the lake or to the mountain. The rooms on the mountain side have no view, but there you won't hear any cars parking in front of the hotel.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank UlrichPeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Chose this as a bit of a "splurge" since had views and good ratings. Rather far from town if you have no car. With a car, hard to find even with a map since there are no street signs in this area..if you book, remember what it looks like so you can spot it on the hill. Hotel is clean with many antiques and nice, but not spectacular views. Lots of new construction going up around it, but was quiet. Breakfast was the usual room temp ham and cheese but a nice croissant was served. They do offer a shuttle service at certain times, and had both indoor and outdoor sitting areas that were nice enough. But since I don't normally hang around a hotel, I personally would stay closer to town in a less expensive place.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank judy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews