We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hosteria Glaciares de la Patagonia
Ranked #56 of 70 Hotels in El Calafate
Reviewed February 25, 2009

We really enjoyed our stay at this hosteria. It is a little out of town but still in easy walking distance to the city (15min max). If you can't stand the dusty roads, a taxi into the centre will only set you back AR$8.
The rooms are generously sized and clean and the water pressure is excellent. We did miss a desk but found this to be the case in many of the Argentinian B&Bs. Christina at the front desk speaks excellent English and we found her to be extrememly helpful and she went out of her way to arrange day-trips for us at no extra cost (in fact her quotes were better than those of the offices in the city in one instance).
Our only dissapointment was about the breakfast service which was very basic - everyone gets 3 croissants and coffee/tea/juice with a choice of jams and honey. Meat and cheese or cereals were not on offer. Free Wifi is available at the reception area.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gibaoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

17 - 23 of 125 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2009

Very basic accommodations. The rooms lack the most basic amenitiies, like a phone or a hair drier. Boring is the best word to describe breakfast at this place.
There are many hotel in much more convenient locations that charge just the same or even less.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank citizenkanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2008

My wife son & I spent 4 nights at the Glaciares de la Patagonia on a visit to tour the glaciers. Hotels in the area had insisted that we book a separate room for our son with each of those rooms at a higher price than the triple we found here. The lodge was kept impeccably clean and provided a clear view of the lake. Construction, etc. was new "rustic lodge" but typical of construction & style elsewhere in El Calafate. The lodge is at the edge of the town on a dirt road within an easy 10-15 minute walk of the town. This has the distinct advantages of being quiet and having a view of the lake that are missing for most of the intown housing. Christina, the proprietress, was extremely helpful in booking tours and even went to considerable effort to help us clear up misunderstandings with the Panoramic Hotel in Iguazu and make Christmas eve reservations at the Sorento in Buenos Aires which was requiring a cash deposit. Given the rustic character of alternative lodging in El Calafate we would recommend Glaciares de la Patagonia unconditionally to those touring this area.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank cmlewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2008

We´ve been travelling for several months in Argentina and this has by far been our worst experience. Although the hotel is quite new, it has been built with cheap materials and with a stupid design, as a result it is very noisy. The owners seemed to be helpfull initially, but when a trying to find a solution for a minor issue (they don´t accept credit cards and we could only get 300 peso per transaction from the cash machine), they immediately became very offensive instead of helpful. Not the kind of hospitality you expect from people trying to run a hotel. Location of the hotel is also remote.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank AmsterdamJvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2008

Outstanding!!!!

Just stayed four day at Glaciares de la Patagonia hotel, and enjoyed it very much. The owners, Carlos and Christina, were extremely attentive, and were very helpful in arranging tours to Perito Moreno and to the other glaciers. The hotel is very clean and well located for easy access to the town center, and all the restaurants. Even with an injured foot, I was able to walk to town on several occasions. There is also ample taxi service at low prices.

Overall, this was a very efficient and economical location, and the owners went out of their way to assist us.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobEnjoyed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2008

My wife and I had a great time in El Calafate. The owner and staff at this nice bed and breakfast were extremely hospitable and nice. It is a 15 minute walk from town, but we didn't mind that at all. It's a great place to stay!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank LA_Traveler_367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2007

Cristina and her husband are very helpful hosts, anxious for their guests to get the most out of their visit. Cristina even rushed off to get us tickets for the Lake Argentino cruise a few minutes before the office shut so we would not miss out. Their place is 500m from town and 100m from an excellent restaurant. The building is new, if a little spartan, and quite comfortable. El Calafate is developing rapidly but still has dirt roads in many areas. I suspect that it won’t be long before the infrastructure is in place. Even so the natural wonders of the glaciers make the flight from Buenos Aires worthwhile.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank BelairTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Calafate hotels
0.5 mi away
Hosteria Austral
Hosteria Austral
#70 of 70 in El Calafate
195 reviews
0.6 mi away
Apart Hotel Libertador
Apart Hotel Libertador
#69 of 70 in El Calafate
151 reviews
0.5 mi away
Konke Hotel & Sabores
Konke Hotel & Sabores
#37 of 70 in El Calafate
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Lupama
Lupama
#55 of 70 in El Calafate
85 reviews
1.1 mi away
Terraza Coirones Hotel Boutique
Terraza Coirones Hotel Boutique
#57 of 70 in El Calafate
116 reviews
0 mi away
Hosteria Puerto San Julian
Hosteria Puerto San Julian
#53 of 70 in El Calafate
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosteria Glaciares de la Patagonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria Glaciares de la Patagonia

Address: Los Antiguos 194, El Calafate 9405, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in El Calafate
Price Range: $44 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hosteria Glaciares de la Patagonia 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glaciares de la Patagonia has been specially designed for our guests to enjoy a comfortable and cozy environment where they will be provided with customized assistance. The impressive view of Lake Argentino, the Andes Mountain Range and Mount Calafate may be appreciated from the sitting-room, the restaurant and the rooms. It is located at the entrance of the El Calafate tourist village, only six blocks from the town commercial center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Hosteria Glaciares de la Patagonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hosteria Glaciares De La Patagonia El Calafate, Argentina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing