We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean place with excellent service”
Review of Lupama

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lupama
Ranked #61 of 69 Hotels in El Calafate
Reviewed January 1, 2012

We stayed at the Lupama B & B for 2 nights and were happy with our stay. The rooms were clean and spacious. The staff go out of their way to help you and make sure you are comfortable. For the most part the staff speak spanish , this was a problem as we did not know any spanish !. But they used google translator and made sure we understood each other. It is on a hill and a 10 minute walk from the city centre.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pooja_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (87)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 14 of 87 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2011

I made a reservation on about 02/24/2011 and was charged on the day. Then I needed to change my plan and asked to cancel the reservation on 02/27/2011 and got confirmation. The cancellation was two months before the supposed check-in day . but the hotel refused to give me refund till now. That is I want to remind everyone who are going to make reservation be careful.

Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
3  Thank springcincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2010

I stayed at Lupama with my daughter. The room was confortable, clean and quiet. Had a bathtub which was useful after the tours. The breakfast was very poor and just until 9:00 am!! But the staff full of young people was very helpful and attentious. We could walk to town but would get a cab to come back, because of the little hill. The price was ok for high season.

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MilaRiodeJaneiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2009

I am from Brasil. My wife and me slept three nigths there. I don´t recommend.

BAD things:
- There was just 1 TV channel, despite the ad of the hotel publicize cable TV;
- They don´t take credit card. For example, to pay the minitrekking excursion, we had to withdraw 900 pesos in downtown to booked it;
- The food is too expensive (the dinner and the lunchbox for the excursions);
- The breakfast was very poor (it was not orange juice... it was TANG, among others things);
- The bathroom was old and not very clean;
- The temperature control of the room didn´t work;
- You have to push the flush of the bathroom during a long time to work;
- The lamp on the bedside table and the plug of the minifridge was unplugged;
- The location is not good.
- The worst: when we use the bathroom for the first time, there was a suprise for us! A "thing" floating in the toilet;

GOOD thing:
- The staff had good willing to help us. But you can see they are not professional;

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dlages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2009

I stayed here with my sister last year and whilst it is not on main drag it is only about a 10 minute walk downhill. You can always get a taxi back from El Calafate as you save a lot by staying here and it is a good value option if you can't do or feel too old /shy to do the hostel ' shared bathroom facilities ' routine.
The best thing about the place was the young woman who was running the Hosteria . She went out of our way to help us even giving us a lift when confusion arose over our onward travel arrangements to Torres Del Paine National Park in Chile. She made phone calls on our behalf and set a super early breakfast. She went above and beyond the call of duty to help us.
The rooms are US National Park log cabin standard with TV and fridge and private bathroom. They are clean and ours had a brilliant views of the glacial lake. If you want 5 star trappings it is not for you . For a comfortable Patagonian experience I cannot recommend enough.
I stayed at very upscale hotels in Rio and Buenos but the Hosteria Lupama remains in my memory because of it's setting and the genuine friendliness of the staff.
When it comes to travel I am adventurous on choosing location but am a real softie when it comes to accommodation. If you choose Hosteria Lupama you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank softievegantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2009

There is not any Internet access in your room. To use your laptop, you must access the Internet at the reception lobby and breakfast area. The hotel is located 2 km from downtown. It does not provide transportation. So, you walk or ask the receptionist at the front desk to call a taxi. Cost 10 PESO one way. Rooms are on the first have no view unless you like looking at a new building construction site and the backyard of a home. The German Shepard leased to a long chain will bark most nights and early mornings making it hard for light sleepers to get a good night's rest. The second floor rooms have a view but not much . You will not see Lago Argentino, Argentina's largest lake from any room. The breakfast is poor. No orange juice -- something that tastes like TANG. A lot of sweets (cookies) toast plus jamon and cheese. The rooms need more hangers for clothes. The cleaning person did a poor job cleaning our room #8 on the 2nd floor. Carpet was not swept and sheets were changed once during our 7-days and nights.
Also, we had to ask for a third towel. Pillows are uncomfortable -- hard! On the plus side, Murial and the other women at the front desk (some speak English) are warm, friendly and eager to help. This is a 1/2-star hotel not worth the asking price for any room. Virginia and Michael, New York City, NY

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veegee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2009

With a family of 4, I prepaid for a triple room for 3 nights. Upon arrival and having filled in the registration form, I was shown a room with a king size bed. Even though the price of the room was different from what I had paid, and that there was no way of fitting the family in, I was asked, "Can't you all just sleep here?"

While I was going through my emails to find a copy of the paid receipt, another Chinese woman walked in with her husband. The receptionist suddenly realised that there were two Chinese women that night staying at her hotel and she had not even read my name on the registration form but had shown me the room for the other Chinese/American couple. We got our triple room then.

Some of the electrical outlets were not working and when we complained, the answer was, "Can't you use the others?". The door to the balcony would not close tight. Against the fierce El Calafate wind, the door would creak and the wind leaked in all night. "Can't you just sleep though the cold and noise?"

I had booked a Mini-Trek Glacier Tour through the hotel before I arrived. Since the hotel would not take credit card for the tour, we had to go to the Mini-Trek office to pay. The office was astounded that the hotel booked us the tour because my daughter was 7 and the minimum age due to insurance is 10. They would not have allowed us on the tour the next day if we had shown up. We would have been left high and dry with nothing to do the whole day.

The hotel is just outside town and the taxi service in town was not good at all. So we walked back to the hotel every night. It is a 15min walk.

If you have the "it is Ok" attitude, this hotel is fine.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank 4Walkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Calafate hotels
0.7 mi away
La Loma Hotel
La Loma Hotel
#51 of 69 in El Calafate
195 reviews
0.2 mi away
Konke Hotel & Sabores
Konke Hotel & Sabores
#39 of 69 in El Calafate
81 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hosteria Kau Kaleshen
Hosteria Kau Kaleshen
#47 of 69 in El Calafate
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Edenia Punta Soberana Hotel
Edenia Punta Soberana Hotel
#21 of 69 in El Calafate
443 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hosteria Meulen
Hosteria Meulen
#41 of 69 in El Calafate
191 reviews
2.5 mi away
Solares Del Sur
Solares Del Sur
#16 of 69 in El Calafate
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lupama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lupama

Address: Calle 992 n19, El Calafate 9405, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 69 Hotels in El Calafate
Price Range: $52 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lupama 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostería LUPAMA se sitúa al ingreso de la ciudad sobre Avenida del Libertador,arteria principal y comercial de El Calafate. Posee una vista inigualable sobre su margen derecha el Lago Argentino y en su margen izquierda el Cerro El Calafate, y una panoramica vista de El Calafate. Localizada a 20 Km del Aeropuerto Internacional y 80 Km del Glaciar Perito Moreno. Decorada y atendida por sus dedicados dueños con artesanías especialmente seleccionadas con el deseo de honrar a los Tehuelches, antiguos pobladores de esta zona. Ofreciendo un estilo rústico y acogedor que le permitirá fusionarse con la esencia de esa época. Ofrecemos servicios personalizados y de calidad con las máximas prestaciones para cuidar el mínimo detalle de su estancia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Lupama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lupama El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing