We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“basic”
Review of Kapenke Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kapenke Hotel
Ranked #39 of 69 Hotels in El Calafate
Reviewed October 31, 2011

for me a basic hotel, small rooms, good breakfast, bad service and great location.

but then again why would you stay more than 2 nights in calafate when you have el chalten a couple of hours away?

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jealbornoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (262)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

21 - 27 of 262 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2007

The Kapenke Hotel was ideally situated in the centre of El Calafate and close to the shops and restaurants, but still somewhat of a disappointment. Our room was very small and the bathroom was minute, barely 6ft square, with a sliding door. Although the usual facilities had been crammed into the bathroom there was not even room for a towel rack! Moreover, the room looked out directly onto the sidewalk and a busy road some 10ft away. Consequently the window could not be left open for long beacvuse of the noise and dust. There were also full-length bars on the outside of the window giving the impression of a prison. The breakfast was poor with no hot food at all. The dining room did not look welcoming. However the desk staff was very helpful. Given the explosion of new, apparently good quality hotel building in and around El Calafate I would recommend finding an alternative. However, be aware that many of the newer hotels are far from the centre of town with the associated interesting eating places.

Stayed: December 2006
4  Thank travellingpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2006

I just ended a stay of 3 nights at this hotel and can say the following. The rooms are ok with a average size room and a small bathroom, location is good as it is central to the town and it´s restaurants. However, I would stay away from this hotel namely because the service at this hotel is HORRIBLE. I have stayed in hotels over 100 nights the last couple of years and the reception at this hotel is a joke. We ended up calling the front desk man Smiles namely because you never saw one out of the guy. When we had problems with our heater we were told 15 minutes to fix. After waiting 2 hours we were told they would go fix it now and returned to the hotel later to the response that it would not be fixed till the following day. We also requested a late checkout and after being informed of the fee they tried to up it the following day when our flight got delayed a couple of hours. Overall, they are looking to jack you up for a few pesos for everything they do including no irons in the room for your security.....ie we will charge you to iron your clothes. If your lucky and have no problems this is an ok hotel but if you have any needs whatsoever stay away because they have not caught on to the concept of customer service. I would not recommend this to anybody who is not on an extremely tight budget.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Puno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2006

This hotel feels like a small family-run hotel.

The common areas are a real 1970s throw-back but welcoming in a strange retro-kind of way.

The hotel is well-located on a turning off the main street.

Rooms and corridors had been recently refurbished and redecorated. The bathrooms (which are tiny) had not so don't be alarmed by the brown-coloured bathroom suite.

Didn't find (in Jan - summer) the absence of aircon a problem.

Breakfast was nice apart from fake orange juice.

Hotel seemed to be permanently full - suspect shortage of accommodation in this pretty town.

Don't know about value as booked as part of a tour.

No internet provision for guests but plenty of cheap internet cafes within a couple of mins walk.

Note, no GSM-mobile reception in the town.

Staff friendly but it helps if you can speak Spanish.

Lunch boxes for glacier tour were adequate.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LondonTravel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2005

Stayed 3 nights at this newly-renovated hotel in January, 2005. Undoubtedly, its main advantage, besides being located in El Calafate, which is the gateway to one of the worlds most fabulous sites (the Patagonia glaciers), is its central location, one block from the main drag with stores, restaurants, PO, bank, internet, etc., etc.. The staff was very friendly but the bed was horrible and breakfast was rather poor, too. In Argentina you routinely find freshly-squeezed organge juice all over but at Kapenke breakfast includes only "Tang" or some other similar juice substitute. When you do the glacier tours you have to take your own lunch and many people ask their hotel to provide this; however, our tour group recommended that we not ask Kapenke for a lunch, as other visitors had complained about the food. So we didn't sample any other meals there. There's no air conditioning at Kapenke, so it's either open the windows and fight the bugs or sweat it out with window closed (although even in Argentina summer, it's not too hot in El Calafate). Conclusion: okay but not the best. Note: the hotel was booked as part of a package deal so I don't know exactly what we paid per night. The booking agent was LA-based gotmyfare.com, a team consisting of hard-working, friendly people who were very helpful but if you use them make sure that you get cost quotes from other agencies first.

15  Thank mizuhito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017
Thank Loiva2601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NYAN22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Calafate hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kalken
Hotel Kalken
#53 of 69 in El Calafate
135 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quijote Hotel
Quijote Hotel
#28 of 69 in El Calafate
414 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marcopolo Suites Calafate
Marcopolo Suites Calafate
#40 of 69 in El Calafate
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hosteria Hainen
Hosteria Hainen
#31 of 69 in El Calafate
335 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rincon del Calafate
Rincon del Calafate
#34 of 69 in El Calafate
236 reviews
0.8 mi away
Konke Hotel & Sabores
Konke Hotel & Sabores
#38 of 69 in El Calafate
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kapenke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kapenke Hotel

Address: Calle 9 de Julio 112, El Calafate Z9405AED, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 69 Hotels in El Calafate
Price Range: $80 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kapenke Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation of 46 rooms, rates include breakfast. Private bath, Safety box, Internet and WiFi, Parking. 24/7 Frontdesk. Laundry service. Room service. Lunch boxes for excursions. Open all year round. Center location. Excursions and transfer assistance. Restaurant La Carmela, Lobby Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kapenke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kapenke Hotel El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing