We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most wonderful place in the world.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
EOLO - Patagonia's Spirit - Relais & Chateaux
Ranked #1 of 70 Hotels in El Calafate
Certificate of Excellence
uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The most wonderful place in the world.”
Reviewed March 29, 2009

This is quite honestly the most wonderful place I have ever stayed. The location is stunning, the staff phenomenal, the food dreamy, and the expeditions are just wonderful. We were on honeymoon, and it was definitely the highlight of our trip. The rooms are large and beautifully laid out, with windows the whole way round so you can just look out and admire the view all day long. A great place to relax.

Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank willow91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    31
    17
    2
    1
See reviews for
58
254
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2009

Go here for the location, the quiet, and the absolutely stunning scenery. Take a camera with a lot of memory. Take good outdoor gear so you can do the guided hikes, riding or do the trip to local Perito Mereno glacier (though that can be very, very touristy - Viedma glacier in Chalten gets less people). The hotel is beautifully designed to make most use of the 360 view and you can see wild hares, flamingos and maybe condors.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank franbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2009

3 nights of bliss at this remote Lodge with spectacular views from every window. Public rooms are comfortable and spacious, rooms are simply furnished but with everything you need for a relaxed stay. Staff are excellent, quiet and efficient and food delicious and inventive, my congratulations to an excellent chef!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LestersLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
italy
Level Contributor
153 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 610 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2009

A truly wonderful experience that worths all the price.
The ldge is located in a breathtaking countrside about 30 minutes by car from El Calafate.
The staff is really friendly and does all its best to make you feel at home.
The lodge organize also a lot of excursions in the area also with horses and bikes.
All the meals are included in the price and if you go out (as expected) for lunch they arrenge you a tasty lunch box with sandwiche, pastries and rolls choosen into a wide menu.
The food is excellent.
Of course you'll choose a place like this if you like to be in peace and sourronded only by magnificent landscapes and silence.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank micius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2009

Stayed 3 nights. Fantastic views, friendly staff. The menu changes little if at all , so if you stay more than 4 nights you will have no choice. Wine list good as is the bar etc however all prices are quoted in us $ .
When paying the bill you are offered a discount for paying in $ notes !!!. A bit strange for a so called quality hotel. If the bill was not settled in us$ it was converted back into argentinian currency and then into sterling. They were in effect having two goes at us.

Lots of activities are available and when we saw the town , we were happy that we were located on the outskirts.

A lovely quiet hotel, that is in a superb location.

  • Liked — the views were stunning.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dundrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alameda, calfiornia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2009

Eolo is a fantastic way to pass a few days in El Calafate. It's especially nice, because the town itself is pretty junky. Eolo is expensive to be sure--(even more than staying and dining at Cavas Wine Lodge in Mendoza!) but it would be hard to pick a more beautiful location on the way to Perito Moreno Glacier. Everything there is perfectly executed from the outstanding management of the activities and dining room service to the transfers to/from airport or town. We stayed in what must be the room with the most beautiful view of all (called The Condor). It had two huge windows with unbelievable views. Eolo arranged for two activities for us with a private driver over the three days. The first was mini-treking at Perito Moreno Glacier--which was fun and not strenuous, while also providing the experience of getting out on the ice in crampons. We had paid in advance for the hotel and so also were offered and took a free horseback ride. This was a surprisingly delightful 4 hours. We were the only two riders along with our guide (Gerardo) and together we climbed to the top of a "Cerro" behind Eolo--and enjoyed lunch overlooking the Andes and Lago Argentino. Magnifico! A couple of other staff are also worth a mention because they were just about perfect--notably Agustina who is in charge of the dining room and Vanessa who works in it. These two made sure that our every need was met and every dining wish granted. In short, if you can spare the extra expense, Eolo won't disappoint!

  • Liked — Overall quality, scenery, and location
  • Disliked — It was expensive
  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mtw2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2008

We stayed at Eolo for 3 nights earlier this month. The place is PERFECT in every sense :
A-location- 20 km outside of ugly and touristy El Calafate on the way to Perito Moreno Glacier. The view is absolutely awesome, preserved, endless.
B- the lodge is elegant and understated allowing the view through the enormous windows to take first place. As spacious as Patagonia.
C- the food is fantastic. Nothing more need be said. The wines, not included in the package, must be very good to judge from the very high prices though. We had the basic and it was good.
D-service- NOW we're talking. The friendliest and most efficient I have encountered anywhere.
Finally the lodge is not cheap but worth every penny.

  • Liked — Everythiung
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank habilleur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Calafate hotels
13.1 mi away
Hotel Mirador del Lago
Hotel Mirador del Lago
#5 of 70 in El Calafate
1,101 reviews
13.7 mi away
Posada Los Alamos
Posada Los Alamos
#11 of 70 in El Calafate
1,128 reviews
14.7 mi away
Design Suites Calafate
Design Suites Calafate
#24 of 70 in El Calafate
984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
La Cantera Boutique Hotel
La Cantera Boutique Hotel
#18 of 70 in El Calafate
953 reviews
13.6 mi away
Hotel A.C.A.
Hotel A.C.A.
#3 of 70 in El Calafate
465 reviews
12.2 mi away
Xelena Hotel & Suites
Xelena Hotel & Suites
#17 of 70 in El Calafate
968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to EOLO - Patagonia's Spirit - Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EOLO - Patagonia's Spirit - Relais & Chateaux

Property: EOLO - Patagonia's Spirit - Relais & Chateaux
Address: Ruta Provincial 11 Km 23, El Calafate Z9405DHC, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in El Calafate
#1 Luxury Hotel in El Calafate
#10 Family Hotel in El Calafate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — EOLO - Patagonia's Spirit - Relais & Chateaux 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EOLO - Patagonia's Spirit, Relais & Chateaux, is located within an "estancia" of 4,000 hectares (10,000 acres) between El Calafate, Argentina, and the Perito Moreno Glacier. With only 17 room, it offers the most exclusive accommodation of the area with a remarkably complete experience, affording a comfortable and luxurious window onto Patagonian life. Eolo.... Luxury of the simple thing! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your EOLO - Patagonia's Spirit - Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eolo - Patagonia`s Spirit Hotel El Calafate
EOLO - Patagonia's Spirit - Relais & Chateaux El Calafate, Argentina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing