We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Unforgettable Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of EOLO - Patagonia's Spirit - Relais & Chateaux

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
EOLO - Patagonia's Spirit - Relais & Chateaux
Ranked #7 of 70 Hotels in El Calafate
Certificate of Excellence
Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Unforgettable Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

EOLO was probably one of the best hotel stays we've ever had. All the food- from the amazing lunches they packed for our day trips, to the impeccable dinners- was memorable. The staff is amazing and attentive to our every need. The property is stunning- the views, the lounges, and the gorgeous and spacious rooms. EOLO is the best reason to stay in El Calafate, really not to be missed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    29
    16
    2
    1
See reviews for
51
221
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

intimate, with only 17 rooms, EOLO felt like a warm extended family home. the staff even remembers your name!

the common spaces and lounges were very inviting and lovely. with telescopes, coffeetable books, board games, and reading material on all things Patagonia.

the only drawback was that my visit coincided with the unseasonally hot summer. and i was upgraded to the superior room in a corner, which somehow, was much warmer than the standard room, with only one side of the wall (with the window) exposed to the elements. as most (or all) hotels in Patagonia had no air-conditioning, my room felt like a sauna well until the sun had set, and only managed to fall asleep at 1am. only had a small fan to cool the room, which was of no help at all.

the room was extremely comfortable, and inviting, and the big windows beckons one to the wild expanse of space outside... the bathroom large and airy, although the only window next to the bath/shower seemed to attract an army of aphid-like insects, definitely not for the squeamish. spoiled by the l'occitane bath amenities.

dinner was exceptional. had the chance to try out the famous Patagonian lamb, and a dessert made with the Calafate berries... similar to blueberries, except more tart in taste. breakfast items cooked to order however, was rather disappointing, and was served poached eggs on toast.

EOLO is a gorgeous slice of luxury in a barren landscape, with very personal and intimate service.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NikolosSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
220 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

EOLO was a wonderful place to stay! Although not centrally located, the activities and amenities that it offered were great. We went horseback riding one day down to the lake which was lovely and very serene. The food at the restaurant was great, and the service was impeccable. The heated indoor pool was small but pretty with pictures of glaciers on the walls and a large sauna. One of the best hotels in Argentina by far.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, New York, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Five couples from NY spent two weeks at 4 stops in Argentina. This one was the most spectacular. Patagonia is quite breathtaking. We hiked glaciers, rode 4X4s, ate great food, partied in the bar. The hotel sits majestically in the steppe, with 360 degree views. Sunrise, sunset, all spectacular. One night we had no dinner choices, just cordero a la cruz (lamb asado) which was fabulous. The secret weapon is Carolina, the restaurant manager who is tireless and seems to be working 24/7 with a great staff.

Room Tip: Not a bad room in the house. Either face the Andes or Lago Argentina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Beautiful hotel but I had $200 stolen from a locked safe. As soon as I noticed the missing money, I notified the hotel staff. The manager defended his employees honesty without investigating the situation. Instead, he told me that I must've been mistaken or misplaced my money. This was impossible since I counted my money in the morning before I left for an all day trip which was away from the hotel. Hotel staff fully informed of all guests whereabouts during the day since most trips to this area in Patagonia are spent away from the hotel for an entire day.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snuffy502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
58 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

We saw EOLO for the first time 7 years ago and since then we have been thinking of visiting. Booked directly with them and got tips and directions and help to design our 4 day stay from the Buenos Aires office. The "estancia" is located 15km away from the town of Calafate in a small hill overlooking mountains, Lago Argentino. Views are breathtaking from every corner.
Service is impeccable.
All personnel is always ready to say "yes" to your requests, help you in deciding what is best in terms of tours, places to visit and ready to help you in every possible way.
Food is a completely outstanding chapter. Being Relais & Chateaux you can trust this is a key aspect of your stay. Restaurant waiters, personnel know every detail of the menu and were always ready to offer our kids a wide selection of healthy food.
I will agree with some guests that have indicated that breakfast choice could be larger, but to us, it did not make any difference.

I would suggest that you allow at least 1 full day to relax in EOLO. Enjoy just being there, doing nothing, or walking, riding a bike, horseback riding, enjoying the view from the living room, going for a stroll or hike alone or with the guide, etc.
Breath deeply and enjoy one of the most beautiful corners of the world.
I don´t share any photos since the ones already in the reviews are true and they are nothing in comparison to being in that place.

Some practical tips in EOLO.
1-No cell phone coverage except for Claro. If you have Personal or Movistar, you are out of luck. Check your coverage while you are in Buenos Aires where you can get a Claro SIM card if you do need your mobile phone. Don´t know if you can get a Claro SIM card in town.
2-Wi-Fi is widely available in the hotel and speed is good, allowing you to use Skype, Whatsapp, Facetime and other messaging/conference systems.
3-Phone coverage only in Calafate and the Glaciar.
4-Outgoing calls to Argentina are free from the room, reception, and you can use their wireless handsets.
5-Room: We were in room 13 with our kids. Large room, large bathroom, nice amenities, nice and simple decor, very Patagonia style. No TV in the room (who needs it??). Very comfortable beds. For our taste the pillows were a tad firm.
6-Kids: We travelled with our 3 year old and 10 month old and thought they would not "fit". We were wrong. They prepared a bed and a cot, had high chairs, and personnel was familiar with handling kids. They even stayed with our 10 month old for 2 hours while we went horseback riding! A nice gesture.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are said to have nicer views, we saw 2 and they were all lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dr_zito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

We enjoyed an awesome stay at Relais & Châteaux' Eolo hotel in Patagonia. The views and the sophisticated atmosphere are very relaxing and out of this world. You can easily hang out for hours or try some of the numerous excursion options.

A must see: From Eolo take to the Perito Moreno glacier. The receptionist will gladly book you with the monopolist Hielo y Aventura. It's a once-in-a-lifetime experience if you're not a professional crampons aficionado. Bring good shoes and warm cloths. Even in summer...

And go for horse back riding, the landscape is phantasticly peaceful and the horses patient.

And grab a Berlina Gold beer afterwards. It's Patagonia's best. It doesn't get any better than that :-)

Room Tip: We had the 'smallest' room type and were happy with that. Higher categories include corner w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Walter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Calafate hotels
2.4 mi away
Los Ponchos Apart Boutique
Los Ponchos Apart Boutique
#4 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
1.0 mi away
Posada Los Alamos
Posada Los Alamos
#11 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Cantera Boutique Hotel
La Cantera Boutique Hotel
#9 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Design Suites Calafate
Design Suites Calafate
#21 of 70 in El Calafate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
0.6 mi away
Santa Monica Aparts
Santa Monica Aparts
#1 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Mirador del Lago
Hotel Mirador del Lago
#8 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to EOLO - Patagonia's Spirit - Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EOLO - Patagonia's Spirit - Relais & Chateaux

Property: EOLO - Patagonia's Spirit - Relais & Chateaux
Address: Ruta Provincial 11 23, El Calafate Z9405DHC, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in El Calafate
#2 Luxury Hotel in El Calafate
#10 Family Hotel in El Calafate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — EOLO - Patagonia's Spirit - Relais & Chateaux 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EOLO - Patagonia's Spirit, Relais & Chateaux, is located within an "estancia" of 4,000 hectares (10,000 acres) between El Calafate, Argentina, and the Perito Moreno Glacier. With only 17 room, it offers the most exclusive accommodation of the area with a remarkably complete experience, affording a comfortable and luxurious window onto Patagonian life. Eolo.... Luxury of the simple thing! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your EOLO - Patagonia's Spirit - Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eolo - Patagonia`s Spirit Hotel El Calafate
EOLO - Patagonia's Spirit - Relais & Chateaux El Calafate, Argentina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing