We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A "different" hotel in Patagonia” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of EOLO - Patagonia's Spirit - Relais & Chateaux

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
EOLO - Patagonia's Spirit - Relais & Chateaux
Ranked #7 of 70 Hotels in El Calafate
Certificate of Excellence
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“A "different" hotel in Patagonia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Eolo was, in all ways, a great experience for us. We have been there for the second time at the end of 2012 and early days of 2013. Our reservations were fully honoured, as in the first time, and we got two rooms, being one for my daughter and her 2 children and the other for myself and my wife.. The hotel is definitively a boutique hotel and is located in a big "estancia" (farm) and has fantastic views. There's nothing near, so if you are a city person, perhaps you'll find it too lonely. But that's exactly the Eolo's idea: you are in Patagonia where everything is vast, with plenty of land around you. The rooms are quite nice, furnished with authentic "estancia" furniture. They have everything you may need except TV in the room which may be a problem to some travelers. Maid service is perfect and your room is cleaned when you return from breakfast, which is something you cannot expect in other hotels, even the 5 star ones. They offer many fantastic sightseeing tours, horseback and bike ridings, etc, so that you can spend well your time. A minimum of 4 nights would be required if you want to enjoy everything that El Calafate has to offer. The rates at the hotel include breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea and dinner, which are very good. The Chef is, inded, quite talented and offer an interesting blend of french and argentinian cuisine.The menu changes everyday. If you don't wish to have lunch, they offer instead a small bag with a picnic kind of meal, which you pick from a special menu. No added costs.However, all beverages - wine, liquors, etc.- are charged separately and prices for them are rather high. The staff, under manager Valentim, gives a real treat at all times.Nonetheles, I have found one problem with Eolo: the lack of variety and, perhaps, even quality, in their breakfast. It does not match at all with everything the hotel offers. The itens placed at the buffet are very poor, badly presented and almost never replaced in due time. As there's only one waitress to serve the tables and supply the buffet ,it lacks things, like fruit, cheese, etc. I have noted the same problem the first time I was there. I think that Eolo should pay attention to this matter.Other than that, I fully recomend Eolo if you can afford the prices, which are, I'm afraid to say, rather high, but quite worthy.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    29
    16
    2
    1
See reviews for
51
221
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orinda
Level Contributor
160 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

This lodge was gorgeous. The rooms were great. The sheets, the towels, the bathroom, the beds were all top notch. The staff was friendly and accommodating with perfect English. It's a beautiful setting and everyone did their best in making this a wonderful experience. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms have views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nricks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

I stayed in Eolo for three nights, traveling with my wife and 14 month old daughter. It was simply a memorable experience, the views from the hotel and our room took our breath away. The hotel is a bit pricey, but the room costs includes all meals and some activities which makes it all worthwhile. The hotel staff went the extra mile to make sure we had a memorable stay - the hotel has just 12 rooms so it has this intimate feel. Considering we were traveling with our 14 month old daughter the hotel staff made sure that we were comfortable.

Dining in EOLO is an experience in itself, it is fine dining at its best with unforgettable views. The steak in the restaurant was one of the best I have ever had and the desserts were simply wonderful.

We arranged day trips via the hotel concierge and they made sure that everything was taken care of.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arutan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essen, Germany
Level Contributor
100 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

superb location with the best panoramic views ever!!! traumhafte Lage mit Panorama Blick soweit das Auge reicht von jedem Zimmer!! Super Ausflüge! Superb excursion! good driver and for our daughter superb riding! Nice restaurant! Gutes Restaurant mit herausragenden Weinen!

A once in a life time experience!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bettina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Amazing staff amazing hotel amazing food (far from the city so food is included in the price). We visited south america and it was the highlight of our trip. Everything was just perfect I wish I could have stayed longer in this paradise

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nonozecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

If you think you know panoramic, Eolo will redefine it for you. It is an amazing experience, such beauty. Initially I was hesitate it looked a bit brown and barren to me on the website it, how wrong I was. This is monumental landscape of extraordinary beauty. The sky is vast and the changes of light from sunrise to nightfall are mesmerizing. They are lots of birds and critters to keep you interested.

Most people at Eolo seemed to be racing off to do excursions. Whatever for, just stay put in sublime comfort, eat great food, and drink in nature at her most beguiling. Just walk out from the lodge in any direction for great views. It is fabulous.

Only negative, the pool is too small - they know it, and are working on it.

We teamed this with the new 2 day glacier cruise from Marpatag Cruceros on their new boat the Santa Cruz. They are completely different and complimentary experiences, and Marpatag will collect you from Eolo, their dock is 30 minutes away . It was a perfect combination. To and tail the cruise at Eolo for an unforgettable adventure.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PFoggSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

the location is windy, barren and strangely enchanting. Once inside the hotel is a haven. Large, warm, comfortable rooms with huge windows overlooking the landscape that belies the closenessnd majesty of the glaciers acoach ride away. The staff were lovely and couldnt do more for us. Delicious meals served with elegance and an extensive wine list were much appreciated.
A great place to stay.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gail L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Calafate hotels
2.4 mi away
Los Ponchos Apart Boutique
Los Ponchos Apart Boutique
#5 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
1.0 mi away
Posada Los Alamos
Posada Los Alamos
#10 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Cantera Boutique Hotel
La Cantera Boutique Hotel
#9 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Design Suites Calafate
Design Suites Calafate
#21 of 70 in El Calafate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
0.6 mi away
Santa Monica Aparts
Santa Monica Aparts
#1 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Mirador del Lago
Hotel Mirador del Lago
#8 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to EOLO - Patagonia's Spirit - Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EOLO - Patagonia's Spirit - Relais & Chateaux

Property: EOLO - Patagonia's Spirit - Relais & Chateaux
Address: Ruta Provincial 11 23, El Calafate Z9405DHC, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in El Calafate
#2 Luxury Hotel in El Calafate
#10 Family Hotel in El Calafate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — EOLO - Patagonia's Spirit - Relais & Chateaux 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EOLO - Patagonia's Spirit, Relais & Chateaux, is located within an "estancia" of 4,000 hectares (10,000 acres) between El Calafate, Argentina, and the Perito Moreno Glacier. With only 17 room, it offers the most exclusive accommodation of the area with a remarkably complete experience, affording a comfortable and luxurious window onto Patagonian life. Eolo.... Luxury of the simple thing! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your EOLO - Patagonia's Spirit - Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eolo - Patagonia`s Spirit Hotel El Calafate
EOLO - Patagonia's Spirit - Relais & Chateaux El Calafate, Argentina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing