We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Hosteria Alta Vista - Outstanding Service, Beautiful Spot” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hosteria Alta Vista

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hosteria Alta Vista
Ranked #38 of 70 Hotels in El Calafate
Certificate of Excellence
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hosteria Alta Vista - Outstanding Service, Beautiful Spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

Located about 30-40 minutes outside of El Calafate, Alta Vista is indeed remote... if that is what you are looking for you will enjoy every minute of it. We spent four nights there and fully enjoyed the hiking and horse riding activities offered by the Hosteria... we never ran out of things to do and our only regret was that we got to the end of each day without having found more time for vacation reading. The staff paid attention to detail and went out of their way to meet special requests. With just 7 rooms it has the ambiance of a home, we got to know other quests at cocktails before dinner and meals tasted home cooked... The sous chef shared a number of recipes with us. If you enjoy hiking and horse riding, I would urge you to by-pass el Calafate and go straight to Estancia Anita and Hosteria Alta Vista. That said, if your are not the outdoorsy type there are probably better options in the area.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kit J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    5
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
24
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tasmania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2011

My husband stayed here at the end of November. Unfortunately we were booked in at the full board rate, to include activities , which was expensive, and we actually had little time to do them as we arrived in the evening and left in the morning to look at the glacier.
It was not good value for money, the food was average, the evening meal main course being a piece of beef with potato, no vegetable or salad. The breakfast provisions were light on.
We did enjoy a short horse ride in the morning. It was really a farm stay, no luxuries. The water wasn't hot for a bath. In all overpriced for the standard of accomodation.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KingstonTasmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2011

we stayed for 3 nights in November '11 and loved every minute! It is far away from everything but thats the whole point/experience of it. I can understand the other reviews saying its too far away etc, but you stay there knowing that. the land/estancia are just fab. we did horse riding on 2 days enjoying every minute of it. the view of the glacier from their land is unforgettable. There are no TVs, there is internet access...but its a perfect place to go, relax, eat/drink, read a book and explore and learn about the area.
The rooms are perfect, hot showers, clean, comfortable what else do you need?! The food on 2/3 days was good, we would have liked some BBQ'd food/meat at some stage but we were not hungry any day!

Frederico and Tamara who manage the guest house are a credit to it and will go out of their way for you.

all in all, if youre looking for somewhere peaceful, relaxing and special this is the spot!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dochas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2011

Alta Vista is part of a working farm and feels more like someones home than a hotel and is in the midlle of nowhere. This is either a big plus or a big minus and for me the single most important factor to consider when choosing this hotel.

Good points
- Isloated
- 30km closer to the Moreno Glacier than El Calafate
- friendly staff

Bad points
- Isolated
- There is no opportunity to eat anywhere else unless you want to drive or get a taxi to El Calafate
- Food is expensive and there is no choice, you get what they are serving that night
- Food quality is at best average but considering what you are paying for it has to be rated as poor.
- Cheapest bottle of wine is $28 (US)

Summary, OK for one night due to its location. However, if you can handle the extra 30 mins travelling each way stop in El Calafate.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrCoups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2010

We really enjoyed staying here. The room was clean and comfortable, with all the amenities you would expect at a more expensive B&B. Also no Tv, no phone, no clock = perfect! The reception/living room has a cosy bar and space to read. the dining room serves a set meal which was always very tasty, and they accomodated the fact that we are vegetarian with ease (at least it seemed so to us.) We had packed lunches to take with us for a day at Perito Moreno and it was more than we could eat.
We enjoyed walking in the hills behind the house and there is a well marked trail. we also had an enjoyable horse ride up to see distant views of the Perito Moreno glacier, as well as condors and lots of sheep. The staff here are truely a family and it feels every bit like you are part of a working estancia right down to the sheep dogs and horses wandering on the front lawn. A really great experiance.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank green_blue_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Canada Flintridge, California
Level Contributor
123 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2009

We spent 2 nights here while climbing the Perito Moreno glacier. This is truly a special facility, part of a large working ranch set aside for visitors. The staff was outstanding as was the food and service. The rooms are simply decorated but most comfortable and clean. The reception area and grounds are delightful. There are opportunities for horse rides and trecking. It is closer to the glacier than town and much more chraming than the facilities in town. A memorable stay.

Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank weiss782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Calafate hotels
4.4 mi away
EOLO - Patagonia's Spirit - Relais & Chateaux
4.1 mi away
Hosteria Alto Verde
Hosteria Alto Verde
#41 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
4.2 mi away
Kau Yatun Hotel & Estancia
Kau Yatun Hotel & Estancia
#22 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Estancia La Estela
Estancia La Estela
#32 of 61 in El Calafate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.0 mi away
Estancia Nibepo Aike
Estancia Nibepo Aike
#7 of 61 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
8.8 mi away
El Galpon del Glaciar
El Galpon del Glaciar
#13 of 39 in El Calafate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosteria Alta Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria Alta Vista

Property: Hosteria Alta Vista
Address: Ruta Provincial 15, El Calafate 9405, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in El Calafate
#32 Romantic Hotel in El Calafate
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostería Alta Vista is located in Estancia Anita, one of greatest extension in the region, with 28,000 sheeps and 75,000 hectares. 45 Km away from the Perito Moreno Glacier and 30 Km away from El Calafate. Incomparable landscape that surrounds its, summarizes the geography of the Patagonia: the mountain range of the Andes, the immense steppes, lakes, forests and majestic glaciers. The Hostería has horses and mountain bikes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HRS and Travelocity so you can book your Hosteria Alta Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hosteria Alta Vista Hotel El Calafate
Hosteria Alta Vista El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing