We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Day Trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Estancia Cristina

Estancia Cristina
Book In Advance
More Info
$172.00*
and up
Sailing to Upsala Glacier and Patagonia Adventure to Estancia Cristina
Ranked #4 of 26 Tours in El Calafate
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Upsala Glacier is one of the largest in Los Glaciares National Park. To sail through the Argentino Lake among icebergs and mountains and then visit Estancia Cristina is an interesting combination of nature, adventure, history, and pleasure.This full day program offers alternatives such as those who prefer a quite day of touring and history as well as those who look forward to activities with adventure like trekking and riding a four wheel drive.The excursions that are surrounded by the Andes mountains, glaciers and Argentino Lake leads us to get in touch with a natural, unique, remote environment, with culture and lifestyle of the pioneers and the interesting relationship of them with famous explorers of past century.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A Great Day Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

I can't recommend this enough. The boat ride alone is worth the trip. You are picked up at your hotel at 7 am for a three hour boat ride passed icebergs and glaciers. Then at estancia Christina you board a 4 x 4 jeep for a view of the Upsala Glacier that takes your breath away. This is followed by lunch and a short walk round the property. Absolutely outstanding.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank 707holly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucia2620, Commercial Assistance at Estancia Cristina, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you very much for your comment!! Regards, Estancia Cristina staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,835 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,140
    504
    119
    47
    25
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place for a day trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

A great one day tour,
We took the 4*4 to the glacier, very nice views, great guides.
The lunch is nice too, but also to expensive for what you get.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank atkfir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucia2620, Commercial Assitant at Estancia Cristina, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you very much for your comment. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your day tour at the Estancia. Regards, Estancia Cristina staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwards, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Take the "long trek"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

We were there October 2012. It was a short bus ride to the port from El Calafate and a long but beautiful boat ride out on the long lake. We decided to do the "long trek" so we were dropped off of the boat before most of the people were dropped off close to the Upsalla Glacier. We hiked for about 5 hours including a 45 minute break for lunch. The pace of the hike was good - we did not just go for a Sunday stroll. The peninsula we were on had great views and varied terrains. There were only 4 of us with our guide - Eduardo - who was particularly informative, friendly and knowledgeable. Afterwards we were picked up by the boat taken to the Estancia and toured the museum. The day was the highlight of our two week in Argentina.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Fishm004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucia2620, Commercial Assitant at Estancia Cristina, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you very much for sharing with us your experience. The excursion it's called WILD TREK, and we liked that you enjoyed it! We hope you come back soon! Regards, Estancia Cristina staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very good trek”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

I loved touring the Estancia Cristina, his story is very interesting. The ride offroad is also very cool.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marcellus A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucia2620, Comercial Assistant at Estancia Cristina, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank your very much for sharing your experience with us! We are glad to know that you enjoy the ride and the history, as much as we do. Best regards, Estancia Cristina Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cold”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

The vehicles that they use to transport visitors leave a lot to be desired. They are very uncomfortable and unsafe.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank hirohi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucia2620, Commercial Assistance at Estancia Cristina, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for shearing with us your experience at Estancia Cristina. We will informed about this in order to improve our service. Sincerily, Estancia Cristina Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Estancia Cristina also viewed

El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
 
El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
 

Been to Estancia Cristina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing