We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take the "long trek"”
Review of Estancia Cristina

Estancia Cristina
Book In Advance
More Info
$277.00*
and up
Estancia Cristina Full-Day Tour from El Calafate
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Located on the Northwest shore of the Argentine Lake on the far of Cristiana’s arm, Estancia Cristina is located in a unique corner in Los Glaciares National Park. Founded in 1941 by Joseph P. Masters and his wife, this stunning place still maintains its essence, keeping the history of this family alive, that with great effort and perseverance, made this lonely and inhospitable place a small paradise a home. This full day program grants alternatives to those who prefer a quiet afternoon of walk and history as well as those who are into adventure with trekking and 4x4 wheel drive rides.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We were there October 2012. It was a short bus ride to the port from El Calafate and a long but beautiful boat ride out on the long lake. We decided to do the "long trek" so we were dropped off of the boat before most of the people were dropped off close to the Upsalla Glacier. We hiked for about 5 hours including a 45 minute break for lunch. The pace of the hike was good - we did not just go for a Sunday stroll. The peninsula we were on had great views and varied terrains. There were only 4 of us with our guide - Eduardo - who was particularly informative, friendly and knowledgeable. Afterwards we were picked up by the boat taken to the Estancia and toured the museum. The day was the highlight of our two week in Argentina.

Thank Fishm004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucia2620, Commercial Assitant at Estancia Cristina, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Thank you very much for sharing with us your experience. The excursion it's called WILD TREK, and we liked that you enjoyed it! We hope you come back soon! Regards, Estancia Cristina staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"upsala glacier"
in 136 reviews
"day trip"
in 57 reviews
"discovery tour"
in 14 reviews
"boat ride"
in 50 reviews
"fossil canyon"
in 9 reviews
"de los"
in 12 reviews
"wheel drive"
in 12 reviews
"croissants"
in 11 reviews
"empanadas"
in 10 reviews
"lamb"
in 12 reviews
"takes hours"
in 5 reviews
"bring your own"
in 12 reviews
"packed lunch"
in 9 reviews
"floating icebergs"
in 5 reviews
"lago argentino"
in 14 reviews
"horse riding"
in 5 reviews
"estancia"
in 158 reviews
Filter

381 - 385 of 2,113 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2012

I loved touring the Estancia Cristina, his story is very interesting. The ride offroad is also very cool.

Thank Marcellus A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucia2620, Comercial Assistant at Estancia Cristina, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Thank your very much for sharing your experience with us! We are glad to know that you enjoy the ride and the history, as much as we do. Best regards, Estancia Cristina Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

The vehicles that they use to transport visitors leave a lot to be desired. They are very uncomfortable and unsafe.

Thank hirohi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucia2620, Commercial Assistance at Estancia Cristina, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Thank you for shearing with us your experience at Estancia Cristina. We will informed about this in order to improve our service. Sincerily, Estancia Cristina Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I generally hate organized tour activities, but Estancia Cristina was a very fun day. You start out on a boat that takes you to see some large icebergs on the way to the Estancia.

Once you get there, the Patagonian vistas are open before your eyes. The landscapes here are absolutely breathtaking. You get divided up into groups for the 4x4s and they drive you up to the lookout point to see the Upsala glacier. Again, the views are incredible, both along the way and once you get there. It's super windy up at the lookout point so print something to block the wind.

I didn't think I'd care too much about the tour of the ranch that comes at the end before going back on the ship, but it was surprisingly interesting, touching not just on the history of the ranch but of the region in general, an explanation of what's going on with the glaciers, etc.

For people that can't afford the overnight stay, I'd highly recommend this, EVEN if you stayed at the only real competition Cristina has, Estancia Helsingfors (which I did).

Thank Jody S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucia2620, Comercial Assistant at Estancia Cristina, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Thank you very much for sharing us your experience at Estancia Cristina. We are glad to know that your day at the Estancia, exceeded your expectations. We invite you to enjoy our Lodge the next your are visiting us! Sincerely, Estancia Cristina staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Fascinating history about the English Masters family which homesteaded this ranch in a very remote location in 1914...really should visit in their summer as there is nothing to do at the site.

Thank coloradoclimber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Estancia Cristina also viewed

El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
 
El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
 

Been to Estancia Cristina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing