We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upsala Glacier ice trek” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Upsala Glacier

Upsala Glacier
Book In Advance
$450*
and up
Upsala Kayak Tour from El Calafate
Ranked #2 of 46 things to do in El Calafate
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: At 37 miles long, this glacier is considered one of the longest in South America.
Oak Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Upsala Glacier ice trek”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Wonderful experience with crampons but great care taken by our guides for four 60 year olds. Beautiful and fun.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,482 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,863
    480
    103
    19
    17
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Curitiba, PR
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Todo glaciares boat tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Beautiful scenery, clean and confortable catamaran. The day flew by fast on this gorgeous trip, and oh! So many great pictures! I was glad there weren't too many people, otherwise there world be some pushing on the decks. Worth the high price. Must take some food-- we made sandwiches and crackers and drinks-- the hotels offer a lunchbox for around 65 pesos with a Sandwich, juice, fruit and muffin.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolineRebicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Have to do it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

How can a describe my trip to Upsala Glacier:
- Amazing
- Beautiful
- An experience out of this world

If you have the opportunity, do it! We took the one day tour with Estancia Cristina, but if you have the opportunity, stay there. Only open in summer.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MsGfromPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
706 reviews
187 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 446 helpful votes
“My Favourite Glacier!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I may be biased as my room in the hotel we stayed at was called 'Upsala'. But in my honest opinion, this was the most spectacular site. It was massive and truly amazing, i was gobsmacked just by the sheer size of the whole site. Beautiful!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Saintlysinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
484 reviews
329 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Larger but less well known than Perito Merino”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The history of Upsala Glacier is interesting as the glacier is not named after the person who "discovered" it but the University that funded the person (except the University is Uppsala). The Upsala glacier is larger than its more famous cousin, Perito Merino and until recently it was receding. From the boat on Lake Argentino you get a good feel of the massive wall of the glacier as well as the ice bergs that break off it. It is worth doing the Todo Glaciares Boat tour that takes you to 3 glaciers but it is a long day on the bus and the boat. It is best if you take some lunch with you as there is limited choice of food on the boat.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Eaa1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Upsala Glacier also viewed

El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
 
El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
 

Been to Upsala Glacier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing