We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay for short trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kau Yatun Hotel & Estancia
Ranked #22 of 70 Hotels in El Calafate
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We spent two nights at the hotel, two families of 4 with two kids each. The hotel is very nice, accommodation is ok. The hotel is a little away from downtown so if you decide to walk be ready to go through quiet streets.
The one weak point is the food at the hotel. Breakfast was simply not enough, not enough pastries not enough bread not enough of anything. Service for dinner was also not the best, attitude from waiters and eventually the food not good. I was told is a separate company from the hotel, it might need review on their quality (we paid the rooms separately from restaurant services).

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
Thank Cesar E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinergia S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Kau Yatun Hotel & Estancia, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Thank you very much for the comment, hopefully in the near future. Greetings!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (272)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

63 - 69 of 272 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2014

If you're like us, your time in El Calafate is not going to be spent at your actual hotel. We spent four nights (one of which consisted of 6 hours total in our hotel) in El Calafate, three of them at Kau Yatun. Our room was very comfortable and spacious, although our windows did overlook the very loud fowl in the yard. Thankfully, we had to be up early everyday we stayed. No television, but the wifi works well (especially compared to other locals in Patagonia).

The restaurant surprised us with delicious dinners twice, at prices more affordable than many of the tourist traps in town. I can highly recommend the lamb. The best I ever had. They also had a couple nice bottles of wine, although we couldn't have the same bottle twice as the were a tad understocked. Service is South American normal, in my opinion. Not overly efficient, but everything does get done in time. Breakfast was the same as almost every place else we stayed on this trip, right down to the very same pastries. Not anything to brag about, but something to put in your belly before a long day of touring. Lunch boxes were the same. Side note: South Road excursions uses the hotel for their lunch boxes, so they are better than par, I would say.

It is a little bit out of town, about a 15 minute walk. If you ask at the desk they will call you a taxi very quickly. We used this service to get to the bus station to go to Chalten and didn't have to reserve the night before as recommended by SayHueque, our tour agency.

The hotel was included in our total trip price, so I'm not 100% sure what we paid to stay, but it all worked out well. Our last night (the night we spent all of six hours in the hotel, total) we were upgraded to the suite, which is in an out building in front of the hotel. It was very nice.

Room Tip: If reserving a standard room in the lodge, as for one on the back side to avoid the fowl.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellecar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinergia S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Kau Yatun Hotel & Estancia, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

thank you very much for the comment, hopefully in the near future. Greetings!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed here with Travelsphere group at Christmas time, lovely rooms with two double beds, Coffee/Tea making facilities, Bath with Shower, ample hot water, opening Windows, free wifi, good Breakfast (pastries, cheese, Ham, Cereal and scrambled Egg). The Restaurant provides a good Steak, Salmon and Goulash etc.,
A nice walk to the town, with lovely gardens and Sheep Sheering demonstrations. Everything the English person wants.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank BaldersOxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinergia S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Kau Yatun Hotel & Estancia, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

thank you very much for the comment, hopefully in the near future. Greetings!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

A very comfortable hotel for a stay in Calafate. We were just passing through as part of a larger tour. The rooms were comfortable, and the food at the restaurant good. Don't come late to the breakfast buffet, though--when something's gone, there's no more coming. It is a bit of a walk to the main part of town, but certainly do-able.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twebbmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

There are some things to like and other things that make this an average hotel.
The "likes." Very isolated away from the traffic noise. Beautiful country setting with sheep and horses wandering the grounds. An easy 15 minute walk to the city center. The restaurant is nice if you want to eat there and next to that is a rather large sitting area for visiting, reading etc. The room are comfortable and have good views out the window. Enough space not to feel crowded. A good size closet. The beds, pillows and bedding were comfortable. The windows opened for good temperature control. The decor of the hotel was pleasant and inviting.
The "average." The rooms need some upgrading, especially the bathrooms. Very little shelf or hanging space there. The shower leaked onto the floor despite trying every trick. The controls didn't work well and it was hard to control the temperature. We were with a travel group and those that ate at the hotel had a three hour dinner. The breakfast was a best average and the staff had difficulty keeping the buffet replenished.
All in all a nice stay.

Room Tip: The Google map has the hotel located in the wrong location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

On our trip to Argentina during the 2013 South American summer, my husband and I spent 5 days at Kau Yatun. This “hotel de campo” (country hotel) is the renovated main house of the traditional Estancia 25 de Mayo, an attractive ranch (not too wide, but quite long) in the province of Santa Cruz. Kau Yatun is representative of the 1920’s architectural style of Southern Patagonia.

Our charming, spacious room had wooden ceilings, and was attractively furnished in the classic way of an estancia. The massive traditional wood shutters opened to lavender bushes, the occasional sheep, and pleasant view of the tree-lined lengthy access road. The bathroom was modern with quality toiletries and a full bath tub with a floor to ceiling elegant shower curtain, though it had no ventilation.The hotel in general is on the warm side. Our strategy for making the room cool at night was to turn off the heating system, open the bedroom window, and keep the shutters partially closed.

Heading out the back of the hotel, we passed working ranch equipment, shearing sheds and finally reached a gate which opens to reach a gravel path. Pressing on we soon found a lovely long trail where you can contemplate the landscape, bird watch, or say hello to the horses. The region is growing rapidly and here are some signs of development on a few hills and ridges, but the estancia maintains a feeling of tranquility. We strolled past leafy groves with cherry, pear, apple, plum and apricot trees and found our way to a stream that runs out to the distant back of the property. Regrettably, the area along the stream was littered with plastic bags, an ecological problem in El Calafate that the local government is trying to address by banning plastic bags in supermarkets and raising awareness among locals and tourists. We then hiked up a steep hill to reach the highest point on the property from where we marveled at the view of Lago Argentino. It is definitely worth spending a morning or afternoon exploring the property to admire the horses and their pasture fields, the native flora and fauna, organic vegetable garden, the nurseries, henhouse, not to mention the gorgeous flowers that greeted us at every corner. And, well, of course, there are lots and lots of sheep, and let’s not forget the herding dogs (and their neighborhood buddies) who will definitely befriend you!!

The restaurant/bar in the main building had and attractive atmosphere, a tasty and healthy dinner menu featuring their own organic produce, local trout, and friendly (if not efficient) service. Keep in mind that life happens at a different pace there… so relax and enjoy! While the hotel restaurant is convenient after a day of trekking on the ice, it is worth a trip to the downtown restaurants. We were especially impressed with La Tablita, which while catering to large tour groups, could still provide smaller groups with excellent and attentive service, along with the best cordero patagonico (lamb) you will ever taste.

In contrast to the more relaxed service at dinner, the señora overseeing the breakfast buffet ran a very tight ship. We requested lemon for tea the first morning, and every day after she had it waiting for us. The very good buffet, available since the very early hours to allow for day-long excursions, was constantly restocked and offered diverse options.

The hotel’s pricey lunch boxes are to be avoided, so try to make other arrangements if you plan to spend the day out enjoying the attractions.

Overall the staff was friendly and helpful, perhaps with the exception of a cranky bar tender, who refused to let us use his corkscrew to open a bottle of wine in our room. While we managed to open it by jamming a small pair of scissors into the cork and then twisting it out (it actually worked!) we are definitely adding a corkscrew to the packing list! Service at the front desk was inconsistent and cool, perhaps discreet to a fault. The Kau Yatun seems to have recently become a member of the Tremun Hotels group, and so it might be that the staff are still adapting to the new management.

Location: approximately one mile from downtown El Calafate, an easy, though not especially scenic, walk that we did many times during our stay, but certainly longer than the 600 meters claimed on the hotel’s website. For those who enjoy walking and bird watching, the downtown is about half way to the beautiful Laguna Nimez Ecological Reserve that borders Lago Argentino.

All in all, the Kau Yatun offers an enjoyable and relaxing experience on a working estancia with the charms and comfort of country hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SunTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

This hotel has a nice setting on the outskirts of El Calafate and is a longish (but doable) walk into town. The reception was nice with most of our party getting a small glass of juice and a bouquet of flowers. Our room was quite spacious and comfortable but was a little dated looking. I loved the towel heater in the bathroom! We liked being able to open the window but a screen would have been nice. We had 3 dinners there which were ok...some nights were better than others. The breakast buffet was also ok tho I don't eat eggs so there weren't alot of other choices available. We didn't see the estancia operation except from a distance watched the sheep herding demonstration which others were participating in. Overall, it was fine....but not outstanding.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sswksq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Calafate hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Mirador del Lago
Hotel Mirador del Lago
#6 of 70 in El Calafate
1,163 reviews
1.9 mi away
Design Suites Calafate
Design Suites Calafate
#21 of 70 in El Calafate
1,014 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Cantera Boutique Hotel
La Cantera Boutique Hotel
#19 of 70 in El Calafate
967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Esplendor Hotel El Calafate
Esplendor Hotel El Calafate
#10 of 70 in El Calafate
1,310 reviews
1.8 mi away
Terrazas del Calafate Hotel
Terrazas del Calafate Hotel
#25 of 70 in El Calafate
275 reviews
2.3 mi away
Solares Del Sur
Solares Del Sur
#17 of 70 in El Calafate
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kau Yatun Hotel & Estancia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kau Yatun Hotel & Estancia

Address: Estancia 25 de Mayo, El Calafate 9405, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in El Calafate
#25 Romantic Hotel in El Calafate
Price Range: $83 - $426 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kau Yatun Hotel & Estancia 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 6 blocks from downtown El Calafate, Kau Yatun Hotel & Estancia brings you closer to the history of the pioneers of the Patagonia Argentina. From the hand of the protagonists, stories and customs will make you understand even better the magic of this wonderful place enjoying the comforts of a 4-star hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kau Yatun Hotel & Estancia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kau Yatun Hotel El Calafate
Kau Yatun El Calafate
Kau Yatun Hotel & Estancia El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing