We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Charming Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kau Yatun Hotel & Estancia
Ranked #22 of 70 Hotels in El Calafate
Certificate of Excellence
Annandale
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Charming Hotel”
Reviewed November 13, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed this lovely hotel which is just a short bike ride from the downtown area. The hotel even provides the bikes! Our room had three single beds and a very large, modern bathroom (with a haridryer.) The breakfast includes scrambled eggs which was a welcome surprise after seeing too much of ham and cheese on morning buffets. We also enjoyed our dinner at the restaurant and the lovely view. Service was excellent throughout the hotel. It was fun seeing the cows and horses roam the property as well.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mshookey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    114
    28
    6
    2
See reviews for
69
108
10
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Our stay at Kau Yatun, like our entire trip to Argentina, was perfect! We were warmly welcomed when we first entered the hotel and had excellent service for our entire stay. Everyone we met was friendly and helpful. It was comfortable and felt very homey. The breakfast was basic, but was delicious and had enough to get your day started. We also dined in the restaurant one evening and the food and service were great. Throughout our travels we looked for hotels with WiFi and Kau Yatun has free WiFi although it is very spotty in the rooms you have a great connection in the common areas. We stayed at Kau Yatun on both ends of our visit to El Chalten and were excited to come back to a familiar place after exploring El Chalten. Our favorite part was watching the animals. We marveled over how the dogs were able to make the sheep go wherever they were supposed to go! We can't wait to come back to El Calafate and stay at Kau Yatun again!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2011

This is an older lodging and it is a bit run down. Our rug was dirty, curtains were torn and you could hear people talking in the room next door. Breakfast was minimal. But it was a nice location and about a 15 minute walk to town. Radiators warmed the room, the shower was good, but there were single paned windows.
The staff really appeared to to be trying hard to please their customers. I think there are better and closer places to stay, but this was fine for what it was.

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank 26West
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2011

I guess reviews have to do with knowing the destination (Argentinian Patagonia, El Calafate)...I´ve seen more than 20 different places to stay in El Calafate & I would choose Kay Yatún & Estancia 25 de mayo again. Staff was extremely helpful & we loved the "country side" atmosphere there. Be aware that it is not located within the town (this is an issue that you must check before travelling), however you can take a 10 minutes walk, take a taxi or staff even offers good bikes for free! Breakfast was superb & we also took 2 excursions that they offer during your stay.
My experience was absolutely positive!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SyZa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2011

My husband and I spent 4 nights at the Kau Yatun. Rooms and bathrooms are very big, but dated. Service is horrible: no smiles, lack of character and initiative, not helpful at all (and this in Argentina where people is notoriously warm and welcoming).
Breakfast is very poor and the quality very low. Dinner a la carte disappointing.
By far the worst experience we have had in our 2 month trip in Argentina.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Surisu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2011

My family and I recently spent 5 days at Kau Yatun. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The food is good. It is located on a tiny former estancia and has pet sheep and cattle roaming around so you feel like you are on the farm. My kids aged 10 and 11 loved it. We used the free bikes to ride into town. It was a lot of fun.

The glaciers were magnificent. Allow a lot of time to spend watching the Moreno glacier from the balconies. The mini trekking on the glacier was fantastic. Don't bother going to the Upsala glacier. The trip to Estancia Christina which is the only access to the Upsala glacier is long and is over-priced.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wheelie0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2011

The hotels that had been recommended by the sources I usually use were entirely booked during our stay—Kau Yatun had availability during the nights we needed for all the rooms we needed, so I took it but was very skeptical. It turned out to be *fabulous*, like a nice little Swiss hotel in the mountains. The hotel is set in a large field of land and it was really peaceful and a relaxing place to decompress after a few days in Buenos Aires before lots of trekking in Patagonia.
My boyfriend and I sat and used their wi-fi, working on our computers in the main living room space and watched dogs and men on horses herd sheep, it was idyllic and interesting. The food was good, the bar was nice, the staff was attentive (except for an 18 year old kid at the front desk after 9pm who was definite an employee to let go) and the rooms were extremely peaceful and nicely kept.
There was a man who was kind of a porter, managing the front room and dealing with luggage transport who was so superb that my mom triple tipped him; he discreetly did all kinds of thoughtful, quiet things for us throughout our stay and was just excellent. I highly recommend staying here and disagree with the other comments that it was far from downtown (it was a ten minute walk).

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daisyglass11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Calafate hotels
0.7 mi away
La Cantera Boutique Hotel
La Cantera Boutique Hotel
#19 of 70 in El Calafate
954 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Mirador del Lago
Hotel Mirador del Lago
#6 of 70 in El Calafate
1,116 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rincon del Calafate
Rincon del Calafate
#38 of 70 in El Calafate
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Solares Del Sur
Solares Del Sur
#11 of 70 in El Calafate
632 reviews
0.6 mi away
Esplendor Hotel El Calafate
Esplendor Hotel El Calafate
#14 of 70 in El Calafate
1,242 reviews
2.3 mi away
Los Ponchos Apart Boutique
Los Ponchos Apart Boutique
#7 of 70 in El Calafate
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kau Yatun Hotel & Estancia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kau Yatun Hotel & Estancia

Property: Kau Yatun Hotel & Estancia
Address: Estancia 25 de Mayo, El Calafate 9405, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in El Calafate
#25 Romantic Hotel in El Calafate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kau Yatun Hotel & Estancia 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 6 blocks from downtown El Calafate, Kau Yatun Hotel & Estancia brings you closer to the history of the pioneers of the Patagonia Argentina. From the hand of the protagonists, stories and customs will make you understand even better the magic of this wonderful place enjoying the comforts of a 4-star hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Kau Yatun Hotel & Estancia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kau Yatun Hotel El Calafate
Kau Yatun El Calafate
Kau Yatun Hotel & Estancia El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing