We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sierra Nevada”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Sierra Nevada
Ranked #14 of 70 Hotels in El Calafate
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Very good hotel, spacious rooms with classic furniture.Well maintained garden. Friendly staff, good location. The restaurant is ok but not contemporary. We had a pleasant stay. The hotel deserves 1 extra star in its rating !

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tsjoep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IGNACIOBELLINI, Manager at Hotel Sierra Nevada, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

We apreciate your feedback.

Happy New Year

Hotel Sierra Nevada

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (619)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

95 - 101 of 619 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights. The hotel is lovely, only a 3 star but really good service.A nice self-service breakfast and pleasant staff. It's a 5 minute walk to the shops, along the main road with a good local restaurant next door. Beautiful views of the garden, adequate sized rooms and a nice bathroom. Perfect for this cute little place.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anushka10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IGNACIOBELLINI, Manager at Hotel Sierra Nevada, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

We appreciate your feedback.

Merry Christmas

Hotel Sierra Nevada

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

We stayed for three nights in this hotel. It was a very quiet location with a pleasant garden. The room was spacious and light but sadly lacking storage. There were no shelves or drawers to store anything so we had to live out of our suitcases. Breakfast was limited and poorly serviced. Dinner in the restaurant was good on the night we ate there. The service was good. Although on the main street it is a good 20 minutes walk from the centre of town, and the footways where they exist, are in a dreadful condition. Best not to walk in the dark. It is definitely not a hotel for people with mobility problems as it is on a sloping site and as you move through the hotel to the bedrooms there are a lot of unavoidable steps.
If visiting again we would probably try a find a hotel nearer the restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barretts808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IGNACIOBELLINI, Gerente at Hotel Sierra Nevada, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

We appreciate your feedback. Sorry for the inconvenience during your stay, we are working to not happen again.
Best regards

Hotel Sierra Nevada

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

This hotel has good size rooms and is located about a 20 minute walk from the centre. Breakfast was a buffet, with somewhat cold scrambled egg. We eat in the hotel one evening and it was of a good standard. Staff were helpful and we got a good exchange rate ion the dollar. Each room has a safe and wifi. Our room looked out over a very nice garden. It could do with being a bit closer to town. Lost the heating one evening but once told they fixed it, which was good as this was a Sunday evening. Recommended

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkB186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Nothing special about this hotel, but it is good value for money. The location is nice - close to Lago Argentina. The rooms are clean and have a nice view. The breakfast is okay.
The staff is very friendly. There is a bar for an evenining drink.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathrin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

How much time you spend in a hotel has a big impact on how you rate it. If all you do is turn up, sleep, eat breakfast and go out again, it has to be pretty impressive to make an impact, and it is easy to sound as if you are damning with faint praise. We weren't in El Calafate for long, and we were out early most days to see the glaciers, and chose to explore the town and eat out in the evenings. Having said all that, the Sierra Nevada, which was booked for us by Imagine Latin America, who put together our holiday, was well situated within walking distance of the town centre, the rooms were spotless, and the bed (to us Brits) was huge. Until I worked out that you could turn down the heating, it was actually too hot, but I'd rather have it that way than the other. Like others who have stayed here, I was puzzled by the 'hump' on the way to our rooms, up and down a short flight of stairs, which was a pain with cases. The staff were professional and polite, but we didn't have that much to do with them. Breakfast was OK, without anything to make it stand out, and the most interesting thing about the hotel was the book about the local aviation pioneer that I read some of in snatches while waiting for our minbuses. So; nothing really outstanding, but equally, it did exactly what you want a hotel to do, and it is easy to underrate that.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sesh_Seshep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

5 to 10 minute walk to the center of El Calafate, but close by the lake and the boardwalk (2 minutes). Very nice view.
Clean rooms, a bit small but enough storage space. Nice bar and restaurant service. Very friendly and professional. Would go there again!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scharale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Calafate hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mirador del Lago
Hotel Mirador del Lago
#6 of 70 in El Calafate
1,182 reviews
1.3 mi away
Rochester Hotel Calafate
Rochester Hotel Calafate
#7 of 70 in El Calafate
884 reviews
0.5 mi away
Posada Los Alamos
Posada Los Alamos
#8 of 70 in El Calafate
1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
La Cantera Boutique Hotel
La Cantera Boutique Hotel
#19 of 70 in El Calafate
972 reviews
0.4 mi away
Calafate Parque Hotel
Calafate Parque Hotel
#5 of 70 in El Calafate
543 reviews
1.3 mi away
Unique Luxury Patagonia
Unique Luxury Patagonia
#20 of 70 in El Calafate
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sierra Nevada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sierra Nevada

Address: Avenida Del Libertador 1888, El Calafate Z9405AIQ, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 70 Hotels in El Calafate
Price Range: $103 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sierra Nevada 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sierra Nevada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hosteria Sierra Nevada Hotel El Calafate
Hotel Sierra Nevada El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing