We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good in parts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Sierra Nevada
Ranked #15 of 70 Hotels in El Calafate
Certificate of Excellence
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good in parts”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

We stayed for three nights in this hotel. It was a very quiet location with a pleasant garden. The room was spacious and light but sadly lacking storage. There were no shelves or drawers to store anything so we had to live out of our suitcases. Breakfast was limited and poorly serviced. Dinner in the restaurant was good on the night we ate there. The service was good. Although on the main street it is a good 20 minutes walk from the centre of town, and the footways where they exist, are in a dreadful condition. Best not to walk in the dark. It is definitely not a hotel for people with mobility problems as it is on a sloping site and as you move through the hotel to the bedrooms there are a lot of unavoidable steps.
If visiting again we would probably try a find a hotel nearer the restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barretts808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IGNACIOBELLINI, Gerente at Hotel Sierra Nevada, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
We appreciate your feedback. Sorry for the inconvenience during your stay, we are working to not happen again.
Best regards

Hotel Sierra Nevada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    299
    70
    13
    1
See reviews for
141
278
38
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

This hotel has good size rooms and is located about a 20 minute walk from the centre. Breakfast was a buffet, with somewhat cold scrambled egg. We eat in the hotel one evening and it was of a good standard. Staff were helpful and we got a good exchange rate ion the dollar. Each room has a safe and wifi. Our room looked out over a very nice garden. It could do with being a bit closer to town. Lost the heating one evening but once told they fixed it, which was good as this was a Sunday evening. Recommended

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkB186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Nothing special about this hotel, but it is good value for money. The location is nice - close to Lago Argentina. The rooms are clean and have a nice view. The breakfast is okay.
The staff is very friendly. There is a bar for an evenining drink.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathrin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

How much time you spend in a hotel has a big impact on how you rate it. If all you do is turn up, sleep, eat breakfast and go out again, it has to be pretty impressive to make an impact, and it is easy to sound as if you are damning with faint praise. We weren't in El Calafate for long, and we were out early most days to see the glaciers, and chose to explore the town and eat out in the evenings. Having said all that, the Sierra Nevada, which was booked for us by Imagine Latin America, who put together our holiday, was well situated within walking distance of the town centre, the rooms were spotless, and the bed (to us Brits) was huge. Until I worked out that you could turn down the heating, it was actually too hot, but I'd rather have it that way than the other. Like others who have stayed here, I was puzzled by the 'hump' on the way to our rooms, up and down a short flight of stairs, which was a pain with cases. The staff were professional and polite, but we didn't have that much to do with them. Breakfast was OK, without anything to make it stand out, and the most interesting thing about the hotel was the book about the local aviation pioneer that I read some of in snatches while waiting for our minbuses. So; nothing really outstanding, but equally, it did exactly what you want a hotel to do, and it is easy to underrate that.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sesh_Seshep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

5 to 10 minute walk to the center of El Calafate, but close by the lake and the boardwalk (2 minutes). Very nice view.
Clean rooms, a bit small but enough storage space. Nice bar and restaurant service. Very friendly and professional. Would go there again!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scharale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

Hotel was booked by travel agency we used for our trip to Patagonia so we didn't know what to expect. Hotel premise from the outside was reasonably well kept, and there are a lot of chairs in the lobby to accommodate people waiting for tour bus pickup in the morning for their excursions. Hotel hallway was not well designed, as our rooms were VERY far away from lobby and we had to log our luggage all the way down the long, long corridor to reach our room, and the hike involves a few steps along the way so we had to stop rolling our luggages and had to pick them up to walk down (and up) those steps. Room has good amount of space but looks a little bit old (but appears clean enough). Their restaurant serves pretty good food and free breakfast in the morning is pretty decent too. Staff was helpful but not overly friendly.

Room Tip: Get the rooms that's closer to the lobby if you have a lot of luggages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Triad_Rookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

It was hard to stay here after the cozy hotel we had in El Chalten. The path to our rooms on the ground floor was horrible having to go down three series of short steps. What were they thinking when they designed this?! Obviously not people with luggage. And someone at the desk recommended Rick's for lamb; the lamb was good, but the rest of the meat served was not and you had to get the big mixed grill plate to get the lamb. It was our worst dining experience on our whole trip. When we got back to Buenos Aires and found out the desk staff had worked in El Calafate I asked if they knew Rick's and her exact words were, "It's disgusting!" She recommended Pura Vida which was practically next door to Sierra Nevada. To end on a positive note, we were able to cancel the box lunches we ordered because of a misunderstanding with our tour company (who booked the hotel; everything they organized for us was great except for this hotel). Perhaps the restaurant suggestion was their revenge though. And the wireless internet was pretty good.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ciaosole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Calafate hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mirador del Lago
Hotel Mirador del Lago
#10 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,077 reviews
0.3 mi away
Calafate Parque Hotel
Calafate Parque Hotel
#11 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Cantera Boutique Hotel
La Cantera Boutique Hotel
#20 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Posada Los Alamos
Posada Los Alamos
#12 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Kosten Aike
Hotel Kosten Aike
#4 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,223 reviews
1.0 mi away
Solares Del Sur
Solares Del Sur
#5 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sierra Nevada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sierra Nevada

Property: Hotel Sierra Nevada
Address: Avenida Del Libertador 1888, El Calafate Z9405AIQ, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 70 Hotels in El Calafate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sierra Nevada 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sierra Nevada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hosteria Sierra Nevada Hotel El Calafate
Hotel Sierra Nevada El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing