We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Highly recommend it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Solares Del Sur

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Solares Del Sur
Ranked #4 of 70 Hotels in El Calafate
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Highly recommend it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Loved staying here. We felt like it was an incredible deal to have a cute cabin all to ourselves for such a good price. Breakfast was delivered the night before and the staff were very nice. The only down side is that it's a bit out of town. But if you're willing to walk or get a taxi it's over all a beautiful location overlooking the lake.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vacationlover0828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    164
    32
    8
    4
See reviews for
244
197
18
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grande Prairie, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We had a heck of a time finding this place because the address provided was a block off its actual location; darned difficult to find after dark, especially if they don't answer the phone to help (which they didn't)! (Hint: seek a phone book.) Laundry service was great. Loved the spacious cabin, kitchen table, double bed room, twins.Great for small family. Warm. Good garden, nice view. Good parking. Breakfast breads somewhat stale; appreciated ham and cheese the second day. Coffee press needed repairing, but coffee was great.

Room Tip: The one-storey cabins are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

We went here as a newlywed couple on our honey moon. The staff was attentive and gave us a nice champaign as a present.

This place does a few things better than others. They bring you the breakfast the day before which makes it fantastic if you want sleep in that day. The breakfast is also above average compared to other places where we stayed.

The 'cabin' we got was more like a town house. There's a dining area, bathroom, and kitchen downstairs. Upstairs is a master bedroom and a smaller bedroom with two single person beds (great place for luggage). The style is very rustic with wood almost everywhere. Wifi worked as well even though we had the room farthest in the building.

There's also a restaurant on site which we never tried. But the yard is well maintained with roses and grass.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pearlynscruffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile


We stayed here for three nights, and one night on our return from El Cheltan, there were 4 adults in our group, the cabins were clean, a bit tight as the previous reviewer had mentioned, but we were out most of the day. The previous reviews are actuate, breakfast is delivered at night. It is a good 20 minute walk into town, but the cabs cost around A$25.

The restaurant has a good selection of food, with vegetarian options.

All staff were very friendly.

.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mattapis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We used Solares Del Sur as a base for our trips to and from Chile's Torres del Paine, El Chalten and to see the Perito Moreno glacier (twice) from El Calafate. We stayed in their beautiful, comfortable cabins surrounded by beautiful roses, jasmines and other flowers. We got to know Martin and the other staff and it felt like friendly family-- at a respectful distance though-- every time we returned. Martin spoke excellent English, was very welcoming and fun, and a very hard worker who would do everything to please. He made sure we were taken care of, helped make sure we had transportation when we needed it and made sure we felt comfortable.

It was nice having the breakfast stuff delivered the night before to our room, so we could eat at our own convenience. We loved walking down the hill to the lake and seeing the flamingos and walking into town along the walkway that follows the lake shore. We loved being out of town and ate every dinner at their excellent restuarant with a magnificent view with ever changing colors of water, mountains and hills. You will not go wrong staying here!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tropicalgirl44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Stayed here with four other guys for two nights in December. The place was tight, but comfortably fit each of us in our own bed. Got in late the first night and enjoyed a lamb stew cooked in the restaurant. Delicious! The room included breakfast (simple breads, cereal, coffee, juice) and the DirecTV let us watch the New England Patriots game. Lastly, Martin was an unbelievable concierge/host, helping us book taxis, bus tickets, and other accommodations.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Martin was great. He took care of all our bookings, handled our many requests for information and was very attentive to our comfort and needs. Solares del Sur is a tranquil setting with nice views of the lake. It is also well-located for the glacier tours because it is the last pickup / first dropoff spot for the buses. Location is a little bit out of town but cabs are $5 at most and easy to get. I think you get more for your money at Solares.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPN207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Calafate hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Mirador del Lago
Hotel Mirador del Lago
#8 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 stars 868 reviews
1.5 mi away
La Cantera Boutique Hotel
La Cantera Boutique Hotel
#9 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 stars 832 reviews
0.1 mi away
Los Ponchos Apart Boutique
Los Ponchos Apart Boutique
#2 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 stars 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Linda Vista Apart Hotel
Linda Vista Apart Hotel
#7 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 stars 475 reviews
1.8 mi away
Santa Monica Aparts
Santa Monica Aparts
#1 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 stars 411 reviews
0.4 mi away
Xelena Hotel & Suites
Xelena Hotel & Suites
#14 of 70 in El Calafate
4.0 of 5 stars 794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solares Del Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solares Del Sur

Property: Solares Del Sur
Address: De los Fresnos 3362, El Calafate 9045, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in El Calafate
#5 Romantic Hotel in El Calafate
#6 Family Hotel in El Calafate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Solares Del Sur 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Orbitz so you can book your Solares Del Sur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solares Del Sur El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia
Solares Del Sur Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing