We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for what we needed”
Review of Solares Del Sur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Solares Del Sur
Ranked #10 of 70 Hotels in El Calafate
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Stayed here with four other guys for two nights in December. The place was tight, but comfortably fit each of us in our own bed. Got in late the first night and enjoyed a lamb stew cooked in the restaurant. Delicious! The room included breakfast (simple breads, cereal, coffee, juice) and the DirecTV let us watch the New England Patriots game. Lastly, Martin was an unbelievable concierge/host, helping us book taxis, bus tickets, and other accommodations.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (636)
There are newer reviews for Solares Del Sur
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

68 - 74 of 636 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2012

Martin was great. He took care of all our bookings, handled our many requests for information and was very attentive to our comfort and needs. Solares del Sur is a tranquil setting with nice views of the lake. It is also well-located for the glacier tours because it is the last pickup / first dropoff spot for the buses. Location is a little bit out of town but cabs are $5 at most and easy to get. I think you get more for your money at Solares.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JPN207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

My friend and I stayed here for two nights. It is our first log cabin experience and we thoroughly enjoyed it. It has a kitchen with cooking stuffs so you may prepare your own food if you want. There are heaters in every room and together with the lightening the cabin is very cozy in a cold night. It has wifi with reasonable speed. Breakfast is delivered to the cabin early evening including juice, milk, breads, cereals, and cakes. The best part, however, is its people. Everyone of them working there is extremely friendly and helpful. Martin, in particular, gave us so much help. He speaks perfect English.
The only problem with this place is that it is a bit far from the town. We went there for shopping and it took us half an hour one way. But we enjoyed the walking. Also, all the tours will pick you up at the hotel so the location does not really matter anyway.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aussierat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

This is cute little place, tucked away from hustle bustle of town. The staff is EXTREMELY helpful. They booked all our trips and treks at market rates, no commission! I wonder if we get that kind of honest deal everywhere.
The cabins have a small kitchen, helpful to have that!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aishwarya_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

We have to start our review by saying that we absolutely loved Solares del Sur. The view of the lake is perfect. The cabanas are cozy and feel like a home away from home. The restaurant has great food and isn't expensive. And, last but certainly not least, the people make it truly special. Martin and Sergio really care about their guests, from the breakfast trays delivered in late afternoon to the excursion recommendations. This place is one of the highlights of our 2-week trip to Argentina. We couldn't recommend Solares del Sur more highly. Stay here. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile



We stayed here for two nights.  These are in the style of small log cabins where you can self cater if you wish., although they seem to have normal rooms as well. The cabins were fine, although if you hate pine cabins then these will not appeal. Everything worked well, but lack of shelves in the small bathroom basin area was annoying. The main room was a bit dark, but if we had opened some of the shutters that might have helped! Staff were very helpful with local advice and organizing an excursion to the glacier. The BIG problem with this place is that it is a long, long way out of town. With a solid power walk you can do it 30 mins. You cannot do it with luggage. A taxi costs 25 pesos each way. If this puts you off, then stay in the centre of town where there are many more restaurant options. Solares does have a restaurant onsite which is not bad (huge and tasty pizzas), but otherwise there are no shops, nada, around the cabins.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goldrichie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012 via mobile

The standard of accomodation was really good and had an excellent view of lago Argentina. The staff were extremely helpfull and friendly and organised trips, offered advice and arranged transport no problem. The 25min walk to the centre of El Calafate is no big deal and helps to walk off any grub you may have in town! Our last night we ate in the restaurant and the food was delicious. if we ever come back we would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andyandjean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Calafate hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Mirador del Lago
Hotel Mirador del Lago
#6 of 70 in El Calafate
1,143 reviews
1.4 mi away
Posada Los Alamos
Posada Los Alamos
#7 of 70 in El Calafate
1,149 reviews
1.6 mi away
La Cantera Boutique Hotel
La Cantera Boutique Hotel
#20 of 70 in El Calafate
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Linda Vista Apart Hotel
Linda Vista Apart Hotel
#9 of 70 in El Calafate
529 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel A.C.A.
Hotel A.C.A.
#2 of 70 in El Calafate
471 reviews
1.4 mi away
Calafate Parque Hotel
Calafate Parque Hotel
#5 of 70 in El Calafate
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solares Del Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solares Del Sur

Address: De los Fresnos 3362, El Calafate 9045, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in El Calafate
#5 Romantic Hotel in El Calafate
#6 Family Hotel in El Calafate
Price Range: $57 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Solares Del Sur 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Solares Del Sur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solares Del Sur El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia
Solares Del Sur Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing