We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great aparts with kitchens and living rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Solares Del Sur

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Solares Del Sur to your Saves list
Solares Del Sur
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   De los Fresnos 3362, El Calafate 9045, Argentina   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 70 Hotels in El Calafate
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great aparts with kitchens and living rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Martin was great. He took care of all our bookings, handled our many requests for information and was very attentive to our comfort and needs. Solares del Sur is a tranquil setting with nice views of the lake. It is also well-located for the glacier tours because it is the last pickup / first dropoff spot for the buses. Location is a little bit out of town but cabs are $5 at most and easy to get. I think you get more for your money at Solares.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPN207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    164
    32
    8
    4
See reviews for
244
197
18
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

My friend and I stayed here for two nights. It is our first log cabin experience and we thoroughly enjoyed it. It has a kitchen with cooking stuffs so you may prepare your own food if you want. There are heaters in every room and together with the lightening the cabin is very cozy in a cold night. It has wifi with reasonable speed. Breakfast is delivered to the cabin early evening including juice, milk, breads, cereals, and cakes. The best part, however, is its people. Everyone of them working there is extremely friendly and helpful. Martin, in particular, gave us so much help. He speaks perfect English.
The only problem with this place is that it is a bit far from the town. We went there for shopping and it took us half an hour one way. But we enjoyed the walking. Also, all the tours will pick you up at the hotel so the location does not really matter anyway.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aussierat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This is cute little place, tucked away from hustle bustle of town. The staff is EXTREMELY helpful. They booked all our trips and treks at market rates, no commission! I wonder if we get that kind of honest deal everywhere.
The cabins have a small kitchen, helpful to have that!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aishwarya_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peru, Illinois
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

We have to start our review by saying that we absolutely loved Solares del Sur. The view of the lake is perfect. The cabanas are cozy and feel like a home away from home. The restaurant has great food and isn't expensive. And, last but certainly not least, the people make it truly special. Martin and Sergio really care about their guests, from the breakfast trays delivered in late afternoon to the excursion recommendations. This place is one of the highlights of our 2-week trip to Argentina. We couldn't recommend Solares del Sur more highly. Stay here. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
177 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile



We stayed here for two nights.  These are in the style of small log cabins where you can self cater if you wish., although they seem to have normal rooms as well. The cabins were fine, although if you hate pine cabins then these will not appeal. Everything worked well, but lack of shelves in the small bathroom basin area was annoying. The main room was a bit dark, but if we had opened some of the shutters that might have helped! Staff were very helpful with local advice and organizing an excursion to the glacier. The BIG problem with this place is that it is a long, long way out of town. With a solid power walk you can do it 30 mins. You cannot do it with luggage. A taxi costs 25 pesos each way. If this puts you off, then stay in the centre of town where there are many more restaurant options. Solares does have a restaurant onsite which is not bad (huge and tasty pizzas), but otherwise there are no shops, nada, around the cabins.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Goldrichie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012 via mobile

The standard of accomodation was really good and had an excellent view of lago Argentina. The staff were extremely helpfull and friendly and organised trips, offered advice and arranged transport no problem. The 25min walk to the centre of El Calafate is no big deal and helps to walk off any grub you may have in town! Our last night we ate in the restaurant and the food was delicious. if we ever come back we would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andyandjean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

These charming little cabins and cabin style apartments were probably the biggest surprise from our recent trip to South America.

First the downside, and there is only one - it is not close to the really small town centre of El Calafate; it is a good 25-30 minute walk or ARS 20-25 taxi ride each way. That said any excursion you arrange will gladly pick you up from and drop you to the hotel (and the hotel manager very kindly sent us a price list well before we travelled).

The hotel arranged our airport transfers and excursions. Sure we could have probably saved a few pesos booking on our own, but it saved us a fair deal of hassle.

The DIY breakfast tray that was delivered to our rooms every night was definitely among the best we ate in South America and the cabins had every facility you could need.

And finally don't be fooled by their official website into thinking that they are tacky, the picture on there do not do these charming little cabins enough justice. Add to that the view of the lake from every bed and depending on the exact location of your room, you can get a very good view of either sunrise or sunset right from your bed.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gbest7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Calafate hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Mirador del Lago
Hotel Mirador del Lago
#8 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 stars 864 reviews
1.5 mi away
La Cantera Boutique Hotel
La Cantera Boutique Hotel
#9 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 stars 830 reviews
0.1 mi away
Los Ponchos Apart Boutique
Los Ponchos Apart Boutique
#2 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 stars 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Linda Vista Apart Hotel
Linda Vista Apart Hotel
#7 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 stars 473 reviews
1.8 mi away
Santa Monica Aparts
Santa Monica Aparts
#1 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 stars 411 reviews
0.3 mi away
Xelena Hotel & Suites
Xelena Hotel & Suites
#14 of 70 in El Calafate
4.0 of 5 stars 790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solares Del Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solares Del Sur

Property: Solares Del Sur
Address: De los Fresnos 3362, El Calafate 9045, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in El Calafate
#5 Romantic Hotel in El Calafate
#6 Family Hotel in El Calafate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Solares Del Sur 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Solares Del Sur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solares Del Sur El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia
Solares Del Sur Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing