We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Solares Del Sur
Nearby Hotels
Rochester Hotel Calafate(El Calafate)(Great Value!)
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Posada Los Alamos(El Calafate)
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Patagonia Queen(El Calafate)
$445
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Cantera Boutique Hotel(El Calafate)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (680)
Filter reviews
680 results
Traveler rating
427
196
39
12
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
427
196
39
12
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstwo storyon site restaurantlog cabinearly morning excursioncold breakfastview of the lakepink flamingosthree nightsfull kitchenoutskirts of townrented a carminute walkdropped offmac and cheesebox luncheslaundry servicesergio
Filter
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 680 reviews
Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

We have to start our review by saying that we absolutely loved Solares del Sur. The view of the lake is perfect. The cabanas are cozy and feel like a home away from home. The restaurant has great food and isn't expensive. And, last but certainly not least, the people make it truly special. Martin and Sergio really care about their guests, from the breakfast trays delivered in late afternoon to the excursion recommendations. This place is one of the highlights of our 2-week trip to Argentina. We couldn't recommend Solares del Sur more highly. Stay here. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile



We stayed here for two nights.  These are in the style of small log cabins where you can self cater if you wish., although they seem to have normal rooms as well. The cabins were fine, although if you hate pine cabins then these will not appeal. Everything worked well, but lack of shelves in the small bathroom basin area was annoying. The main room was a bit dark, but if we had opened some of the shutters that might have helped! Staff were very helpful with local advice and organizing an excursion to the glacier. The BIG problem with this place is that it is a long, long way out of town. With a solid power walk you can do it 30 mins. You cannot do it with luggage. A taxi costs 25 pesos each way. If this puts you off, then stay in the centre of town where there are many more restaurant options. Solares does have a restaurant onsite which is not bad (huge and tasty pizzas), but otherwise there are no shops, nada, around the cabins.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goldrichie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012 via mobile

The standard of accomodation was really good and had an excellent view of lago Argentina. The staff were extremely helpfull and friendly and organised trips, offered advice and arranged transport no problem. The 25min walk to the centre of El Calafate is no big deal and helps to walk off any grub you may have in town! Our last night we ate in the restaurant and the food was delicious. if we ever come back we would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

These charming little cabins and cabin style apartments were probably the biggest surprise from our recent trip to South America.

First the downside, and there is only one - it is not close to the really small town centre of El Calafate; it is a good 25-30 minute walk or ARS 20-25 taxi ride each way. That said any excursion you arrange will gladly pick you up from and drop you to the hotel (and the hotel manager very kindly sent us a price list well before we travelled).

The hotel arranged our airport transfers and excursions. Sure we could have probably saved a few pesos booking on our own, but it saved us a fair deal of hassle.

The DIY breakfast tray that was delivered to our rooms every night was definitely among the best we ate in South America and the cabins had every facility you could need.

And finally don't be fooled by their official website into thinking that they are tacky, the picture on there do not do these charming little cabins enough justice. Add to that the view of the lake from every bed and depending on the exact location of your room, you can get a very good view of either sunrise or sunset right from your bed.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gbest7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2012

We had a great experience at Solares del Sur! The apartment amenities were a little dated, but it made the experience very rustic and cozy, which was exactly what we were looking for. The staff was very helpful - they coordinated our airport transfers, helped with booking excursions, and brought us delicious breakfast every morning. Highly recommend if you're looking for apartment/cabin style experience. The only downside was that it was a little further away from town than we expected. But the amazing view of the lake from our balcony was worth it. And the walls are thin, so we heard our neighbors quite a bit - but it wasn't unbearable. Overall, we had a great stay there! Thank you Solares del Sur!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews