We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant enough stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Kosten Aike

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Kosten Aike
Ranked #4 of 70 Hotels in El Calafate
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Pleasant enough stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

This hotel has an Alpine ski lodge sort of decor...lots of timber and very spacious public areas. The rooms are large and comfortable, in the same Julie Andrews Sound of Music decor, with comfortable bedding. There are a few spacious lounge and bar areas and a games room. The staff are generally pleasant enough, but not outstanding. I expected something a bit warmer and welcoming for a hotel in a remote town, but it is a large hotel catering to big numbers of people, so perhaps I was being unrealistic. The manager on duty for the three days I was there wasn't very pleasant. It is located a couple of blocks from the main street and there are plenty of cafes and shops nearby.

Housekeeping was excellent. The buffet breakfasts offer the usual Argentine variety in a pleasant, light filled room. You can also dine there at night, which can be comforting after a full day of outdoor, adventure type activities. In those circumstances, I don't always feel like going out at night looking for somewhere to eat and often like to come back, have a drink, then shower or have a massage , eat dinner in the hotel and then tuck up in my room. The restauarant catering was good and reasonably priced. Bar prices were OK, but for a reason which I couldn't understand, we were not able to book drinks or food to our room account. It all had to be paid for by cash or credit card straight away. In any case, though puzzling, it wasn't a big problem.

The adventure type tours I took had very early starts and went to places where food wasn't available. The hotel offered a packed lunch which you can order the night before and pick up at breakfast time. There are about 6 menus, including one for gluten intolerants. I thought the lunch packs were good value at around 60 pesos. Mine had a good helping of roast chicken, a carrot/cabbage salad, a small spinach tart, an apple and a bottle of water. I liked it enough to order the same thing for the next day.

On the top floor, there is a gym and hot spa. Cristian is very obliging and offers a range of massages, including one with hot rocks. He was very good at his job and I thought the massages were excellent value at around US$30-40, unlike a lot of other hotels which charge outrageously.

My stay was pleasant enough, though not starling. I would probably stay here again if I ever came back to El Calafate.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnJohnG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    726
    392
    66
    12
    5
See reviews for
253
608
47
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
228 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 361 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed 2 nights as part of our Smartours Patagonia tour. Had a 2 twin room ensuite, 2nd floor facing garden, clean and comfortable, good beds, modern bathroom, personable staff, Try nearby Pura Vida restaurant , small, fresh local food, and a so-so dinner at La Cocina on the main street. Try ATM at Banco Patagonia which seemed to work best. for US bank cards.

Room Tip: Hotel is on a side street so rooms facing front are quiet; also rooms facing garden in the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Salvador, El Salvador
Level Contributor
139 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

This hotel is right downtown, three blocks off the "main" strip. Most other hotels are located just outside of town, but after being there with friends and family I think we would have been disappointed with any other option. Make sure you understand exactly how far your hotel is away before you make the reservations - it was great to walk out the door and be right at the bars/shops/restos. Also, some reviews here mention noise, but other than barking dogs we didn't hear a single thing during the nights.

My room was so cozy I slept for nine hours one night and still wanted to stay in bed and stare at the log beam ceiling.

At first I was turned off by the log cabin kitschy decor, but it grew on me and others in my group loved it. I have to say that it fit the hotel perfectly. The breakfast was more than adequate and lasted for hours, so no rushing. The game room was a nice touch, as was the little bar in the lobby. The staff were helpful with getting milk for the baby, finding us adapters, and with a late check-out in one of our two rooms. For the price, it was the best deal going.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

let me start by telling you that i usually spend 7 months away from home in hotels so when i travel with my girls (now 5 & 8) i want simple the best i can afford! yesterday my 5 year old woke up & told me " daddy, i love this hotel!" what more can i say? simply to add that my daughters loved their last stay so much that they still remember most of the staff! the friendliest in the world! also the best croissants & brownies!!! the pool, ping pong tables & huge back garden are so important for the kids!!! we live in Buenos Aires and we love Patagonia so that we can have a real connection with NATURE! but since we are city people we are always concerned for their safety so that this garden is a great & safe place for them to play for hours protected from the wind if they still have some energies left after all the hikes!
TIP: we stayed at room 301 this time! great option if you have small kids since the room is REALLY spacious!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank pedroporqueras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne, Alabama
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

We were a little concerned about staying at the Kosten Aike because of some of the negative comments we saw on Trip Advisor. We found the hotel to be one of our favorites. Our room, overlooking the small park, was quiet, well lit, and spotless. Breakfasts were good and the coffee was great. We ate in the restaurant and the bar. Both were good, but a bottle of Malbec and a small steak in the bar is hard to beat. The staff was very helpful with directions and gave us a much appreciated late check-out because of our flight time.

El Calafate was a very nice stop on our tour. Our visits to Perito Moreno and Estancia Cristina were not to be missed. Our only regret was that we did not pick up a sheepskin rug while there.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the little park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BALDWINTRAVELER45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Kosten Aike is a great place to stay in El Calafate. It is in town, so you can walk everywhere, but on a side street so it is relatively quiet. The rooms and bathrooms were very clean and spacious. The restaurant is good for breakfast and dinner and the staff is very attentive. They have a great spa upstairs, but it is only open from 5-10 pm. There are very nice common areas to relax inside and a garden. I wish the wifi was in the rooms, but it is only in the lobby area.

Room Tip: Choose a inside room facing the garden because there is some noise on the street side because of hos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

A very busy hotel with multiple tour groups staying. The lobby was often busy with people waiting for excursions, and it was sometimes hard to find a seat in the breakfast room (though turnover is quick). Service was fine, if not particularly warm. We saw lots of people with welcome drinks but were never offered one ourselves.

Room was large compared to other places we stayed in Argentina, and the bed was very comfortable. The room had a safe, fridge, and TV. Wifi was free, but very unreliable.
Breakfast was included and consisted of pretty good scrambled eggs (with ham or plain), potatoes, caramelized onions, tomatoes, cold cuts, cheese, refreshing fruit salad, yogurt, cereal, and a large table of sweets and pastries. There were a variety of juices, and coffee and tea.

There is a spa, and you can use the jacuzzi (which was only lukewarm) and sauna free of charge. They also offer massages for fairly reasonable rates, but there are only about 5 slots per night and they book quickly, so I wasn't able to get in.

Well located about two blocks from the main strip.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twinkiesaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Calafate hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mirador del Lago
Hotel Mirador del Lago
#7 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
0.1 mi away
Posada Los Alamos
Posada Los Alamos
#11 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel A.C.A.
Hotel A.C.A.
#3 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Santa Monica Aparts
Santa Monica Aparts
#2 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
0.2 mi away
Calafate Parque Hotel
Calafate Parque Hotel
#10 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Cantera Boutique Hotel
La Cantera Boutique Hotel
#20 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kosten Aike? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kosten Aike

Property: Hotel Kosten Aike
Address: Gobernador Moyano 1243, El Calafate 9405, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in El Calafate
#2 Business Hotel in El Calafate
#3 Family Hotel in El Calafate
#4 Romantic Hotel in El Calafate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Kosten Aike 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
KOSTEN AIKE HOTEL.It is located in El Calafate, a small town in the extensive and mysterious Patagonian Plateau, near the imposing Andes Range; being the entrance gate to the majestic “Los Glaciares National Park”, where the Perito Moreno Glacier is the main attraction.Our hotel is a southern style Chateau, built with local wood and stones, located in downtown. Few minutes away from the Calafate International Airport.We have 80 rooms (76 Deluxe and 2 suites and 2 apts.); heating; TV; minibar; in room safe boxes; desk phone and Wi Fi connection. Room for handicapped; restaurant; bar; garden terrace; Play Room; Parking Lot; Drugstore; Tourist information; Convention Center ( For 170 persons ) and KOSTEN CLUB: Free Gym, Jacuzzi, Sauna and Scottish shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Kosten Aike reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kosten Aike Hotel
Kosten Aike El Calafate
Hotel Kosten Aike El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing