We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel overall but El Calafate is a little noisy”
Review of Hotel Kosten Aike

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Kosten Aike
Ranked #4 of 70 Hotels in El Calafate
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Very clean, very spacious, very nice furniture, comfy beds, great bathtub for soaking in, with an excellent breakfast that includes homemade breads. We were also able to order eggs and bacon with breakfast. The only problem was that the temperature in my parents room was too warm (in November they couldn't turn off the heat) and there were a lot of dogs barking so opening the windows was rather noisy. Definitely bring ear plugs to El Calafate. There was some kind of loud speaker event going on for hours that could be heard throughout the town. There is a great, little restaurant across the street. I highly recommend taking the full-day boat trip to see multiple glaciers. It was one of the best days of the trip.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JessicaBl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,297)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

229 - 235 of 1,297 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2013

We are a family of 6 doing a 2 week trip in Patagonia. While there are great Estancias to stay at in the El Calafate area we wanted a central , in town location for this part of our Patagonia stay. So if you are not looking for the Estancia experience this is the place for you. It is very comfortable, centrally located and the staff are very helpful in excursion planning . Mauro was A SUPERB concierge and helped to book last minute trekking and tours. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet and the lobby game room between trekking. The hotel is reasonably priced . A few suggestions: 1. upgrade the internet so that reception in the rooms is better 2. The hallway carpets and some areas are getting a bit tired . Food ( other than breakfast ) also needs some work. We did find the staff friendly and outgoing.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnitaUNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

I've heard that el Calafate can be a disaster, and perhaps the many and varied tour groups that stay here says something positive about the place. I found the room small but adequately clean, and the lobby inviting, the breakfast more than serviceable, the wifi spotty, but the location is convenient to the main strip. Don't be fooled by the website, it's on par with a Best Western. My big problem is that the doors and walls are paper thin such that I could hear *any* talking from the adjacent rooms, the sound of doors slamming all night long and footsteps in the hall ways. I slept with noise cancelling headphones on for 3 nights. Rooms ending in 15 or 16 also sit above the front entrance, which was very loud in the evening/morning as people came and went, all audible through the single paned windows. At around US$200 for a double, just be aware of what you are getting into.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank precisionmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Califate has many dumpy hostels. This is not one of them. It's a good hotel at a reasonable cost in a great location. Unless you are travelling on a budget don't stay elsewhere in el C. Only issue was lack of a pool.

It had a buffet breakfast good staff and the room was fine. Has wifi and a business centre.




Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Dan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed five nights in this warm, quiet and friendly hotel. The rooms were comfortable, with large windows, TV & frig. A business center has 3 computers, and the exercise room has good equipment. A large jacuzzi, and spa services feels good after long hikes. Breakfast is one of the best we've had in 5 weeks in Argentina. We didn't have dinner, but the menu sure looks good.

It is only 2 block to the main avenue for a good selection of restaurants and cafes, with several small eateries nearby, too.

While there, of course go the the Perito Moreno Glacier - a day trip. You can take a bus from the main terminal, 15 min walk from the hotel. Also see the "Glacerarium", 5 min out of town by an hourly shuttle - plan on 1 1/2 or 2 hours at this excellent informative "museum". The Laguna Nunez bird sanctuary is a 10 min walk -- best early in the morning or the evening.

We would stay at Kosten Aiken again, and recommend it for all.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SingaDick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Kosten Aike is not only a beautiful hotel , perfectly located in the centre of El calafate . It is more : visiting the glaciers of that part of Patagonia the kosten Aike can become your temporary home as the welcome extended to all guests is absolutely superb. From early morning untill late evening , your wishes are catered for in a very warm and spontaneous manner.

Because of my professional activities I often stay in the Kosten Aike and i always tremendously look forward to the welcome, the breakfast with the home-made muesli, the way my group is taken care off, the hot chocolate, the delicious sirloin and the way it is served by Kosten Aike's professional staff,....

It would be a sin to go and admire the Perito Moreno and not stay in this hotel.

Greet
ADA
Dance of the Condor Travel

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poepetsoeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for two nights during our recent trip through Chile and Argentia. The room was comfortable but a little small. The location was good. Above all the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for them. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank acadaSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Calafate hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mirador del Lago
Hotel Mirador del Lago
#6 of 70 in El Calafate
1,183 reviews
0.1 mi away
Posada Los Alamos
Posada Los Alamos
#8 of 70 in El Calafate
1,185 reviews
0.2 mi away
Calafate Parque Hotel
Calafate Parque Hotel
#5 of 70 in El Calafate
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Esplendor Hotel El Calafate
Esplendor Hotel El Calafate
#11 of 70 in El Calafate
1,342 reviews
1.8 mi away
Rochester Hotel Calafate
Rochester Hotel Calafate
#7 of 70 in El Calafate
884 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel A.C.A.
Hotel A.C.A.
#2 of 70 in El Calafate
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kosten Aike? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kosten Aike

Address: Gobernador Moyano 1243, El Calafate 9405, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in El Calafate
#2 Business Hotel in El Calafate
#3 Family Hotel in El Calafate
#4 Romantic Hotel in El Calafate
Price Range: $150 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Kosten Aike 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
KOSTEN AIKE HOTEL.It is located in El Calafate, a small town in the extensive and mysterious Patagonian Plateau, near the imposing Andes Range; being the entrance gate to the majestic “Los Glaciares National Park”, where the Perito Moreno Glacier is the main attraction.Our hotel is a southern style Chateau, built with local wood and stones, located in downtown. Few minutes away from the Calafate International Airport.We have 80 rooms (76 Deluxe and 2 suites and 2 apts.); heating; TV; minibar; in room safe boxes; desk phone and Wi Fi connection. Room for handicapped; restaurant; bar; garden terrace; Play Room; Parking Lot; Drugstore; Tourist information; Convention Center ( For 170 persons ) and KOSTEN CLUB: Free Gym, Jacuzzi, Sauna and Scottish shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Kosten Aike reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kosten Aike Hotel
Kosten Aike El Calafate
Hotel Kosten Aike El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing